Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation
Well where should I start?
This film rates as one of my all time favourites. For the past thirteen or so years I have played this over and over again.... and that's not just at Christmas time. Thank goodness the DVD has finally come out on sale cos my video of it has seen better days.
The film still leaves my brother and I in stitches even though we know it word...
Published on 19 Sept. 2003 by david williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but....
OK, so it goes without saying, this is a great film - not to be taken too seriously, but great fun and a must watch at Christmas.

But...this may be on a bluray disk, but it's far from bluray quality. It's very grainy, and you can notice the poor quality from about 6" back. I'll keep it because it was pretty cheap (cheaper than the DVD version, in fact) but it...
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by J. A. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation, 19 Sept. 2003
By 
david williams (slough, berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Well where should I start?
This film rates as one of my all time favourites. For the past thirteen or so years I have played this over and over again.... and that's not just at Christmas time. Thank goodness the DVD has finally come out on sale cos my video of it has seen better days.
The film still leaves my brother and I in stitches even though we know it word for word. Clarke Griswold just wants to fulfil his ambition of a 'Big Ole Fashioned Family Christmas' but for one reason or another, things just don't seem to go Clarke's way. Full of hilarious one-liners, and plenty of wacky scenes, this film will have you splitting your sides. Watch out for the 15,000 twinkle lights Clarke attempts to put onto the house - you'll be crying from laughter. Well, for my money he's added to my Christmas' in a big way and given me hours and hours of enjoyment. A classic for every household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extreamly funny movie!!!!, 22 Sept. 2003
By 
Hilde-therese Bommen "Hilde Rasmussen" (Stavanger, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This movie is one of Chevy Chase's best!! Here he is planning the ultimate family christmas, and of course it doesn't go as planed! The opening scene is just faboulus...where the family is out looking for the perfect christmas tree.... Also they encounter the struggle of putting up christmas lights outside,and of course the unexpected christmas guests.
The movie is REALLY funny,but it also gives you the warm fuzzy feelings of family being together at the hollidays. This is a holliday-must in our family....we watch it EVERY year before christmas. Perfect for kids and grown-ups!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The True Story of Christmas, 9 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This film is the true story of christmas, The unwelcome visit of old relatives, the visit of relatives you would rather forget, the snobby neighbours, christmas expectations never living up, the fun of christmas and christmas memories, the dreams of perfect christmases,family? This is the only film which puts you in the christmas mood as soon as you watch it. A film you can watch every year and still laugh out loud without getting bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious... one of the few films to make me laugh out loud, 26 Oct. 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered this film by accident a few years ago (recorded from satellite in error) but it had me and my family in stitches ... it's now a family tradition that we watch it a few times over the Christmas holidays - and we all still laugh out loud. Many 'laugh out loud' bits - but the 'Choosing the Christmas Tree, putting up the Christmas lights, the Squirrel incident, the loft scene, the lingerie shopping trip and the chainsaw scene' are particularly good ... but really the film is funny from start to finish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A yuletide must see, 16 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Every year our family gather before the tv and watch our old copy of this film and settle into bliss as we herald the coming of Christmas. The film affectionately points out the unrealistic seasonal expectations of family, poking fun at younger, middle and older generations. The acting is respectable and the script allows for some great comic moments and plenty of slapstick. Like all good comedies, there is an undercurrent of sadness and tragedy but this is never allowed to spoil the message of the film, that love and tolerance and belonging are important to the true meaning of Christmas. This is ably shown to be that one must forgive all and get through somehow with your optimism intact, not minding how horrible people can be to each other. And remembering that, at Christmas, there is 'plenty of room' for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Shame about the Blu Ray, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This classic is trotted out faithfully every Christmas in our household and familiarity just improves the experience. Although bordering on slapstick, Chevy Chase is just hapless enough to be believable. Who has not shared his experience of looking for that rogue bulb which is stopping the set from working but, of course, in his case he does not do things by halves - it is the entire house that is covered so it really is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

So top marks for the film. However, the Blu Ray DVD is another matter. Having got an LED TV and a Blu Ray player, we bought the Blu Ray version, expecting to be totally wowed. Frankly it was very hard to discern any difference between this and the regular version. So my advice would be, if you have not seen it the film is a real treat, but save yourself some money and buy the regular rather than the Blu Ray Version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film of all time, 12 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This film is my best of all time.
My family watch it every year and we are never tired of it.
BUY IT- you will cry with laughter I can assure you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Chirstmas Film Ever!, 11 Dec. 2003
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
One of the best festive films ever that you can watch every year and it doesn't fail to bring cheer to the house!
I have the region 2 and it DOES have commentary but no outtakes as some descriptions have read. Pity, as outakes would have been a great feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas comedy classic, 24 Jan. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I think we have watched this every Christmas for many many years. It's hard to critise, it has every Christmas comic element covered. Despite being quite a few years old, it all still rings true, especially in recent times as the fashion for covering houses in outside lights has crossed the Atlantic!
It has comedy, pathos, slapstick, and not too much sickly warmth, and it is easily the best of the Lampoon films. There appears to be lots of the real Chevy Chase in the lead character, as we see his frustrations of the Christmas period build up, (every family will recognise parts from their own celebrations, be it crazy family members, lights, lunch etc), constantly coming back to the house covered in thousands of lights, which just won't light.
It's a great film. A perfect Christmas family comedy in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterically Funny--Watch it every Christmas!, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
Kathy W (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Chevy Chase, Beverly D'Angelo, Randy Quaid, Julia Louise-Dreyfus and other familiar faces star in this fantastic comedy about getting the family together to celebrate the Christmas holiday. This is truly one of the funniest movies I have ever seen and although it is relatively new (1989), it is truly a Christmas classic that families will want to watch together year after year. If you are familiar with the other Griswold movies ("Vacation" -at Wally World, and "European Vacation"), they are all pretty darned funny (except the "Vegas Vacation". I didn't think that one was very funny.)

The magic begins with Clark Griswold (Chevy), his wife xxx (Beverly), and his children Rusty and Audrey driving out to the country to a cut-your-own-Christmas tree farm. The antics begin immediately and are pretty much non-stop laughter all the way through the entire movie. As you can imagine, there are some problems with the Christmas tree once they get it home.

Clark is a brilliant food additive salesman, a good-hearted family man and father, but is a little "challenged" when it comes to doing some things around the house. Watching him decorate the outside of the house with 25,000 Christmas lights as he staples himself to the roof and almost falls off it is interesting, but then, how many people use a staple gun to hang their outside Christmas lights? It's also an electrician's nightmare.

This year, Clark just wants to get the whole family together for a gala Christmas celebration at his house while he is anxiously awaiting his Christmas bonus check. Of course, Clark's parents and xxxx's parents are both invited over (this is a sleep at the house get together), and the 2 mothers don't exactly adore each other. Uncle xx and Aunt xxx finally arrive. She's a little ditzy and does strange things, like wraps the cat as a Christmas present. Then cousin Eddie, his wife, the 2 kids and their Rotweiler named "Snots" (guess why) show up unexpectedly in a beat up RV that barely made it to Clark's house. Eddie is a good hearted soul, but both his oars are usually not in the water at the same time, if you get my drift, and Eddie has been out of work for 7 years now. His bait selling business is not doing well either.

This movie has scenes like a squirrel getting loose in the house and reeking havoc, the cat chewing on tree wires, and cousin Eddie emptying the RV's septic tank in the sewer system. That's not all either!

Julia Louise Dreyfus is excellent as a yuppie neighbor. The part of her and her movie husband or significant other although fairly small, is interwoven nicely in and out during the movie.

The script writers of this movie, as well as all the actors, did a SUPERB job. This movie, filmed in Colorado, is chocked full of dry humor as well as rip-roaring laugh-your-butt-off moments.

Throughout almost the entire movie, Clark stays upbeat even though things are going wrong at every turn. His enthusiasm and persistence to have a great family Christmas experience is certainly refreshing. A few times it gets a little hard to continue on but he still snaps back, no matter what happens. The movie wraps up with messages about the importance of family at Christmas, the importance of a company appreciating its employees, and the importance of forgiveness and understanding.

If you have children who want to watch, you should know there is some limited language, usually sxxx. Fxxx is used once or twice for emphasis. There are also some instances of fairly light adult humor, such as a reference made to the way the dog is "hung". If they are young, watch it yourself first and then decide, but DO watch it. It is hysterical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989]
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation [DVD] [1989] by Jeremiah S. Chechik (DVD - 2003)
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews