Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying.
Yes, it's a pain having to buy a remote just to play DVDs. However, the playback it unlocks is pleasing, there is a full suite of controls, a tidy on-screen display, and it simply works. The frequently-used direction and select buttons are strong, thick, and glow in the dark, for maximum practicality. The casing is also very comfortable. It's also surprisingly robust, as...
Published on 19 Dec. 2003 by Alexander Whiteside

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have no DVD player, it's worth it...
I was a little irked to be forced into buying an additional item for my xbox to "unlock" its functionality. The facility was always there, seemingly they just want some more cash. The remote itself is cheap feeling. It's lightweight, is vacuously roomy inside, and the buttons don't have that great, responsive feel to them. Not only that, but the battery cover...
Published on 11 Feb. 2003 by wtl31


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have no DVD player, it's worth it..., 11 Feb. 2003
I was a little irked to be forced into buying an additional item for my xbox to "unlock" its functionality. The facility was always there, seemingly they just want some more cash. The remote itself is cheap feeling. It's lightweight, is vacuously roomy inside, and the buttons don't have that great, responsive feel to them. Not only that, but the battery cover design/placement is terribly located at the top of the unit. It doesn't really plug in well, and noticeably shifts around under the hand. What's even more naff, is the infra-red diode at the front. This thing is recessed into the casing a little, so there's some hope. Why on earth they have couldn't spent a few more pennies and covered that whole front-end with some shiny black plastic, just like that found on the Xbox itself, is beyond me!
No power button as people have said - but maybe with the Xbox Linux project, they can develop that functionality with multiple taps of the buttons.
The DVD dongle that fits into the front of the Xbox is simply ugly. I joke not. It's not flush with the machine, it protrudes by a few centimetres at least.
On the up side, the menus on the Xbox itself are pretty cool, and all the text uses that Xbox style.
Anyway, the short answer - no DVD player ? It's worth the spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying., 19 Dec. 2003
By 
Yes, it's a pain having to buy a remote just to play DVDs. However, the playback it unlocks is pleasing, there is a full suite of controls, a tidy on-screen display, and it simply works. The frequently-used direction and select buttons are strong, thick, and glow in the dark, for maximum practicality. The casing is also very comfortable. It's also surprisingly robust, as I discovered after stepping on it.
Twice.
The remote sensor is similarly well-made, clicking solidly in place, flush to the front of the console.
The only real flaws are that it's needed at all (is that a flaw of the remote, or the Xbox, though?), and that it doesn't allow you to eject disks or switch the console off. PS2 owners will be familiar with these gripes- the hardware simply doesn't allow a power-down or eject via the controller port. Sony's recent upgraded PS2s, with built-in remote ports, added this, so it's possible that Microsoft will at some stage. It's unlikely, though and it shouldn't put you off buying this satisfying bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 26 Nov. 2003
my opinions before buying were simply that it should have come with the Xbox. Of course, now Microsoft have realised this they seem to package it alot within bundles. I would have been annoyed by spending 20 quid on a remote had it not been for the amazing playback and ease of use.
since purchasing this item i have never watched a dvd on my PS2, the xbox quality is so much better. the remote if very simple to use, light and even glows in the dark. The speed that you fast forward/rewind is amazing too and i would definetly recommend this to every xbox owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XBOX DVD Remote does the job., 7 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
The XBox DVD remote, although should have been included with the console, unlocks what is quite decent DVD playback.
If you own an XBox but not a DVD player spending less than 20 quid is a fantastic option compared to spending over 100 quid to get a player of the same quality. The Dolby Digital 5.1 is flawless and if you already have your XBox linked to a surround sound system then the DVD remote will suit you more than a new DVD player will.
There are better players out there but none that will play your favourite games brilliantly and your favourite DVDs quite well.
A must for those people without too much spare cash or space near a tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Microsoft con, but worth it, 11 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Official DVD Movie Playback Controller (Xbox) (Video Game)
We should not have to buy a playback kit, but at least this provides a pretty strong remote control, with keys that glow in the dark and with a fairly painless installation. And, if my sources are true, it plays DVDs with a sharper image quality than the PS2.
Obviously, the lack of the eject button is not a huge problem, because if you pressed an eject button you would, of course, be intending to get up, go over to the console and change/remove the disc. No harm in that, but it's a little annoying that there's no power button. Never mind, though, because sometime you'll remember to turn the Xbox off.
Just as obviously, the playback kit is a Microsoft con, because technically, the Xbox isn't supposed to even know what a DVD is unless the kit is connected, but instead, the console without the kit plugged in effectively says to you "I know full well this is a DVD and I'm not going to play it unless you spend more on a playback kit."
There's still a problem for Microsoft to answer - will the playback kit be able to be used with the future Xbox consoles, or does it become obselete upon release of the second console? If it becomes useless, I'll change my rating to 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good piece of kit, 5 Mar. 2004
It does the job, and does it well. The remote sensor is very sensitive, and so I don't always require a line of sight to use the remote, and the DVD playback is excellent; much better than that of the PS2, or even a lot of the cheaper DVD players out there.
Only downside to the remote is the fact that it cannot be used to turn the console on and off, unless you buy a third party modification from [...] which does involve opening up your Xbox to add, but requires no soldering at all, and allows you to turn your Xbox on with either the Display or Select buttons, and off with the 0 button. I myself have installed this without a hitch, and although it costs more, I'm lazy, and so it's worth it ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Debatable Merit, 20 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Although Microsoft asserts that its otherwise splendid console is to be a new generation in home entertainment (a term that stresses the fact it isn't just a game's machine), the machine cannot actually play DVDs out the box without an additional controller. At ..., one would expect to be entitled to at least play films with the standard controller rather like the Playstation 2, but Microsoft have instead opted for this obvious money spinner coming just under a rather hefty ...
This niggle aside, the Xbox Official Controller does allow for rather excellent DVD playback that is superior to that of the Playstation 2 and is at least equal to that of many budget to mid range DVD players out in the market today. Despite rather clumsy aesthetics, the controller is surprisingly functional, with a wide variety of options that include chapter select, bookmarking and a very quick fast-forward function. Unfortunately, most advanced functions can only be accessed from an on-screen menu, something that might irritate those whose patience doesn't go further than instant button presses.
For those already blessed with a DVD player I wouldn't reach for the wallet yet, but for those making their first foray into the wonderful world of DVDs, the Official Xbox DVD Controller is an ideal, if slightly ugly, oppurtunity to see what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than a Universal All-For-One remote., 29 Aug. 2008
By 
Zeke Pliskin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think the reason this item has a poor rating compared to other peripherals is that people are buying it to use with an unmodified XBOX which has a DVD lockout as standard. Even when buying this kit, your XBOX is locked to the region it was made for and this is completely unsatisfactory. I haven't even bothered to use the stock software that plugging in the infrared device to port 4 unlocks.

I bought the remote and wireless adaptor because I use XBMC and it has region-free DVD support, plus my XBOX has a large harddrive filled with good-quality copies of the movies and shows I have bought in the past. Contrary to the Amazon assessment the remote actually has a decent reception range and angle, only failing to work if many objects obstruct its path. It isn't the best remote you'll ever find but it feels ergonomic enough and the battery life is reasonable.

Overall it is a worthwhile purchase. Even if you don't like the basic remote, having the IR sensor allows you to use other Universal remotes if you don't mind learning how to program them to work with your console. Technically you can have your television, stereo, freeview/Sky box and XBOX on one remote, which from a geek point of view is pretty damn cool. Worth a tenner? Definately.

(WORD TO THE WISE: I have a software modified console that runs XBMC. This program plays back pretty much every file format in common usage today and a few besides. It's a great piece of software which uses a Python-based frontend for MPlayer to turn the XBOX into a viable home entertainment centre, capable of streaming media from computers on local networks or USB devices connected directly, or that stored on a larger hard-drive if the user has fitted one to their console. Also, the XBMC software allows you to reprogram the remote to taste; for example, the numeric keys which are normally useless can trigger advanced functions of the XBMC software.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pic and sound, 7 April 2002
By A Customer
DVD playback picture and sound is excellent.
No one wants to use a controller instead of a remote and this one is better than ps2 third party remotes.
Small price to pay for a DVD player if you do not already own one (Get this and join Blockbusters)
Remote also doubles in controlling MP3 sountracks copied on to hard drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't have to buy this, 2 Sept. 2003
By 
J. Cronin "dudara" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This DVD playback kit has to be purchased if you wish to view DVD's on your X-box. It consists of an IR unit that plugs into one of the empty controller slots and a remote control. The remote control has all the usual options present, with the exception of "Eject" and "Power". This might have something to do with the fact that discs are not supposed to be left in the player for extended periods of time when not in use. The buttons have a good feel, rubbery with a good press action. To distinguish it from the 15 other remotes floating about your house, some of the buttons are x-box green.
The IR unit itself looks a little clunky and can protrude from the box, depending which port it is placed into. I really wish that it had been built into the box itself. But I suppose getting you to fork over ~Euro 30 for it adds to Microsofts profits. The box plays DVDs well, and is the equal of most budget DVD players.
This product works well, as it should, but it is something that should have come with the box. But if you do want to watch DVDs on your x-box, it fits the bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official DVD Movie Playback Controller (Xbox)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews