Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buckingham-less, but entertaining
This DVD of the San Francisco concert from Fleetwood Mac's 1987-1988 'Tango in the Night' tour is without extras, special features or Lindsey Buckingham. However, the band manages to put on a sterling performance, with replacement guitarists Rick Vito and Billy Burnette faring more than adequately in the wake of Buckingham's acrimonious departure. Christine McVie shines...
Published on 10 Dec. 2003 by Steven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality
Didint like this. I am a huge fan of fleetwood mac and was deeply disapointed to see this dvd.
Plus this is a concert where lindsay buckingham was not on tour with fleetwood.
Would not recommend.
Poor quality and badly done.
Published 14 months ago by Kristín Guðbrandsdóttir


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buckingham-less, but entertaining, 10 Dec. 2003
By 
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
This DVD of the San Francisco concert from Fleetwood Mac's 1987-1988 'Tango in the Night' tour is without extras, special features or Lindsey Buckingham. However, the band manages to put on a sterling performance, with replacement guitarists Rick Vito and Billy Burnette faring more than adequately in the wake of Buckingham's acrimonious departure. Christine McVie shines with live versions of her bittersweet pop classic 'Little Lies' and 'Everywhere', and Stevie Nicks adds to the occasion with polished versions of several of her well-known songs and a thundering rendition of her solo hit 'Stand Back'. Despite the change in lineup (as ever with this band), the setlist is strong, and so is the performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Hair, Big Music, 20 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
I enjoyed this 1980s concert from the Mac although it is certainly a very obvious product of that era in terms of cuts, visual style etc. There is Stevie's big hair, Billy Burnette and Rick Vito's mullets, but really the music is great. Coming off the back of their Tango in the Night album, the two ladies of the band really come into their own with live recordings of Little Lies and Seven Wonders, as well as Christine's underestimated Isn't It Midnight. Even though Lindsey Buckingham had left the band at this stage the DVD is a good look back at some brilliant pop and horrendous fashion sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album well performed!, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
You always know what you are going to get with the Mac. Great photography and great numbers. Recommended! You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
Kristín Guðbrandsdóttir (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
Didint like this. I am a huge fan of fleetwood mac and was deeply disapointed to see this dvd.
Plus this is a concert where lindsay buckingham was not on tour with fleetwood.
Would not recommend.
Poor quality and badly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lindsey Buckingham, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
I had a laugh at the sellers description of Lindsey Buckingham leaving the band and, as the seller puts it, "she returned in 1997". What about Stevie Nicks, when did "he" return. Do your research. Still, I may just buy it :) I gave it 5 stars only because I had to rate it and because I love Fleetwood Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy on Stevie, 25 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
I'm not particularly a fan of 'live' concerts unless there is quite a good reason to watch it. My thinking in buying this DVD, was to have the songs of 'Tango in the Night' on video. I was disappointed that ALL the tracks were recorded live from a concert in San Francisco several years ago.
Most of the songs from 'Tango' are on this video - well the important ones anyway - 'Little Lies', 'Seven Wonders', 'Big Love'. I was pleasantly surprised when I found songs from the "Rumours" album too and there are exceptional performances of 'The Chain' and 'Songbird'. At 90 minutes long, it is a good buy if you like 'live' performances.
For me though, there were two criticisms on the performance. Firstly, Mr Buckingham was not in the band - someone else was. Secondly, Stevie Nicks has an irritating habit of making every song her own but only by screaming over it! This problem can be clearly seen on Christine McVies face as they perform 'Seven Wonders'. Slightly spoiled that for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good Book, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Jacqueline Browne (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
Enjoyed this book Great , good read good value worth the money keep the Nora books coming I will buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not play, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
this dvd would not play on my dvd player again i like fleetwood mac but scared to order this dd again in case the same happens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lindsey Buckingham is Fleetwood Mac!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] (DVD)
I wasted my money on this rubbish, completely forgetting that Lindsey Buckingham walked out on the band before the tour...what a pity!

Fleetwood Mac had 10 albums before Buckingham and Stevie Nicks joined them on New Years Eve 1974, but it was this move which made them a supergroup, and Buckingham's unique fingerstyle guitar playing which created the sound which most relate to as Fleetwood Mac, telling by the fact that they had to bring in 2 guitar players to cover for him...and they just don't cut it.

I can see why they limped on through that tour and then died a slow, painful death without him...but, all was not lost as they reformed 10 years later, not for the money as so many have done in recent years, but because it just happened "organically" as Buckingham put it...

If you love Fleetwood Mac, DO NOT waste your money on this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002]
Tango In The Night (Live-Dvd) [2002] by Fleetwood Mac (DVD - 2003)
£10.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews