Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first truly great MASH season
After a fairly patchy first season, Season 2 is where MASH really found its feet and began a top quality run that continued right up to Radar's departure at the start of Season 8. This is a season where the strong episodes are truly great and the weak episodes are still miles better than most of Seasons 9-11.
'Divided We Stand' is a marvellous re-introduction to the...
Published on 31 Oct 2003 by N. Madle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I should have bought a later series?
Not as good as I remember, but then I read about it on Wikipedia and discovered Alan Alda directed the later series(es).
Published 15 months ago by B. Kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first truly great MASH season, 31 Oct 2003
By 
N. Madle "Neil64" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
After a fairly patchy first season, Season 2 is where MASH really found its feet and began a top quality run that continued right up to Radar's departure at the start of Season 8. This is a season where the strong episodes are truly great and the weak episodes are still miles better than most of Seasons 9-11.
'Divided We Stand' is a marvellous re-introduction to the characters and 'Radar's Report' has many wonderful moments, including Hawkeye, the lothario supreme, finding himself on the receiving end for once. '5 O'Clock Charlie' is one of the more memorable early MASH episodes, if not quite the best, whilst 'The Sniper' offers many moments of sustained hilarity and features an early appearance by Teri Garr.
'Deal Me Out' is one of my favourite all-time episodes, not only due to the humour surrounding the ongoing poker game but also because it features the first appearance of the late Ed Winter as the ludicrous Colonel Flagg (albeit under the name 'Halloran'). 'A Smattering of Intelligence' is the first fully-fledged Flagg episode. Like Sidney Freedman, Flagg is one of those occasional MASH characters who can really lift an episode without ever outstaying his welcome. Conceived during the Nixon years, Flagg's rampant paranoia and pursuit of 'democracy' (or rather, his brand of democracy) is as pertinent and scary today as it was in the 70s - it's strangely resonant of the current US administration, which is chock-full of Flagg wannabes.
'Hot Lips & Empty Arms' is the first episode to elevate Margaret from the movie's stereotype to the show's more rounded individual. The true classic of Season 2, however, is 'The Trial of Henry Blake', which is wonderful from start to finish.
As well as being consistently funny, relevant and compassionate, MASH was also one of the most intellectual and cerebral sitcoms ever broadcast. In 'Officers Only', an obsequious Hot Lips creeps around a visiting dignitary and says, 'I think it's only fitting that a captain be assisted by a major when working on the son of a general, Colonel' only for Hawkeye to add, 'I think you just conjugated the Pentagon.' Great line.
Smart, literate, knowing and witty, Season 2 is MASH at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASH for tea every time, 22 July 2005
By 
Mr. S. Everett (Istanbul Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Having not seen the show for nearly a decade (impossible but true) seeing things from the past often can be a let down -
MASH series 2 is defintiely NOT in this catergory.
Seeing memorable, insightful, humourous story telling, almost verging on historical (& hysterical) documents
The dealing with the horror of war is truly insightful and inspiring in its realism.
Every disc has highlights.
The narrative story telling on 'Radars report' and 'dear dad' give good insights.
Special mention of the 'trial of Henry' & 5 o'clock charlie
The dealing of the characters of Frank and Margaret - that slowly open up is good to see.
We see more of the 'family' feel and understanding of the differences between the differences of the characters
1 interesting thought - after turning OFF the inane laughter track - you HAVE to do this - there is a little more time to appreciate the delivery of the sarcasm and quips - only a few milli seconds, but allows you to savour the wit more clearly.
A good buy and because each episode is a unique contained story the 22 min can be a enjoyed even if you have a short time.
There is so much in each show that it seems much longer than actually is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASH-TASTIC, 21 Nov 2003
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
The second series really starts to take on the feel of the MASH we all know and love, leaving behind much of the cheesy sitcom feel of the first series. Still not up to the standards of later series, this is however classic comedy which has really not dated at all. Can't wait for Series 3 to go on release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent MASH, 10 Oct 2003
By 
Joyce Cockburn (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I have every episode of MASH on Video (which are wearing down fast) hence the reason for buying on DVD.
As the series evolves, so do the characters. Each of the actors bring some of themselves to the characters they portray. When you see the actors in another role, you always relate them back to MASH
It is funny, sad, serious and sensitive all at the same time giving you an insight to all sides of war: the draftees, the soldiers, the wounded, the family left behind and those in the middle.
Whilst it concentrates on the Korean War, in reality it could be any war that is ongoing at any time in the world today. All this from a series made over 30 years ago.
It is black comedy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M*A*S*H Rules, 10 Nov 2003
By 
D. L. Morfett "muffet" (Dunstable, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Thankfully I didnt start collecting the videos, because i have now started to collect the DVD's. These are a must for any M*A*S*H fan. You can watch them to catch up on a programme you havent seen for years, or just watch them in between times that it is on tv.
Season two is when the shaky first few episodes are past, and the characters really start to develop. There are some hilariously funny episodes, some moving episodes, and some serious episodes that make you appreciate how hard it was on not just the doctors, but the families, and the local people.
This is a very funny programme, and anyone who had watched it, and enjoyed it will get many hours of pleasure from watching it. This DVD contains 3 DVDs with all the episodes from the second series. Remember the one where Trapper is going to adopt a local child, and he has to go into the middle of a minefield to rescue him, only for his mother to come and claim him. 5 0 clock charlie, the useless helicopter pilot that has to be guided to his target by arrows!
These earlier episodes of MASH are the more lighthearted episodes, with the funny tannoy announcements, that seemed to disappear after season 3.
The DVD, unfortunately, contains no special features. Still a GREAT buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Mash, 22 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This DVD set is like having old friends back. We are collecting the whole series, bit by bit, and its a wonderful way of getting through long winter nights with gentle, but hard hitting wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mash, 7 Sep 2011
By 
K. Slater (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Always consistent in quality and humour. A well crafted and superbly acted series. Gets better as the episodes progress. Mash has never lost it's attraction for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M*A*S*H season two, 27 April 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Lefevre (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I adored this programme as a child and the attraction and fondness for it has never wained. A fantastic series with such adorable characters like Radar, and the handsome Hawkeye , It gives you an insight into human nature through the storys sometimes funny sometimes emotional but all thrilling to watch and still leave me touched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a birthday present for my husband who loves ..., 7 July 2014
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Bought as a birthday present for my husband who loves the series, as I do, having watched it when it was on tv in the 70s. Had already bought him Season 1 anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but we know he will enjoy!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Bought as a present for my husband, it arrived very quickly. He hasn't watched it yet, but we know he will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M*A*S*H - Season 2 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1973]
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews