Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING OF QUEENS REIGNS SUPREME...
This is a value packed, well-priced, three disc DVD set that has the entire first season of this very funny show, including the pilot and two bonus shows for a total of twenty seven hilarious shows. Fans of Kevin James , Leah Remini, and Jerry Stiller will be in seventh heaven with this first season set. The show is sort of an updated "Honeymooners" and an absolute...
Published on 28 Dec 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not brutal but not far off!
Watched 3 of the 4 discs so far and 2 of them are almost unwatchable. The picture is constantly freezing and I fully expect the 4th disc to do the same. At least the delivery was fairly quick! Very poor.
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by Tribbiani


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING OF QUEENS REIGNS SUPREME..., 28 Dec 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King of Queens: The First Season [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a value packed, well-priced, three disc DVD set that has the entire first season of this very funny show, including the pilot and two bonus shows for a total of twenty seven hilarious shows. Fans of Kevin James , Leah Remini, and Jerry Stiller will be in seventh heaven with this first season set. The show is sort of an updated "Honeymooners" and an absolute laugh riot. It is definitely a keeper and well worth having in one's collection.
Kevin James plays the role of the role of the portly, but adorable, Doug Heffernan, an International Parcel Service delivery guy and husband to the earthy and sexy Carrie (Leah Remini), who clearly rules the roost. They live in a modest house in Queens, one of the outer boroughs of New York City. Carrie's father, the idiosyncratic Arthur Spooner (Jerry Stiller), for reasons made clear in the pilot episode, also joins their household. His living with them adds to the many comedic moments of this popular television series. There is a funny group of friends, odd neighbors, and other assorted characters that drift in and out of the Heffernans' daily lives, adding to the comedic zest of this comedy series about middle class life in one of the outer boroughs of New York City.
The casting is perfect. The series is very funny with well written scripts and excellent performances by its very talented cast. What more can a viewer ask for? This is an excellent, value laden, three disc DVD set, replete with a pilot episode commentary by Kevin James and the show's creator, Executive Producer Michael Weithorn. This DVD set also has a feature in which the cast of the series takes the viewer behind the scenes, as they look back on and reminisce about the show's first season. All in all, this is a value priced DVD set with crisp, clear visuals and audio. It is absolutely one of my favorite comedies, and I am happy to have the entire first season. I look forward to getting the succeeding seasons, as they become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sure thing for lovers of top class sitcoms, 14 Jun 2007
By 
P. J. May "peterjmay" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well here we have it, nearly 5 years after the release of the American Region of The King of Queens Season 1, it arrives on our shores with exactly the same content only as a region 2. When I purchased the region 1 set back in 2003, I bought this series blindly without ever watching an episode, I was not dissapointed.

Leah Remini is a hugely talented comedic actor who has starred in bit parts in major sitcoms and even had a role in another good NBC sitcom, 'Fired up', sadly that was shortlived. Kevin James, who plays Doug in this show I was less familiar with but combined they make the perfect couple made for TV with interesting and often hilarious banter bouncing off of each other.

Last but not least the star of the show and comic legend Jerry Stiller, from Seinfeld fame dusts off his classic eccentric father routine once more, this time not for George Costanza but for Carrie Herffernan (Leah). Needless to say the scenes he is in are absolutely terrific.

Now that the series has wrapped for the last time, looking back at the last 6 seasons after this, the earlier episodes are not quite as funny as later ones but this should not deter you from grabbing a copy of it. Classic episodes in this season are 'Supermarket Story' and 'Wheres Poppa', plus many more.

This show, like many others is unfortunately a well kept secret and has not been given a terrestrial primetime airing so unless you have Paramount Comedy Channel, or been up early enough in the mornings when channel 4 have aired it, you've probably never heard of it.

The only difference between this release and the US one is like always the price. Why UK retailers think they have the right to list this in most outlets as 25 quid as opposed to 18 quid, who knows, picture quality is no different, but some customers believe otherwise when it comes to the Region 1 Vs Region 2 debate.

So anyway I strongly urge you to purchase a copy of this classic to be show today!

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And finally, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. C. Carnegie "chrisc16" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Okay, so we finally get the chance to purchase the King of Queens on DVD albeit its only the first series but its still a start. The King of Queens is a really good comedy to come from the US and is even funnier in some of the later series. I can't wait for them to arrive on region 2 DVD our shores sometime soon. Anyone who is a fan here in the UK should definately buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Nov 2007
I agree, this show is great and it hasn't ever reciebed the welcome and hype it deserves.

I would recommned this boxset to anyone who like sthe show as it is great value for money and is the cheapest anywhere on the net. Ive seen region 1's selling for over 25!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Show, Shame About This DVD Transfer *Spoilers*, 20 Mar 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doug and Carrie Heffernan are the King Of Queens, a couple that really love each other, and have only just got married. They have their ups and downs with family life, and both have busy lives at work, Doug delivering packages for a parcel company, and Carrie being a secretary for a legal firm.

Doug has some funny friends, Deacon, he's his colleague at work and a cool guy, Richie, the typical tough guy from Queens, he's a little dim, but him and "moose" get on - and then there's insecure, single living with mum Spence, who has all sorts of problems including allergies and hates peanuts. They all hang out in the garage with Doug.

Carrie has friends at work, but doesn't really bring them home to her home life. She mainly likes spending time with Doug and having a go at people who she thinks are annoying. She does have great character though.

This series we see Arthur - her father, move into their home since Tessie has died and he burns down the house. Doug finds his aunt is divorcing his uncle Hank and there's the softball team Doug plays for.

This is great comedy, both Kevin and Leah make great lovers on screen, and have that great rapport that makes this series work. I especially like Arthur (Jerry Stiller - was Frank Costanza in Seinfeld) - he's very funny and in some ways really makes the show what it is. He will just say something to Doug and you'll be rolling around laughing. One thing that does annoy me is the canned laughter. Otherwise there are some great storylines and Doug is always guaranteed to make you laugh.

This DVD is poor, and is not what we wanted really, no extras and all the episodes are crowded onto 4 disks. At least with the region 1 DVDs you don't have as many languages so you get a bit less compression, but these disks are quite heavily compressed. I think CBS are a bit cheeky to do this, plus the fact it's taken nearly 4 years to get out up to season 4, when you can get the entire set from the USA now.

Need to do better CBS.

The program - 5/5, the DVD 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 30 Oct 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King of Queens: The First Season [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It was around 2002 when I discovered The King Of Queens on Satellite, and ever since I have been hooked. Doug, an IPS driver, who's fun and easy going, and grouchy Carrie, a legal secretary, who's also good fun live with her father, Arthur Spooner, who's a bit of a nut - but he usually means well.

Doug hangs out with Richie, a fireman who's got that typical New York accent - he likes to call Doug "moose" and watch college football. He also hangs out with Spence - who's a geeky 30 year old living with his mum. There's also Deak (Decon Palmer) who he works with at IPS, he's a pretty cool guy - married with a kid.

Some of the best moments in the first series is when Arthur tries to get Doug to send back his deodorant, to which Doug threw it out and gave him the run around. Ray Barone (Everybody Loves Raymond) making Doug fail his driving test refresher; Carrie wondering if they should have kids and the one where Arthur finds a flat he simply cannot afford; and the hilarious episode where we find out Doug started calling his cousin "stumpy"!

This is a great start to the show, Kevin James and Leah Remini work perfectly together and are really funny. The inclusion of Jerry Stiller was perfect to the show, his cooky character who keeps yelling is perfect for him, and comedian Patton Oswalt as Spence is wonderful too, he's got the role down to a T. I also like the way they realte together, and we can see straight from the start who's who, and we don't need to spend hours working out what happens. I also like the humour and the storylines are very funny.

This DVD set isn't good, I got this from the USA because I was fed up of waiting (in the UK we're still only at series 6) so I got all 9 series - and I have to say this is no better than the UK release, yes there's a bit more bandwith as it's English only - but really this is no better than the original TV editions. Sadly, this was filmed in 4:3, and it was rather grainy, so it will probably never be remastered like the Blu-Ray of series 2 and 3 in Germany, who now have the full 16:9 editions. At least this show got a DVD release, and we have to be thankful for that, though really it could have been better. I like the natural colouring of the show too, but at times it just looks artificial, and during dark scenes it does get a little blocky, which isn't good.

We do get a few extras too, like commentaries on the pilot episode - which is good. There's also a featurette about the laughs in King Of Queens (all on the last disk) You also get a laughs montage, but it's not that great. It's disappointing there wasn't more extras, but at least all 25 episodes are here and they're all very funny and will keep you laughing for years.

Great show, pity the DVDs were not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of Them All, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Nate (Brisbane, QLD AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: King of Queens: The First Season [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The King of Queens is the best show on TV. Kevin James is hillarious, even better than Seinfeld and Raymond. Then there is the legendary Jerry Stiller, the reason why I started watching this show in the first place. The special features on this season are excellent, buy it today...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy on rubbish disks, 13 Feb 2007
This is brilliant show that in my opinion has not received the credit it deserves, however, by putting the entire series 1 on just four disks CBS has really created a major problem. The compression ratio is far too high and after trying to play episodes 16 - 18 on no less than five different machines and exchanging the disks three times, I am left disappointed with the fact that after having waited 4 years for CBS to release the PAL Region 2 version to the UK I still can't watch it.

Only way I can think of to rectify this problem is to start buying DVD players until I find one that can actually play this disk, so if you have a player that is over 1 year old you can forget about buying this relese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, 4 Jan 2007
By 
I realy enjoy the series King of Queens it is enjoyable and funny, the only problem is I could not find it on DVD on the same region as my DVD player. I looked everywhere on the internet for them and was tempted to buy them on region 1 and just buy a special DVD player, but finaly (four years after america) I find them on DVD. I will buy this soon but wish I could of brought them a couple years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great sitcom. Definitely one of the funniest i have ..., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great sitcom. Definitely one of the funniest i have ever seen. The plot is great and each episode while have you chocking from laughter. When i first got this i had only seen a few episodes and thought it was funny but when i got this season i become hooked. It is a great season and i recommend it to any fans of show or any newcomers looking for a hilarious sitcom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King of Queens: The First Season [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£6.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews