Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if you know what you're doing
I've worked as a web designer for four years, using Dreamweaver all the way. I've got MX 2004, which I've had since it was released.
Dreamweaver templates are a godsend, and so is the WYSIWYG editor, which is incredibly accurate compared to previous versions of Dreamweaver. For creating large websites, tools such as "Check links sitewide" (finds broken links and...
Published on 10 Aug. 2005 by Will Thomson

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating in the extreme
This software is slightly better presented than previous versions, but beware serious problems with the FTP engine, which render the software virtually incomptible with some hosting services.
A patch for this program to fix the appalling FTP performance and general unreliability of the program is way, way overdue. Dreamweaver MX 2004 is sluggish at best, even on a...
Published on 3 Mar. 2004 by Nathan Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if you know what you're doing, 10 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
I've worked as a web designer for four years, using Dreamweaver all the way. I've got MX 2004, which I've had since it was released.
Dreamweaver templates are a godsend, and so is the WYSIWYG editor, which is incredibly accurate compared to previous versions of Dreamweaver. For creating large websites, tools such as "Check links sitewide" (finds broken links and orphaned files) is superb and saves a lot of time. Also, the search tool is excellent, allowing complex find and replace procedures to be performed right across the site.
I think the problem people have with Dreamweaver is people with no experience in web design approach creating their first website as if it's going to be the same as word processing. It's not. Dreamweaver can be incredibly powerful, but you must spend some time understanding what it's actually doing for you. Dreamweaver MX 2004 uses CSS to style the site for instance, and it's important to understand what CSS is, and what its benefits are, otherwise you'll be fighting the tool, not working with it. I used to use the CSS editing tool, but now I have a good knowledge of CSS, I tend to find it faster to code by hand. When in Code view, hitting Ctrl + Space gives code completion help, which can help if you're stuck, and can also speed you up.
When I'm using Dreamweaver I'm constantly switching between Code view and Design view, and I think it is essential to know how to use both to get the most out of the tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Expensive, but good for design, 3 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
When I first bought dreamweaver MX I thought it would allows me to create databased websites, which it would have if I knew ASP or PHP and how to build a database. Which I didn't, so it's not like easyGen that allows you to build dynamic sites without any programming skills.
But I would still say it is a very good program if you are a programmer or interested in design. Yes, it's expensive and I think over priced, especially when you concider how much easyGen is. Yet I still think as a design package it's probably the best on the market. Once you get in to it, it's full of useful features and easy to use, once you get to understand it, which has taken me months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For professionals........., 12 April 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
Dreamweaver MX 2004 is recommended for professionals not beginners or intermediates. Beginners have a good chance of trying it once or twice, then giving up in disgust, and go onto the net and go to a 'make your own free website' webpage.
Intermediates will have a hard time fiddling around with it and will only have a fair chance of making a succesful webpage if there is a professional or advanced person there to help him/her.
This is also far too expensive for many ordinary people to afford! Think about it; 320 quid! Many people will just decide to either get a cheaper website maker or a make on the net.
But on the current market, this is still the best website maker. It is by far the most complicated, but also makes the most professional websites. This is for people who are very good at computers and/or professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still way better than frontpage, 24 Sept. 2003
By 
B Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
This is the choice for proffessionals and novices alike, it is so simple to use and has amazing results. The only thing that I would say that is bad about it is this: I have dreamweaver mx and mx 2004, I would say that there isn't much new in this edition. The GUI now looks way better. Also the CSS support is now way better, although I still am not sure whether it is worth the upgrade. Download a free trial from macromedia's site and check it out for your self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating in the extreme, 3 Mar. 2004
By 
Nathan Nelson "Nathan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
This software is slightly better presented than previous versions, but beware serious problems with the FTP engine, which render the software virtually incomptible with some hosting services.
A patch for this program to fix the appalling FTP performance and general unreliability of the program is way, way overdue. Dreamweaver MX 2004 is sluggish at best, even on a very high-spec PC.
There is not a great amount more that is new in this software from the original MX version - some good CSS support (though I still prefer to write CSS in TopStyle) and some features such as browser compatibility checks are improved. I keep wanting to go back to the original MX version at the moment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bloated and crash-happy, 26 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
I've been a Dreamweaver user for a long time and I really wanted to like this version as it adds lots of functionality that has been sorely lacking in previous versions. Unfortunately, this product was released before it was finished and it shows in a big way. I'm very glad there was a free demo version available from the Macromedia website because I think that having the demo really helped me dodge a bullet here.
The first thing you'll notice about this product is that it is SLOW! It takes an age to load and a fast typist can peg the processor at a high level of utilization. What's more, the built in FTP client pegs the processor at 100% when transferring data. And this is on a fast system, an Athlon XP 2800+ with a gig of high-speed low-latency DDR RAM and a fast hard drive. I dread to think how it would run on a more run-of-the-mill system as you would find in your average office.
Secondly, it crashes with ridiculous regularity. All you have to do is open the search/replace dialouge to stand a 50/50 chance of the program bombing. All kinds of other features will cause random crashes as well, and there are still a few bugs in the user interface layout that date back to the last release of Dreamweaver, which has been out a year now. This is quite simply unacceptible. Don't Macromedia beta-test their software anymore?
If this wasn't bad enough this program has been out months and still no sign of a patch. Releasing bug-ridden and lethargic software is bad enough but if you don't make every effort to fix the problems as soon as they becoem apparent then don't expect to hang onto a big userbase.
While the improved CSS layout and display is extremely welcome, there are still problems to work out. For example there doesn't seem to be any respect for CSS classes that can only be applied to certain elements. If you specify a style that you only want to apply to td elements, say, it will be made available anywhere. Also, the editor will not apply classes to certain types of tags such as the b tag. Instead it adds divs and spans all over the place that aren't necessary.
The FTP client hogs the CPU and doesn't run in it's own thread so you can't edit a file while uploading another one. What's more, it is missing features that would really be useful such as the ability to CHMOD remote directories or to list hidden files. If you try to delete a directory with a hidden file in it the hidden file will be missed and the directory that contains it will fail to delete. Little details like this really need to be fixed all through the software.
If not for the bugs, slugishness and overall impression of sloppy and unfinished programming I probably would have given this program 4 stars. As it is I don't think it even deserves 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need for your web development needs..., 14 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
It can honestly be said that there are few programs around which offer such a comprehensive package. From Flash to crating your own pictures, it leaves little out when you want to create your own web page. While Dreamweaver is slightly complicated in some areas, and the server side insecure, it does offer the ability to create all manner of website. Perhaps the best aspect is the ability to appeal to all users, novices and experts alike. The tutorials are detailed and easy to use, & a hidden extra is Coldfusion technology, an unknown and very underused network language. It is recommended to purchase this software, as for business users it will pay dividends in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gets better, 31 Dec. 2003
By 
A. Taylor "Inserach" (Preston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
Lots of new items and getting easier to use. No problem with the software as a previous review says. Have used it since Monday for many hours a day and had no problems at all.
If you are looking for a program to do web pages and are quite new then you cannot go wrong with this. Macromedia offer lots of lessons for free on their web site and some come with the program itself.
A must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 23 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
This is simply the best web editing kit that you can get. Far better than Adobe's attempt and miles ahead of Frontpage. Although the code can be come too much sometime, you can easily edit it, format it etc
I challenge anyone to find a complete web authoring solution such as Dreamweaver in another product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Used this is a Web design class, 20 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Dreamweaver MX 2004 (CD-ROM)
I used this program in a web design class last year and had a pretty hard time with it and just put it down to the computers in the site not having the processing power or Ram to run correctly. It constantly crashed and froze. I had to relink the pages all the time. A lot of money to spend when it does not work correctly and from the reviews here it was not the computers in the class room but the program itself. I have tried the demo on my own computer and it is plays up on my machine much like it did in the class room. It is nowhere near as flexible as Microsoft Word for the nature of my website so it means I'm having to create much of the stuff in Word turn them into Giff's and import them in. The fancier bits are OK for the more professional finish. A a lot of money try the demo first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamweaver MX 2004
Dreamweaver MX 2004 by Macromedia (Mac, Windows)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews