Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one where Tintin is ejected out of a plane
Tintin's adventure in the Balkans perhaps doesn't have the same exotic allure as his excursions to the Andes, to Tibet, to the Sahara or the Moon, and consequently King Ottokar's Sceptre is somewhat underrated among the Tintin collection. Hergé however puts no less effort into his research and his creation of a political background for the state of Syldavia, going...
Published on 8 April 2010 by Keris Nine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Busy adventure in some fictional eastern european enclave
A fairly typical Tintin adventure which sees him out and about as usual, caught up in a very complicated set of affairs in some pastiche eastern european enclave, where territories seem to change hands at the drop of a hat. Of course this is Herge making fun of stereotypes of such countries at the time, but even now, you can relate to much of the humorous goings on and...
Published on 19 April 2009 by Lou Knee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one where Tintin is ejected out of a plane, 8 April 2010
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tintin's adventure in the Balkans perhaps doesn't have the same exotic allure as his excursions to the Andes, to Tibet, to the Sahara or the Moon, and consequently King Ottokar's Sceptre is somewhat underrated among the Tintin collection. Hergé however puts no less effort into his research and his creation of a political background for the state of Syldavia, going as far in this book as to include a brief brochure laying out the troubled history of the nation that comes across as realistic and authentic, giving the story a little more political depth.

The story doesn't skimp on action and intrigue either, Tintin's investigative nose getting him into a lot of trouble when he refuses to take the hint and mind his own business. Returning a lost briefcase found in a park to a professor in the study of ancient seals, Tintin gets wind of something suspicious going on related to Syldavia and volunteers to accompany the professor on his visit there acting as his assistant. Even Professor Alembick starts behaving strangely as the trip commences, but before he can act on his suspicions, Tintin finds himself ejected from the small aircraft while they are on their way to the capital Klow.

The story's plot to overthrow the King of Syldavia is a product of the time of its writing, King Ottokar's sceptre being originally serialised in the Petit Vingtième from August 1938 to August 1939, the situation between Syldavia and Borduria reflecting the Anschluss of Austria by German forces in March 1938. It's no coincidence then that the name of the author of this plot, Müsstler, is made up of a combination of Mussolini and Hitler.

As one of Tintin's earlier adventures, the artwork here isn't always as slick and polished as it is in some of the later books, (often done in collaboration with the assistants at Hergé's studios), although when redrawn for collected publication in this edition, Edgar P. Jacobs (Blake and Mortimer) was employed to redesign Syldavian costumes, work on new backgrounds and the recolouring of the story, adding considerably to the whole feel of the work. The sense of pacing here however is pure Hergé and classic Tintin, purposefully driving the story forward, leaving little visual clues and puzzles to be worked out. The story achieves a wonderful balance then between action and intrigue, with every page revealing another little twist or amusement (including the first appearance from our diva Bianca Castafiore) as the story gains momentum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1947 classic, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Chronologically in between 'The black island' and 'The crab with the golden claws', this 1947 album is a great Tintin adventure. East European spies, car chases, the first meeting with Bianca Castafiore, treachorous soldiers, clever detective work, it has it all.

The original version came out, in black and white, in 1938. It was very topical, in that the Borduria/Syldavia tensions mirror those of Germany and Austria: in fact, the Anschluss (takeover of Austria by Germany) had just taken place. But in 1947 the colour version was made, and Herge and Edgar Jacobs (writer of the excellent Blake & Mortimer series) took the opportunity to re-draw the story as well.
The drawing is precise, vintage Herge at his top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the rescue of a little Balkan Kingdom under siege, 1 July 2014
By 
First published in French in 1939, and written at the time that Europe was under the thumb of totalitarianism: Hitler, Mussolini, and Stalin.
Tintin is taken through a sequence of strange vents to the mythical Kingdom of Syldavia, which we learn much about in this book. The drawings and information which bring this country to life : a combination between Zenda and Albania , are amazing .
A plot by Fascists based in neighboring Borduria is hatched to unseat King Muskar, involving the seizure of the symbol of the Syldavian monarchy, the mediaeval King Ottokar's Scepter.
Tintin is called to the rescue. Once more these charming comics are an interesting commentary on events at the time, through the eyes of Herge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Busy adventure in some fictional eastern european enclave, 19 April 2009
A fairly typical Tintin adventure which sees him out and about as usual, caught up in a very complicated set of affairs in some pastiche eastern european enclave, where territories seem to change hands at the drop of a hat. Of course this is Herge making fun of stereotypes of such countries at the time, but even now, you can relate to much of the humorous goings on and border tensions evident in the story. Busy, with some good background drawing and interesting locations, but the story does not engage, it has no great mystery to solve here, and you feel little empathy for any of the bickering characters. This middle series book is very middle of the road and you can see here why Herge brought in a new character for the next adventure to spice things up a bit. It has some merit in the depiction of the location and its inhabitants, but not at all one of the more engaging stories, and I struggled to finish it. 2.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 15 July 2009
By 
S. Glover "Mr G" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every Tintin book is a work of genuis (all right the TV spin off books are a bit pants)but all of the originals are the ideal Big brother/ Dad reading a bed time story. My father did them all with me and i am doing them with my son.

The sheer joy they bring to bedtime for me and my son is imeasurable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Tintin fans, 2 July 2014
By 
J. Williamson "Cookie maker" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My children love Tintin & they really enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my grandson loved the story he is becoming a real Tintin fan. Good job there are lots more Tintin books for him to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birthday gift, 11 Oct 2013
By 
D. M. Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived very quickly and my nephew was very pleased with the gift. I believe that he now has the full set of TinTin books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars final solo adventure, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Action from start to finish .great stuff.and still no haddock, but he was just on the horizon.Ottoker? Really Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for kids of all ages, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes me back to my early years when I read and re-read these Tintin books avidly. My original books have been passed-on to others so I want to start a new collection now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Ottokar's sceptre (Adventures of Tintin series)
King Ottokar's sceptre (Adventures of Tintin series) by Herge? (Unknown Binding - 1958)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews