Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new direction for Erykah Badu
Erykah Badu returns with a new, fresh sound. She has swapped earth mother vibes for head nodding street cool for a welcome change of direction from the Sunday Soul of Mama's Gun. You will fall in love with the album when the first track after the intro kicks in. "Bump It" will most likely have you singing along on your first listen! Other stand-outs are "Back in the day"...
Published on 29 Sep 2003 by P. Gates

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great CD
I aldready had one of her CDs. This one is so cool. I really like her voice. You will not regret your purchase
Published on 31 Mar 2012 by Niels


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new direction for Erykah Badu, 29 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
Erykah Badu returns with a new, fresh sound. She has swapped earth mother vibes for head nodding street cool for a welcome change of direction from the Sunday Soul of Mama's Gun. You will fall in love with the album when the first track after the intro kicks in. "Bump It" will most likely have you singing along on your first listen! Other stand-outs are "Back in the day" (When things were cool!). The infectious "Woo" born out of a crowd-moving stage track. An excellent choice of cover in Donald Byrd's "Think Twice" (woulda been nice to have Prof. Byrd play on the track, though!) and the wicked remix of "Love of My life" which is easily Badu's funkiest track. Only the odd "I want you" and "The Grind" fail to make the grade. Buy this album, it is the most soulful output from Motown since Stevie and Marvin's best work and Badu's best album yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worldwide Underground - Erykah Badu, 10 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
Erykah Badu, the critically acclaimed Neo-Soul diva returned in 2003 to release Worldwide Underground - originally an EP but with the addition of two UK bonus tracks, becoming an album. Worldwide Underground is an album that takes repeated listens to fully appreciate, the music being so different to Badu's previous albums.
The albums kicks off with a decent intro, before the first song: 'Bump It,' the beats on this track are excellent, great catchy song that ends in a wonderful collage of interesting, weird vocals. The next track, 'Back In The Day' is one of the album's highlights. Featuring Lenny Kravitz on the electric guitar, 'Back In The Day' is a smooth & funky soul track. Another highlight is the epic 'I Want You' - certainly the most unusual song Badu has ever recorded, but it works incredibly well, a gorgeous chill-out track that builds into something spectacular.
'Think Twice,' is the sweetest moment on the album, it's an electro/soul ballad with a great trumpet solo. On 'Love Of My Life (Worldwide),' Badu team up with Queen Latifah, Angie Stone & Bahamedia for a funky party track. Despite all these great songs, the best one on Worldwide Underground is the stunning 'Danger,' Badu's vocals are outstanding here - her most animated and the instruments are extraordinary.
The bonus track, 'Love Of My Life' won the 2003 Grammy for Best R&B song - produced by Raphael Saadiq and featuring a rap from Common. 'Hollywood,' another bonus, is also a fine song. Worldwide Underground is a strong album from Erykah Badu. With every album Badu manages to amaze. If you are new to this lady, then I suggest you purchase Baduizm first, then Mama's Gun, and then Worldwide Underground (just so that you understand where she's coming from).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groovin', 30 April 2008
By 
M. G. Wilson (Eastbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
In 2002, suffering from writer's block, Badu hit the road on the extensive 'Frustrated Artist Tour' seeking inspiration to breakthrough that block. Worldwide Underground is the result, originally billed as an EP, despite being 10 songs long even in its original form, perhaps as much to signal that it was not, in a straight forward way, the follow-up to 'Mama's Gun'. Certainly World Wide Underground is looser, less polished and includes several extended jams, and some fans of her earlier work were confused, and not always impressed. There may be fewer obvious singles here but this is a fine album of sweet sophisticated nu-soul with plenty to enjoy, and unusually the songs get stronger as the album progresses, with 'Danger', the Donald Byrd cover 'Think Twice', 'Love of My Life (an ode to hip hop) recorded with then lover Common, and 'Hollywood' all excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album In The Whole Worldwide Underground!, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
Now Erykah never really reached out to me on a real but after hearin' a few tracks from her past albums i thought she was a really moody singer
The Love Of My Life came out as the lead song for the film Brown Sugar i fell in love with the song
I went out & got the Album/EP straight away
1.World Keeps Turnin'/Yep its an intro what what a boring one it is 0/10
2.Bump It (Featuring Zapp Mama & Karo)/8.49 Minute jam with Erykah a good was to start the album 10/10
3.Back In The Day (Puff)/This song is one of my favourites on the album nice chilled tun about Back in the day smokin weed and stuff 10/10
4.I Want You/I skipped this song alot as it takes like 5 minutes to begin her actually to sing a verse but i left it on one day & feel in love great tune 10/10
5.Woo/"Erykah...BaaaDooooo" this reminds me of an old skool hip-hop track this is also an album highlight
6.Steady On The Grind (Featuring Dead Prez)/Wow what a great tune a soulful hip-hop track also a album highlight 10/10
7.Danger (Featuring China Blac)/My Favourite song on the album i kno how she feels with the calls frm prison hehe this had a really great video as well only saw it once or twice tho 11/10
8.Think Twice (Featuring Roy Hargrove)/The beat is very electronic soundin in parts dont like this song much but its not terrible 7/10
9.Love Of My Life Worldwide (Featuring Angie Stone,Queen Latifa & Bahamadia)/Its a funky version of the original very good makes ya wanna get up & move yo a*s 10/10
10.World Keeps Turnin'(Outro)/And On & On lol 0/10
11.Love Of My Life (Ode 2 Hip-Hop)/I LOVE THIS SONG the beat the lyrics the video everything about it Common also does hes lil bit on this as well 11/10
12.Hollywood/Didnt like it at 1st but its a really cool song 9/10
Top 5 WWUG Tunes
1.Love Of My Life
2.Back In The Day (Puff)
3.Danger
4.Woo
5.Hollywood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 11 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
This is a great album buy one of Soul's greatest Diva's. It does at times, wonder from the main thread of the song (r'n'b/soul), become a bit 'new age', before veering back onto track. For instance, track 2 starts off well but erykah then starts what can only be described as 'wailing' rather than singing about 5 minutes in, before the song ends at about 8-9 minutes. Despite this minor glitch, the rest of the tracks are superb and you'll find yourself playing this in preferebce to her other two albums at times. In fact track 3 (back in the day) has one of the best breaks I've ever heard. Overall, a worthy addition to her portfolio and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love her!, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
Its been years since I brought an Erykah Badu single and I decided to rekindle my love of her with this one, definitely not a poor choice. The album bounces along at an easy pace and as always with Badu there is a sprinkling of wisdom in the lyrics. Not her best but still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
I aldready had one of her CDs. This one is so cool. I really like her voice. You will not regret your purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new face of Erikah Badu, 13 Oct 2003
This review is from: Worldwide Underground (Audio CD)
Erikah Badu is back with a new album, never banal, and always very original. She's changing from her first album, especially the sound. Just a few keyboards sustaining the drum and bass, which are the basic elements of her sound. There are also a lot of electronic sounds and scratch of DJs. The sound is almost going in the direction of a rap/hip-hop, but elegant and never boring. Even her way of singing is changing a little, she's completely amalgamated with the global sound (without soloing too much), she doesn't even seems the marvellous singers she really is!!!
Finally a good album, for all Erika fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Worldwide Underground
Worldwide Underground by Erykah Badu (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews