Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Loverly Miss Hepburn
Containing 5 of her films, this box set is quite simply loverly.
My fave film of all time Breakfast at Tiffany's is included- but the 4 remaining must all receive credit.
Roman Holiday- Audrey's first screen masterpeice is brilliant. So fab when she whips around Rome on a Vespa with Greg Peck!
Sabrina- A sparkling gem which makes me love it more every time...
Published on 3 Jan 2005 by Jackie Onassis

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics
Firstly note that this box set is available in a different box with same films at less than half the price so buy that one, I did.

Secondly I will rank these films (my wife is in agreement)
1. Paris When It Sizzles - the charm and humour are as good as in any film I have seen. This gem took us by suprise and has more of everything than all the other...
Published on 16 Oct 2007 by Richard Rowell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Loverly Miss Hepburn, 3 Jan 2005
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Containing 5 of her films, this box set is quite simply loverly.
My fave film of all time Breakfast at Tiffany's is included- but the 4 remaining must all receive credit.
Roman Holiday- Audrey's first screen masterpeice is brilliant. So fab when she whips around Rome on a Vespa with Greg Peck!
Sabrina- A sparkling gem which makes me love it more every time i watch it.
Funny Face- Being obsessed with fashion and style, I think this film deserves more credit than it is given. The dancing by Audrey is AMAZING and the songs are immediately infectious.
Paris When It Sizzles- Most people criticize this film, but I think it is quite good. The outfits by Givenchy are fabulous and Audrey looks beautiful in them.
All in all, this box set is fab, and a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great actress, 21 Feb 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Audrey Hepburn was -- and remains -- the perfect illustration of elegance and sophistication in Hollywood. A lot of actresses have tried to imitate her look, but they couldn't manage the same onscreen grace and skill.

And the "Audrey Hepburn Collection" brings together three of the films that helped shape that image. Okay, they're not her most impressive. But all three are all funny, charming, romantic movies, and they are also the ones that Hepburn is still best known for doing.

Bored young Princess Ann (Hepburn) goes on a "Roman Holiday," when she gets upset, is sedated by a doctor, and has an odd reaction to it. Soon she has wandered out of the palace and into the streets of Rome, where she is found by struggling American journalist Joe Bradley (Gregory Peck). Since she appears to be drunk, he takes her home.

When Joe realizes that he has the missing princess in his apartment, he takes her on a whirlwind tour of Rome, with his pal taking photographs for a full article. But he doesn't count on falling in love with Ann. And Ann has a tough choice to make -- should she give up her royal life and stay with Joe, or fulfil her responsibilities as a princess?

"Sabrina" (Hepburn) is the daughter of the chauffeur at the palatial Larabee estate. She's also in love with the ne'er-do-well second son, David (William Holden), but is sent away to Paris to attend a cooking school. And with the help of a fairy godcount, she gains sophistication, ambition, and confidence... as well as the ability to make a souffle properly ("A woman unhappily in love, she forgets to turn on the oven!").

When she returns to the Larabees' estate, David is instantly smitten. But even if marrying a chauffeur's daughter were okay with his family, his brother Linus (Humphrey Bogart) has arranged a business marriage for David. And to make sure David doesn't run off with Sabrina, Linus begins wooing her too... and falling in love for real.

"Breakfast at Tiffany's" is a daily ritual for Holly Golightly, a social butterfly who hosts parties, entertains drunken men, and dreams of owning a horse farm in Mexico. When Paul Varjak (George Peppard) moves into a neighboring apartment -- courtesy of his rich patroness -- he is instantly enchanted by the ditzy, sweet-natured Holly.

But for all Holly's fun, Paul starts to realize that all is not well with her. She's desperate to marry rich, visits a notorious gangster, and hides that she was an illiterate teen bride. As Holly's life starts to deteriorate, Paul sets out to show her what her life will be like without real love.

Yes, they are all romantic comedies, completely unrelated except that all three have Audrey Hepburn. But all three are fun, well-written ("You can't live here! I live here!" "Hi, neighbor!"), and charming. They're good for daydreaming as well, since they take place in chic apartments, palatial mansions and the streets of Rome.

The movies are definitely romantic -- one theme they share is love that doesn't come easily, whether the problem is one of the people involved, parents or overprotective staff. There's also slapstick comedy (like David sitting down on champagne flutes and injuring his butt), and more sophisticated comedy (like when Anna and Joe pretend that they were speeding on their way to get married).

Unlike many actresses, Hepburn's best-known roles were NOT all alike, nor were they all carbon copies of her. Even when we shouldn't really like the characters, she gave them warmth, sensitivity and likability that can't be faked. And she could be very funny too -- it's hard not to laugh when Holly yells "Timber!", as a drunken guest keels over.

The Audrey Hepburn Collection is the ideal trio of movies for people who are just falling in love, or who appreciate a good romantic comedy. Charming, cute and sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ever chic - watch them for sheer style if nothing else, 27 Nov 2003
By 
annie, Scotland (Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
yes, Breakfast At Tiffany's is the best, but there are some other gems here - Roman Holiday zipping about on a Vespa in ridiculously quaint Rome, ditto Paris in Funny Face, which also treats you to Fred Astaire.. Paris when it sizzles maybe shows its age the most; Sabrina Fair on the other hand makes the nineties remake look cheesy. A slightly mixed bag, but if you can't get enough of Audrey chic, its a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 5 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Antonio Cavaldoro (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
A great value collection introducing the work of Ms Hepburn with a range of added features. Fans will love seeing such high quality versions of her top movies, while others like me will find a lot to enjoy in this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Good presen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars audrey, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
my fifteen year old grand daughter is mad about Audrey Hepburn so when I saw this I got it for her, she loved it ,the condition was very good I am very happy with how fast the delivery was, everything was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hepburn Heaven., 1 Oct 2013
By 
M. Smith "booksmith" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Five great movies for Audrey Hepburn fans. Breakfast at Tiffany's, Roman Holiday, Paris When it Sizzles, Funny Face and Sabrina show tne diversity of her talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
what an actress she is great in every film thoroughly enjoyed them, a stunning actress no one can match not even the ones of today..nice to see the great dresses and how women use to dress..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Lovely box set sent on time. Very pleased with the product and look forward to watching the films. Great timescale too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Jan 2013
By 
L. B. H. McLean (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I have only watched one of these films so far but they are true classics. Brilliant. Audrey Hepburn has such style and grace, more than any other female star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audrey Hepburn Collection Box Set [DVD] [1961]
Used & New from: £12.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews