Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solo effort
Although this is Dave Matthews without the help of his band, it still has very much the same feel due to his unmistakable and incomparable vocal abilities. As an album it is very tight, without any weak tracks, and the musicianship is superb. Dave’s voice is clear and not, as is sometimes the case with albums recorded with the whole band, overshadowed by the...
Published on 30 Sep 2003 by Dr A Hobbs

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
As a massive fan of the Dave Matthews Band I have to admit to being disappointed with this solo album. I found the songs dull and the whole thing lacks the vibrancy of the band. Carter Beaufort (the DMB drummer) was sorely missed!
Published on 27 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solo effort, 30 Sep 2003
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
Although this is Dave Matthews without the help of his band, it still has very much the same feel due to his unmistakable and incomparable vocal abilities. As an album it is very tight, without any weak tracks, and the musicianship is superb. Dave’s voice is clear and not, as is sometimes the case with albums recorded with the whole band, overshadowed by the complex musical backdrop. The lyrics are, as usual, unique, touching, and thought provoking. Take, for example, Gravedigger, which has the recurring plea: “Gravedigger, when you dig my grave, could you make it shallow, so I can feel the rain.” Dave Matthews (and his band) have had limited success in this country but they are absolutely huge in America, and if you want to know why he is such a strong student favourite then check this out. In short, buy this record if you appreciate song writing and you want a beautiful musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not quite great, 26 Mar 2004
By 
Louise Miller (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
I'm going have to be honest and say this album was a little hit and miss for me. There are some songs I adore and there are some that i could easily do without, which I feel holds the album back from legendary status. I listened to this album having never heard any of his albums with the band and there is no doubt that Dave Matthews has awesome talent. My favourite songs on the album being "Dodo" and "Stay or Leave". They are just amazing compositions. However "Save Me" I thought sounded too much like an eighties U2 song, and others like Grey Old Eyes and Another thing i found boring. Overall while I cant quite call this album outstanding, I did enjoy it and I will be certainly looking out for future releases from Dave Matthews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps it's just me but....., 10 Jan 2007
By 
C. Hart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
I have all of DMB's albums and agree with most of the things people are saying about this album. It isn't quite up there with Crash and there are one or two songs that are only fairish (relatively speaking), e.g. Dodo. However, the crowning glory is Some Devil itself. For me there is something quite magical in the way that, armed only with a single electric guitar and his voice, this man can reach into your heart, tear it out and jump on it in front of your very eyes. You can physically feel his pain. It is spell-binding in it's intensity and absolutely sums up this man's genius. To be a genius in three areas songwriting, singing and instrumentally just plainly isn't fair. Which of course is why the Great British public, with its innate sense of fair play, only seem to buy stuff from talentless robots churned out by Cowell and his mate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant solo album, 28 Sep 2003
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
Although this is Dave Matthews without the help of his band, it still has very much the same feel due to his unmistakable and incomparable vocal abilities. As an album it is very tight, without any weak tracks, and the musicianship is superb. Dave’s voice is clear and not, as is sometimes the case with albums recorded with the whole band, overshadowed by the complex musical backdrop. The lyrics are, as usual, unique, touching, and thought provoking. Take, for example, Gravedigger, which has the recurring plea: “Gravedigger, when you dig my grave, could you make it shallow, so I can feel the rain.” Dave Matthews (and his band) have had limited success in this country but they are absolutely huge in America, and if you want to know why he is such a strong student favourite then check this out. In short, buy this record if you appreciate song writing and you want a beautiful musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves are falling, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
As the days get colder and nature turns from green to brown, Dave Matthews returns with his first studio solo debut. Couldn't have been a better timing. This album fits right in. It has a definite autumn-mood. Honest, melancholic songs that are stripped to their simplicity. It's like a intimite private concert at home, while it's raining outside and the wind howls around the house. But inside it's warm and safe.
Listen to Trouble and Grey Blue Eyes and you know what I'll mean.
This one makes my Top Ten List of 2003. Beautiful! Dave at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Devil, 27 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
Having loved and listened to Dave Matthews Band for some time, I was sure this album would be good... but would it be AS good, would a solo Dave work? Yeah baby, ohhhh yeah. I've listened to it on permanent repeat for the last week or so, and still love it. The haunting dark "Gravedigger", the bittersweet "Stay or Leave" that makes me cry, strong love songs "Oh" and "Grey Blue Eyes", dreamy "Baby"... beautiful. Content and style are reassuringly familiar, similar to previous DMB stuff, but this is some of the absolute gold, a have-to-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Matthews never disappoints, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
Certainly eagerly awaited by this long time fan of DM, the very first track sets the quality for the rest of this superb recording and what an album this is. I cannot praise this artist (& Tim Reynolds) enough. If you are tired, like me, of listening to the cheap, mass produced trash pushed out by record companies as popular music then you must buy this CD. Quality at it best and no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Devil, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
What a great album!! A refreshing change to hear something new, albeit a few years old, from Dave Matthews who remains one of my top groups. This is one of my favourite albums and on a par with Away from the World. Dave Matthew Band have a tendency to incorporate the same songs on numerous albums, but thankfully they changes the tempo a bit. If you like Dave Matthews then I can strongly recommend you buy this, just make sure you get Away from the World aswell!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slower quiet more laid back album, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
Love DMB and this album did not disappoint. A little different from many of their albums more acoustic Dave than big band blast and very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Devil of an album, 15 Jun 2012
By 
David Welham (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Devil (Audio CD)
A great solo effort from Dave Matthews, with lots of stand-out tracks but the whole album itself is brilliantly put together and a welcome change from the bands other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Devil
Some Devil by Dave Matthews Band (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews