Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brody has done it again!
I was so excited about this album coming out and finally i got it! And let me tell you, it was defintely not a disappointment! This album has 10 fantastic songs on it (i'm not a fan of the closer Death Sex: 12 mins of unlistenable noise and the guitar screeching actaully hurt my ears! But lets not dwell on that.....)My favourites have got to be The Hunger, The Gallow Is...
Published on 22 Oct. 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tried too hard to make breakthrough
On their previous record, they had real success with City of Angels which also was far better than any other track on the album. The problem with this CD is that you get the impression they tried to emulate that track over and over. The group managed it twice and the rest of the album is made up of inferior versions. Their best record was their debut, which kicks this and...
Published on 8 Aug. 2010 by Tell It Like It Is


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious and accomplished classic - their finest moment, 17 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
Although Distillers purists will probably hate how highly produced this album sounds compared to their first two, this album sounds undoubtedly adept, being both musically and lyrically accomplished.

Everything ties together brilliantly, from the aggressive guitars to Brody Dalle's raw, weathered vocals. Brody sounds as if she has just smoked 50 cigarettes, but it gives her voice great charisma, and she is a pleasure to listen to, especially on the intense, energetic first three tracks of the album: 'Drain The Blood', 'Dismantle Me' and 'Die On A Rope'. Brody's vocals are also remarkable, a true force of nature on 'The Gallow Is God', 'Coral Fang' and most especially on 'The Hunger', one of the stand-out songs on the album, following the same quiet, loud, quiet formula that so many great songs have done before. It works tremendously well, with quiet acoustic guitars perfectly complimenting Brody's battered-sounding vocals. 'Hall Of Mirrors' is yet more high-octane punk, high on life and bubbling with energy, whilst 'Beat Your Heart Out' and 'Love Is Paranoid' are surprisingly catchy, but with the same high standards evident elsewhere on the album. The only real letdown on this album is 'DeathSex', ten minutes plus of what is basically a jamming session. Though unnecessary and superfluous, it doesn't ruin what is a fantastic album of emotion, fire, intensity and rawness.

I know of many people who say that this album soundtracked a certain period of their life - a sure sign of it's infectious, iconic sound. Now buy it and let it soundtrack your life, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Suprisingly Good Album, 17 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
After learning of leader singer Brody's detachment with punk heavyweight Tim Armstrong, I was dubious that the Distillers (and more specifically the renamed Ms. Dalle) would be able to produce another record that could even equal, never mind exceed the previous record, Sing Sing Death House. What has come out of the recording studio in Melbourne is the biggest advancement in the band's sound to be witnessed - a grungy, subtle-yet-sneering, wonderfully crafted punk album. If you're looking for the fast-paced loud sound of the previous two albums, then you may be disappointed, only to find that in it's place is an album which still contains all of the rage of the previous albums, and executes it with such style and finesse that you can listen to it back-toback several times without even beginning to feel tired of Brody's wonderful unique voice, the nicely layered guitars and fantastic rythmn. I personally don't agree with the way Brody has literally erased all evidence of Tim Armstrong being a very influential force of the Distillers - through their close relationship a musical direction was given not only to the Distillers (in one song on Sing Sing Death House, she talks about their relationship) but Brody herself even features on the recent album by Tim Armstrong's side-project band, the Transplants. To suddenly drive a steak through this family of bands (Operation Ivy, Rancid, Distillers, Lars & the Bastards, the Transplants) which has been together for many years I think will in the long run be damaging to both sides. Coral Fang, however much a gigantic leap away it is from the band's former glories, is truly a masterpiece and I have no doubt it will be recognised as such by all but Tim Armstrong himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CORAL FANG, 30 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
'Coral Fang' The Distillers third album is a great record along with Alkaline Trio's 'Good Mourning' & Rancids new classic 'Indestructible', the punk rock record of the year. This album is good enough to place silence all over everything that surrounds it. This is an exiting, accomplished enrgised and artistic record. Its most things you would have hoped it to be and more. Its a shame that the cd from which this review was formed doesnt feature a lyric sheet, & not just to mine for nuggets regarding break-ups either. There is actually a source of poetry in the Distiller's lyrics and it would be good to see how the band have improved lyricall since their last album 'Sing, Sing DeathHouse'.Included on the album are such song titles as 'Coral Fang', 'The Gallow is God' and 'Die On A Rope'.There are such snatched lyrics such as 'a sense of you is bliss' From The Hunger and 'baby you make my heart beat faster' from the song 'Beat Your Heart Out'. All of this sung by someone who has learnt to use her voice as a way of communication (vengeful, wounded sexy and wise) and as a weapon. Brody Dalle is the most convincing punk rock vocalist of the other sex in a genre starved of such things - sice X's Exene Cervenka & who like her sounds not like a girl, but a woman. The songs, unsuprisingly are fantastic. It may be that the Distillers lack the versatility to truly suprise in (terms of their sound which bears a form not a formula) but this does not by any means that they lack the ability to thrill. The playing is fantastic, all hidden shifts and twists, thrust and power the little things that make the difference between a decent punk rock band and a magnificent one.
'Coral Fang' has plenty surrounding it, most of which you probably already know about, it comes anchored with charisma, the type of charisma of a woman who is very good at the peripheral detail - the style, the type of things that make her a star. But really this is just gravy, because the Distiller's -or Brody Dalle shines brightest with a star that you should call talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars strong punk with commercial feel, 31 May 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
distillers aint punk as in the exploited,but they aint pop punk as in blink 182 for example,they are gritty punk with nice twisted chorus' that jangle around your head and the songs are more than two minute formula songs,they are layered and focused and convey raw emotion and i can state that they dont deserve the comparisons to hole as hole are a poor band,i guess that this is the final distillers album but it is their most accessible and memorable but still the most truthful and raw as brody was going through a marriage breakdown which influences the lyrics and spite that the album throws at you.

The album opens with drain the blood which is as fierce and yet sing along friendly as the distillers have ever transferred to cd,dismantle me follows and it will leave you feeling brodys anger in no uncertain terms,her gravel voice can make way to a more angelic tone at the drop of the hat,which suits the albums style perfectly,die on a rope is another song that will remain with you,as is coral fang itself,the hunger is a brooding ballad of sorts that is haunting and very reflective of whats going on in dalles world,hall of mirrors was the first song i heard of this and it blew my mouth of my face so i bought this and i have never regretted it.The remaining songs are all good as well so take from my review what you will,but if you leave with this cd in your paws then you will be happier for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album yet!!!!, 16 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
BUY THIS ALBUM!!! Coral Fang is a great album for anyone who hasn't heard the Distillers before, or for me, a HUGE fan who's waited AGES for this new offering. It is quite different to their first two albums, but its fantastic. It's very reminiscent of Hole, and I should imagine Brody's sick of the Courtney Love comparisons by now, but Hole are a great band too, so thats a compliment. Every track on this album is strong (with the exception of 'deathsex' followed by 10 minutes or so of feedback). They seem to have got more tuneful, and they have an older, wiser sound to their previous albums. The best tracks on Coral fang are 'Drain the Blood', Die on a Rope', 'The Gallows is God', 'Beat your heart Out' and 'Hall of Mirrors'. It's their best album yet in my opinion, Brody's voice is even better than ever, and the music is slicker than before. Even though they've signed to a major label, they don't sound like they've sold out at all. Die hard punk fans may not approve, as they have changed their direction, but they've gone from strength to strength to make what i think is one of the best albums i've ever bought. NME said it was a contender for the album of the year. It's no contender, its a winner. If you only buy one album this year make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A change in direction with a twist of the old, 20 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
Things change this much is true and can you really expect the same band to constantly churn out the same stuff all the time. WELL to my suprise what have people been saying about this album "Well it's not like the first two". Yes that much is true and yes the "Hardcore" punks are probably not gonna lap up this latest offering from Brody and her crue but this change could be for the better. I personally don't think that the constant comparisons to Courtney Love or Hole is fair cus at the end of the day the Distillers made this theirs. I'm no hardcore punk person but i really enjoyed their first two albums. Raw and gritty they showed a rebellious streak and a passionate flare. Coral fang is a softer approach to dealing with things. "The gallow is god and The hunger" are suprisingly interesting boasting Brody's vocal talents, which are suprisingly good. Of course the faster songs like "Dismantle me" and "Hall of mirriors" aint gonna hit the notes like "Red carpet and Rebellion" and "Sick of it all" but this is a movement that suprised me and pleased me. I shall close it off by saying that i don't know much about punk so you will have to excuse me if i have insulted any major fans. But this is a uplifting album with showed me yet another side to the ever talented Distillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The finest Rock albums in years., 17 April 2006
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
In retrospect im so pleased that Brody and The Distillers are compared so much to Courtney Love and Hole, because if there wasn't that strong connection, I never would've discovered this gem.

The album oozes cool punk attitude. Highlights include uptempo "Drain The Blood" which stands out with its infectous chorus and easily recognisable guitar riffs, angry "Die On A Rope" which is perhaps a little too short and more melodic "The Hunger" which resembles a Hole track so much that I had to research into it.

Brody's voice pierces on every track; sounding raw and full of rage, she fills the audience with an aesthetic that only Courtney Love could match. The guitar riffs make each track brilliant; hardcore punk and grunge riffs that somehow sound commercial without losing any cool or credibility.

A must buy for all fans of grunge, punk and Hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen for yourself..., 3 Oct. 2003
By 
Dan Soper (Truro, Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have only heard a few tracks of this album but it sounds absolutely brilliant. Brody's voice is amazing, she truly is a rock goddess!! You can listen to a few tracks exclusively on their website so you can listen to a few tracks and buy it when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Man, She's Good!, 21 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
"It sounds like really angry music, but he's got a really beautiful voice." said my ex-girlfriend after hearing Coral Fang for the first time. Forgiving her obvious mistake this is in fact a pretty accurate summary of where The Distillers are with their third album, and first venture onto a major label. Whilst some accuse them of veerng towards pop and of a shimmery over-production, I believe this is where the attraction lies. Just like Brody's ex-husband's band Rancid have proved with their new album- nowadays you can make punk with a killer tune and a bouncy chorus whilst, and this is the key, still remaining faithful to your brutally honest lyrics. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coral Fang review, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
B. Gandon (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] (Audio CD)
An awesome CD for the Distillers and a great swan song for what was to come with their split.

I really like this CD, it has great melody as well as retaining the punk sound from their previous efforts. Not sure if this is because they signed to a major label, but I think their change is for the better in Coral Fang.

Dismantle Me, Coral Fang and Beat Your Heart Out are some of the catchy sing-a-long punk anthems that will not leave your head for days. A truly great CD with diverse and dare I say it... Mature songwriting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve]
Coral Fang [Explicit Sleeve] by Distillers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews