Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film/Very Good Blu Ray
This will be a review of John Carpenter's classic 1978 film, 'Halloween', on Blu Ray.

In terms of the overall quality, here's what I think:

Picture: 8/10. The picture quality gets a solid 8 from me. Basically, there is very much so an improvement over a DVD counterpart here. Colours, Character clothing, Textures and Backgrounds are what to watch out...
Published 13 months ago by Fox in the Box

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible DVD quality.
Don't see this and think I am saying it's a bad film. I am not! This is one of the horror greats, that thirty years later still has the ability to scare and shock, that in it's self is a tremendous achievement.

Having said that the picture and sound quality of this edition is awful. I was completely let down. When I saw the price I thought what a great deal,...
Published on 18 Dec 2010 by Mrs. T. Greenhough


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film/Very Good Blu Ray, 12 Jun 2013
This will be a review of John Carpenter's classic 1978 film, 'Halloween', on Blu Ray.

In terms of the overall quality, here's what I think:

Picture: 8/10. The picture quality gets a solid 8 from me. Basically, there is very much so an improvement over a DVD counterpart here. Colours, Character clothing, Textures and Backgrounds are what to watch out for here. Also, the overall image of the film is a whole lot sharper now, thanks to this Blu Ray release. However, despite all of the above, there are some scenes I noticed that looked exactly the same as my DVD counterpart (which is the 25th Anniversary edition and which was remastered anyhow). In the heel of the hunt though, 'Halloween' is a definite improvement in picture quality on Blu Ray, so I would recommend it.

Sound: 10/10. Yes, the sound quality gets a full 10 from me. When I sat down and watched this yesterday, I could not believe how good the sound quality was. The dialogue and music score are both top notch here. In fact, I do consider this Blu Ray to be the best version of Halloween I have heard and will probably ever hear (considering its age). Ultimately, I would highly recommend a purchase of this on Blu Ray for the quality of the sound alone.

Finally, just a quick note regarding the special features. You get an Audio Commentary track from John Carpenter, Debra Hill and Jamie Lee Curtis. There's also a film trailer from 1978 and 3 TV and Radio Spots. However, on the back of the Blu Ray case, it says 'Halloween: A Cut Above The Rest Trailer'. This is incorrect; you do get the full documentary and, on that note, I must say that it is a really good documentary which covers the entire Halloween franchise and where the people involved feel it is going in the 21st Century. Lastly, if I had any complaint to make, it would be that all of the special features were included with the 25th Anniversary DVD edition, which I also have, so a bit of a let down there, frankly. Anyway, not to worry.

To conclude, John Carpenter's 'Halloween' on Blu Ray is a must-have for anybody who is a fan of the franchise and is highly recommended to all horror fans. Overall, the transfer is very good, especially when you consider the age of the film (it was both produced and released in 1978, so there you go). Also, thanks to this Blu Ray, the sound quality of the film is amazing, probably the best it will ever sound. Highly recommended viewing here.

Buy it.

Thanks for reading this review. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 35th Anniversary Edition - The Fan's Dilemma, 10 Nov 2013
Being a fan of a particular band, album or film means that at some point you will find yourself faced with the dilemma as to whether to buy a new special edition of an album or DVD you already own.

For this reviewer, the moment came with the release of Halloween 35th Anniversary Blu Ray. I already own two versions of Halloween on DVD (double disc from 2001 and 25 Years of Terror from 2008) so it became a real head vs heart debate between the joy of owning Halloween on blu ray with JLC/JC commentary (heart) and spending more money on a film that JC has already done a commentary on before and I probably know as much as I need to know from every extra before (head).

And so it came to pass that I was in the DVD section of my supermarket and I came across the blu ray. It wasn't exactly beckoning me to buy but it might just as well have. So my heart told my head to go get the coffees in whilst my heart and me went and bought it.

So what do you get? I'm not clever enough to describe the technical advantages of blu ray so all I can say is that it looks and sounds great. I could even see that the great Nancy Loomis had some teenage spots which I never noticed in my VHS edition. I don't need to describe the film, you all know how amazing it is and how it never fails to hit the spot.

The extras are limited to a JLC/JC commentary which is absolutely brilliant. To listen to the double heart and soul of the movie bickering, reminiscing and generally talking over each other is just amazing. Witness when JC starts grumbling when JLC starts talking technically about the film. The only sad part was that the brilliant underrated Debra Hill was not there to act as referee but her spirit lives on in this film.

The other main extra is JLC at a fans convention which is considered a big deal as it's the first time she's ever attended one. Whether it warranted a 1 hour doc is highly debatable and it is only saved by the fact that it was all done for a children's hospital charity and that so many Halloween fans were interviewed/featured which means they will be forever part of the legacy of this blu ray.

So from one fan to another, go and buy this film for two reasons. Firstly, because the JLC/JC commentary will have you grinning from ear to ear for the entire 90 minutes. And secondly, because frankly, the head isn't always right about everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The night he changed slashers forever., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not quite sure how you can not love this film. It has got EVERYTHING. Except hardcore gay porn. But other than that pure brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 31 Oct 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Halloween (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
halloween is a 1978 john carpenter movie that was an independent movie that made so much more than could have been imagined and its influence is even greater than that,logic would say that this film was inspired by hitchcocks psycho but the slasher genre grew wings after this and led to years of cheap slasher movies that have all more or less grew cult status and of course halloween is the best of a franchise that has spawned 8 films including a 2007 rob zombie led remake.

The film isnt as gory or as blood led as its reputation dictates,check it out if you havent watched it in a while and you will see what i mean,but the character of michael myers is menacing and the scare factor is immense here at times,jamie lee curtis is excellent here as one of michaels targets and while michaael never talks nor do you see his adult face,he is still one of horrors most distinctive characters,iconic almost and so is this movie,excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undisputedly one of the greatest scary films of all time, 16 April 2005
This review is from: Halloween (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
John Carpenter's Halloween was filmed over a period of just 3 weeks with a budget of just $300,000. A lot of compromises had to be made. The mask, for example, is a William Shatner one - all they did was spray paint it and widen the eyeholes, and to fantastic effect!
John Carpenter is such an excellent director. The first time I watched this movie I was about 12, and it is my favourit horror film. I'm 17 now and no matter how often I watch it still chills me!
Donald Pleasance and Jamie Lee Curtis give outstanding performances in the film that started the "slasher" movie genre. Also PJ Soles and Nancy Loomis are very good as Laurie's naughty but unfortunate best friends.
It goes without saying that John Carpenter's musical score for the film is very catchy/nerve-shredding, in particular the deep piano "heartbeat" chords that start when The Chase begins.
Overall just the mere concept of an unrelenting force of evil, in the shape of a person who refuses to die, makes this film so creepy and a definite MUST for all horror fans. It hooks you!
It spawned seven sequels, and a ninth is in production I believe, but none of the sequels aspired to or ever will aspire to the same terrifying level as the original. I promise you that you simply must have this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have purchase, 8 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Halloween (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a keen DVD collector now for quite some time, yet no DVD in my collection is as impressive as this feature packed Anchor Bay edition of Halloween. The film itself has a straight-forward storyline you will probably already know; a psychopath who killed his older sister when he was six years old escapes from the authorities and heads to Haddonfield, Illinois on one Halloween night 15 years later. Jamie Lee Curtis, in her first major film role, plays 'scream queen' Laurie Stode, a shy American teenager who babysits children. Little do her and her friends know, but a certain Michael Myers looms in the shadows of their neighbourhood...
There is fantastic support from British actor Donald Pleasance, portraying Myers' doctor who heads to Haddonfield to stop his crazed patient at all costs.
Halloween has already been released several times on various editions of 'Special Edition' DVD. This however is the most recent update, and is the most comprehensive DVD to buy for this classic. It contains a very impressive 80 minute long documentary, which goes into extreme detail on how the picture was made (for $320000 and over a 21 day period to be exact!). It has interviews with director John Carpenter, producer Debra Hill, Jamie Lee Curtis and many more of the Halloween team. There is also a seperate featurette which goes back to the actual film locations, which is really fascinating as most are now unrecognizable. Commentary from John Carpenter, Jamie Lee Curtis, theartical trailers and much more cram the second disc full.
I can not praise this film highly enough. Not only is it the most nerve-wracking and scariest film ever made, yet it comes in a delicious package which is a must for fans of cinema. No DVD collection in the world would be deemed 'complete' without this remarkable film. Just do not watch it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTICE: This is Carpenters HAlloween from 1978. On Bluray!, 6 Nov 2010
By 
MarkusG "Markus" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There seems to be a mixup here, Amazon! The item description refers to the sequel, but this product (which I bought) is the original John Carpenter 'Halloween' (1978), on Bluray. The reviews are a real mess, mixing everything up. So: if you want the 1978-version, this is it. The sequel is to be found elsewhere.

So: Amazon.co.uk, get this right please.

About the film there is not much to say other than this is a classic horror movie that everyone interested in cinema should watch.

The Bluray transfer looks fine, I watched it on a projector without problems. There is also a documentary which I haven't seen yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Often Imitated, 18 Oct 2013
Halloween is still without a doubt one of the most atmospheric pieces of cinema around. As a slasher film, it's often imitated but still never unsurpassed. Even when the franchise was rebooted last decade by horror fan Rob Zombie. This latest blu-ray does everything it can to enhance Halloween's immerse tone, with an impressive high res transfer (Cinematographer Dean Cundey approved) and an updated audio mix approved by Carpenter himself.

My favourite extra however is an all new commentary from John Carpenter and Jamie Lee Curtis, bringing new insight into one of my favourite horror films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One off, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't rate Horror movies but Halloween is an all time classic and succeeds in its genre very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Really pleased that I started to watch this film series, they were brilliant and pretty scary! Definitely recommend it to people who enjoy horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD]
Halloween (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2003)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews