Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brought Back Memories
Excellent DVD "Top of the Pops" was always a favorite of mine since the 60's. I watched it every Thursday as a teenager and well into my 20's. The quality of the black & white footage is great and I had forgotten how good the songs still are. DVD has a great balance of old and more up to date artists. Let's hope they bring out another DVD to celebrate 50 years of TOTP's...
Published on 16 Feb 2005 by Mr. Geoff Staley

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh! the memories
Just watched a rental version of this DVD so am not sure what information the booklet contains. Good to see some "live" legendary TOTP performances of songs that I only get to hear on radio and Cd. Can only guess why no Bowie, Beatles and Bangles(cost etc). The quality of the picture obviously decreasing with age, but with a HD TV and a surround DVD player that increases...
Published on 20 Jun 2008 by Mr. S. F. Mayo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh! the memories, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. S. F. Mayo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Just watched a rental version of this DVD so am not sure what information the booklet contains. Good to see some "live" legendary TOTP performances of songs that I only get to hear on radio and Cd. Can only guess why no Bowie, Beatles and Bangles(cost etc). The quality of the picture obviously decreasing with age, but with a HD TV and a surround DVD player that increases picture quality to near HD I was amazed at the overall quality.
Special feature 1)" Dancing Queens", a musical sequence featuring past members of "Pans People" 2) "Overture and beginnings", a rundown of all the various TOTP opening tunes, 3)"TOPT uncut", six songs as they were original broadcast, including there intros and chart rundowns. 4) "Every picture tells a story", with great photos of past guests, all the missing greats (pictures obviously cheaper than the videos) 5) "TOTP uncovered", Behind the scenes with Andi Peters. 6) "Pop miscellany", switch to on if you want pop information to come on with the videos.
Not sure if option 6) "Pop miscellany" on "special features" comes on automatically on the non rental version but I sat all through the DVD whining about the lack of information on the screen i.e. Title, performer and broadcast date, when I discovered option 6) on "special features". Switch to "on" to get the kind of information on TV version of TOTP 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brought Back Memories, 16 Feb 2005
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Excellent DVD "Top of the Pops" was always a favorite of mine since the 60's. I watched it every Thursday as a teenager and well into my 20's. The quality of the black & white footage is great and I had forgotten how good the songs still are. DVD has a great balance of old and more up to date artists. Let's hope they bring out another DVD to celebrate 50 years of TOTP's. This DVD is well worth buying or renting. I enjoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This one-off anniversary DVD of 'Top Of The Pops' marked it's forty year run, before the BBC called time on it two years later. It features one performance from each year spanning 1964-2004, and it's very easy to say it could have been better, and I agree that it could have been. There are some artists which I wouldn't have included on this anthology in a million years - but what's bad to some it's good to others, and there is at least something on here that should appeal to everybody. There are plenty of big hits, household names and classic songs. The DVD kicks off with performances in black and white and then graduates to colour, resulting in plenty of nostalgia for all music fans. The fashion, the hair - all memories will come flooding back.

It isn't perfect (unless you have very varied tastes) and it would be a good idea to release more DVDs under specific musical genre (that would please many people) or maybe to devote whole discs to all four decades. As this was released almost ten years ago, I know it's unlikely that another 'Top of the Pops' DVD will come along anytime soon.

I'd advise you check the track listing before purchasing, but I personally enjoyed a lot of it. There is something for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Wonderful dvd, maybe not all your favourites on it but can't put it down beacause of that. Seems there's something for everyone on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Of The Pops 40th Aniversary DVD, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Wood (Beeston Notts uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
A good look back at a time when there was some great music around it gave my wife and I much pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic T.O.T.P, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Ms. D. A. Strother "Jubed" (South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Really enjoyed listening to this D.V.D Yes there was some artists missing that i thought would be on! can't complain the price was great and will make me buy more, so really cleaver marketing, keeping me thirsty for more!! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beeb, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
A fab journey into the music world lots and lots of great memories which will prick up your ears amazing 40 yrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of videos!, 29 Jan 2005
By 
timbo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
If you like the music of the 1960's right through to the latest chart music you'll like this DVD.
There's something for all the family on this DVD, your kids right through to your grandparents.
Even they will like it!!
In other words, it's a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank u, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Thank u for been the best site in the whole world, as i have been collecting the entire series of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some I like, some not, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
A mixture of great classic hits and others that such past their sell by date. This is just due to my taste. The great thing is that one click on the >>| and you are straight on to the next track. This will be listened to by me over and over and great for a few friends in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top of the Pops: 40th Anniversary [DVD] [1964]
£6.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews