Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting
I bought this album on the strength of a magazine review, having never heard of Wainwright before. I have been astounded by how good it is from the very first play. It is hard to categorise the music as it is quite unique in modern rock music. The overwheming impression is the huge joyous scale of the music. There is a richness of musical textures and an intelligence of...
Published on 18 Feb 2004

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish - avoid at all costs
I can't believe the positive reviews. This is thin pretentious rubbish. I am a big fan of the McGarrigle sisters, Loundon Wainwright and also think Martha Wainwright is a really fine singer song-writer. But Rufus - god help us. The self-regarding failure of the family. When the Bolero kicks in at the end of track one you know you have reached the dark end of the...
Published 11 months ago by Leither


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hallelujah, it's Rufe!, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
well what can i say... my Dad bought Rufus' album first and i was dubious, but after listening to it more, i love it!!My friend and i went to see Rufus in concert and he played our favourite song off this album- 14th street. We are both sixteen and i think this shows how accessible Rufus is!! WE love Rufus!!! ( and he has REALLY big feet!!) xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans please don't hesitate, 3 Oct 2003
By 
otterly66 (brighton, e sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
A beautiful album from a special talent, more of a grower than the previous two, but more unified. He really takes the high road with the production, but it's done with such style that it doesn't seem overproduced. He uses his high register to sometimes uncomfortable, sometimes humorous effect. Can't single out one track in particular, as it's hard not to listen to the whole album each time. How bizarre that it didn't get one review in the British press on the week of its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't take it out of my CD changer, 31 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I have had this CD for over 10 months now...and I still can't stop listening to it.
The thing with Rufus Wainwright's CD is that you keep discovering something to appreciate from every song. I love track two now...its obsessional..I also LOVE want TWO
Thanks Rufus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious......., 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
This album and Want Two are magnificent. Beautiful, tragic, uplifting. What can I say? The melodies, the splendour of the orchestration, the lavish use of strings and piano and of layers of voice and of course the purity of his solitary voice which aches with expression. The combination when his sister Martha joins him in unison is like an angelic choir. I have seen Rufus live twice and he doesn't disappoint he is wonderful- he's the real deal.Open your ears.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I had never heard of this chap before but I am eternally grateful that I stumbled upon this. A genuine artist. There is not much more I can say except BUY THIS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Goran Bukan (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I love this one. Want One and Want Two are those rare masterpieces of quality songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUH!!!!!, 1 Mar 2005
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I think that this here is the most talented song writer in the world today. i like people that play their own music. but even if rufus hadn't played it all, i wouldn't care, he is too talented to car about that. the piano is my favourite is instrument, it has such power and depth. this is why i love alica keys as i love rufus. they both write their own songs, though admitedly very different. but they both have very different markets. In music that doesn't matter. i saw on jools holland. both of those artists (on the same show) were dancing to each others music. and an interview with jools holland on the radio talking about that show, he says that he has never seen such talent in two human beings. he also went on to say that they played together after the show (which i wish they had shown) that would have been amazing. Alicia on the piano, rufus on the mic.
but to this album, the third of his offerings, and the best. the song for me that shows off his writing ability (better than alot of poets out there today) is dinner at eight. when i heard the context of the song in a review i listened to it completely different than before. 'so why is it so/that i've always been the one who must go/when in fact you were the one/ long ago/ in the drifting white snow/who left me'.
vibrate, though different from everything on the album, i think only adds to this perfect piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection?, 10 April 2005
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
Time for us to take stock of our definition of perfection. Convention would have us believe that nature is the sole provider of true perfection. Not so, Want one, re-defines a number of things, amongst those things is our vision of perfection. Procrastination may have its place, but not here and not now; here we have a craftesman going about the business of creating a masterpiece, the best thing you can do is buy it.
Simple really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish - avoid at all costs, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I can't believe the positive reviews. This is thin pretentious rubbish. I am a big fan of the McGarrigle sisters, Loundon Wainwright and also think Martha Wainwright is a really fine singer song-writer. But Rufus - god help us. The self-regarding failure of the family. When the Bolero kicks in at the end of track one you know you have reached the dark end of the street.

If I wanted Radiohead Lite, I would have gone for Radiohead itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listening to boring lyrics and music.Rufus Wainwright.c.d., 15 July 2011
This review is from: Want One (Audio CD)
I cannot even begin to comprehend how dull this c.d. is, after seeing Rufus Waingwright on recent BBC programme I thought I would "give him a go" what a mistake. I think he makes Leonard Cohen sound absolutly delerious happy. One for the shredder. Product review on Rufus Wain wright Want one c.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Want One
Want One by Rufus Wainwright (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews