Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that's worth revisiting
Along with the Civ and Baldur's Gate series, this counts as one of my favourite games of all time, and it's great to see it revived in its new packaging -- where it offers great value for budget-conscious gamers with less-than cutting-edge machines.
Following as it did on from the original Dungeon Keeper, DK2 didn't really break new ground (though the DK franchise...
Published on 18 Oct 2003 by HLT

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful about compatibility
I could nearly, but not quite, get this to work in Windows Home Premium and in Windows Vista. It installs and works fine on Windows XP.

It is a classic of its genre, and it will run on a very low-spec machine, but research carefully if you don't have an old XP machine you can run it on.
Published on 6 May 2012 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that's worth revisiting, 18 Oct 2003
By 
HLT (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Along with the Civ and Baldur's Gate series, this counts as one of my favourite games of all time, and it's great to see it revived in its new packaging -- where it offers great value for budget-conscious gamers with less-than cutting-edge machines.
Following as it did on from the original Dungeon Keeper, DK2 didn't really break new ground (though the DK franchise certainly did) but it was more polished, more atmospheric, and more fun.
In some ways, it's a typical resource-management game, but with the twist that you take the role of an evil subterranean overlord, with the troops and structures you'll have available reflecting that fact. For example, you'll be building torture chambers and prisons, and recruiting the likes of goblins, trolls and evil wizards to do your bidding.
The game feels slightly dated now, but the graphics were gorgeous at the time and your traps and canons still gleam as brightly as ever they did -- as you'll see the first time you possess one of your creatures and wander around your dungeon looking through their eyes :-)
The music is a perfect match of the gameplay, and the in-game narrator's darkly honeyed tones are both atmospheric and amusing -- as are the cut-scene "films".
In fact, humour and atmosphere are where the game really shines: unlike many modern "commercially-driven" games, this was clearly a labour of love. It's a real shame the affair never continued with the promised Dungeon Keeper 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is the sequel what we've wanted?, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Dungeon Keeper 2 is the sequel to Dungeon Keeper which was back in 1997 but has had a complete new makeover in gameplay and graphics. But is it the sequel that beat the original?
Afraid no, but nearly as good. You have to do everything that you did in the original, you are a Keeper and have to train creatures into an army and research more rooms so you can expand you Dungeon into an underground Kingdom; so that got full marks. Graphics are are MUCH better than the first and that has boosted the game. But sadly the gameplay took it down to 4 stars, in my opinion the gameplay is not as good as original DK. Most of the time on the game it's just watching your creatures walk around, train and research, on the orignal you had something to do all the time. You don't get to engage in battle as much because on the game the people who are trying to destroy your Dungeon don't seem to want to break in. You'll proberly understand fully if you have both games.
I'm not saying that this is a bad game, i'm just saying it's not as good as the original. Still a BRILLIANT game and highly recommend anyone to buy it boxed if they can, if not than just DVD cased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 2 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Kevin Behan "kevbehan" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Another gem from the now sadly defunct Bullfrog Studios.
Much better graphics than the original, but less challenging to complete and somehwhat less compelling - although still streets ahead of most other games
In essence, the game follows a basic RTS game format - collect resources, build armies, explore terrain, crush your enemy's base...
But it is in the finer points of detail in the gameplay that set it apart from anything else on the market - units are not trained in barracks, but have to be attracted to your cause: Warlocks want libraries to research spells, Bile Demons like a decent supply of chickens, and the Mistress demands a fully functioning torture chamber in which to indulge her, err, more personal pleasures. The whole action of the game takes place under the earth, and your Imps burrow through the ground to reach new areas; if they don't work quickly enough for you, just give them a slap and they will soon jump to it.
The defining aspect of the game is the gorgeous, dark humour. There are few things funnier in a PC game that seeing your Goblins, Skeletons and Dark Angels boogey on down to the beats of 'Disco Inferno', played whenever one of your minions is lucky enough to hit the jackpot in the casino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility : Windows 7, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Avid Reader (Middle England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I have always loved this game and never managed to get it to run on vista, bought a new copy now I have windows 7 and although it doesn't run 'out of the box' it is very simple to getting running 99% perfect.

First Install the game
Then from the disc menu page (the one that had install, play etc) click on Patch
This will take you to a file on your computer where patch v1.7 is stored, double click in the patch to install it

Once this is done go to windows the start up menu and find Dungeon Keeper 2 (it's in the Bull frog folder) in your programs list. Right click on the program then click properties.

In properties click the compatibility tab, change compatibilty to Windows 2000
Also on the same page Tick the following boxes
Run 640x480 screen res
Disable Visual Themes
Disable Desktop Comp
Disable Display Scaling on high dpi

Nearly done!

Now start the game... Click on the 'Options' then Graphics Options

Turn Off
Water Transucency
Environment Mapping
Harware Acceleration

Set the Resolution to 640 x 480
And finally set the Shadow Detail level to O

Close the game and reopen and you should now have a fully functional version of Dungeon Keeper 2 on you Windows 7 PC!

I've been playing mine for a week solid and it's only crashed once (my Sims 3 crashes every couple of hours)

Any problems there is a great video on YouTube showing you 90% of what to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game just has to be played to be believed, 6 Feb 2004
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I got this game free when I resubscribed to PCZone and it is probably the most addictive game I have ever played. An odd scenario where you run a dungeon - training creatures from hell and using wizards, trolls, imps, dragons, spiders, vampires, hell hounds and numerous other weird and wonderful things to build an army strong enough to take on the Lord of the Land. The ambience immerses you in a land of power but as a strategy game you have to balance this power with brains. I say this is the most addictive game I have ever played because there is so much going on and each scenario is different everytime you play - strange things happen at different times of year, like if there is a full moon you get to play a bonus level. This game just has to be played to be believed simply because it is very hard to describe but needless to say both my wife and I have spent endless nights trying to reinforce our dungeon walls, lay gas traps, build rooms, pay wages and launching sneaky attacks on unsuspecting heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game...if it plays!, 5 April 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I LOVE this game, it's huge fun especially building your dungeon layout, controlling what creatures can enter your dungeon or be created like vampires (using the dead bodies from your enemy). It's also fun collecting gold and watching your creatures run around (or fly). Imps..... which are the most important creature in your dungeon as they build everything from corridors and rooms to installing traps, doors and repairing walls...they also dig up and collect gold BUT they can't fight so you need variation in the creatures you have.

The graphics are actually pretty good, certainly better than many games of the same age. Remember you view everything from a Birdseye view unless you use magic to take control of a creature in which case you view and control from their eyes. So the game is huge fun and there's lots of variation...both campaign and skirmish.

Now comes the bad news, on windows 7 64-bit the game will not run properly regardless of what setting i pick! The audio and graphics are particularly messed up with huge blocks of pink and purple pixels across the screen.

PROS: If the game works then you'll have a laugh and put thought into your dungeon layout, characters are awesome, dungeon keeper voice is cool

CONS: It doesn't work with Windows 7 64bit....or at least it doesn't on my machine, maybe more maps would be nice on the skirmish

VERDICT: It's a great old game for the PC, just be aware of the compatibility issues. These dungeon games are just different and that's why i like it

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the old ones are still amongst the best, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
The first computer game I ever had was Dungeon Keeper (which ran on Windows 95 but, unfortunately, not on any of the updated windows version). A couple of years later came Dungeon Keeper 2, and between DK, DK2, Theme Hospital and Command and Conquer I was kept happy for years. There have been a number of games since then, including the Lord of the Rings: Battle for Middle Earth games, as well as Sims 2 and new Sims 3 which I have tried and play now.

As with the original you are the evil dungeon keeper who is trying to vanquish the good of the underworld, and in the process collect the portal gems.

You build your dungeon, claim at least one portal and attract creatures to your cause and train them. You can train a creature to level 10 (up to level 4 in the training room then move them to the fighting pit or into battles for further levels), but unlike DK1 you cannot train imps in the training room, imps gain experience with the length of time they spend in the dungeon. Remember to hunt around for any hidden spells such as "raise experience of all creatures", "reveal map", "secret level", etc, they really do come in useful.

The game allows you to play the map campaign, or play pet dungeons. At the end of each campaign you get a brief CGI film as a reward for your victory. Each of the films is then stored in the "extras" vault for you to view whenever you feel like.

In Pet Dungeon you are required to reach a certain score - the first level is at 10,000 points and each level after that adds a further 10,000 points to the total required as you progress. Rooms become available on a timed released. When playing the Pet Dungeons you decide when the attacks are going to take place, and whether or not you want a single marauder (you can pick up to 10 enemies and drop them anywhere in your dungeon) or a full attack, or all-out repeating attacks.

Pet Dungeon allows you to build your dungeon and train your creatures before any attack takes place. If you're looking for a more relaxing option, then Pet Dungeon is the option for you.

It is nice to return to an old favourite every couple of months to remind you of the simplicity of things and to give you a refresher on the old strategies and techniques which comes in handy when playing some of the new strategy games.

There was meant to be a Dungeon Keeper 3 (a brief trailer can be found in the Extra section) but unfortunately Bullfrog went bust and was taken over by EA Games. It is such a shame that EA decided that the DK franchise wasn't worth continuing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest RTS games ever!, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. C. Leate "mrbongo" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I've played this game all the way through several times now despite it crashing a lot under Windows XP Pro.

It was worth every minute spent swearing at the fact that I had to reboot my machine, there aren't any games being released for PC of this calibre any more.

Unfortunately EA bought Bullfrog and EA have no plans to release Dungeon Keeper 3, so it looks like this is the last in the line of dungeon keeper games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at some of the previous morons reviews and wonder!!!, 9 Feb 2007
By 
J. Riordan "jamjar11" (Caterham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This game is one of my favourites it is however quite old now (1998/1999)and can have some problems running under xp. This does not stop me loading it up and forgetting what time it is whilst losing myself playing it until the game it self takes the mickey out of you by telling you that its past midnight or dont you have any thing better to do. There is strategy to this game in how you have to play to actually win the allocation of resources and how far to tunnel and when. I would ask you all to type dungeon keeper in to the amazon search engine and view the other versions of this game and the reviews therein to see how the game actually plays and is rather than the reviews before this one mocking the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon Keeper, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Really good game, runs really well. Just make sure when you're buying it you realise you'llhave to change the format as it doesn't run on windows 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD)
Dungeon Keeper 2 (PC CD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
5.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews