Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enter the "Comfort" Zone
When you hear the term "independent women," chances are you'll think of Destiny's Child. But few in music are more deserving of the title than Meshell Ndegeocello, who artfully dodges trends and dances to the beat of her own groove. Since her debut "Plantation Lullabies," Ndegeocello has released a series of albums that specialize in deep-fried funk with probing lyrics...
Published on 22 July 2004 by Burjiz

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why ?
Why did Me'Shell change so drastically from her early albums, Plantation Lullabies and Peace Beyond Passion ? Why did she move from real acoustic music to simple rap music ? What happened to her with Bitter, and later with Cookie, and eventually with this one ? Why did she allow anyone to bias her talent in order to sell more albums ? I am so disappointed with her music...
Published on 9 Jan. 2004 by Arthur Liegeois


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enter the "Comfort" Zone, 22 July 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
When you hear the term "independent women," chances are you'll think of Destiny's Child. But few in music are more deserving of the title than Meshell Ndegeocello, who artfully dodges trends and dances to the beat of her own groove. Since her debut "Plantation Lullabies," Ndegeocello has released a series of albums that specialize in deep-fried funk with probing lyrics. She continues that trend on her fifth (and possibly final for Maverick/Warner Brothers) effort: "Comfort Woman." It's not as politically charged as 2002's "Cookie: The Anthropological Mixtape," nor does it ascend to the heights of the stunning "Peace Beyond Passion," but that doesn't mean "Comfort Woman" should be ignored. On her newest joint, Meshell serves up the usual platter of underground soul, with a dash of reggae and a Prince-inspired melange of rock and funk. The disc gets off to a rather slow burn during the first half, with gems like "Love Song #2" and "Come Smoke My Herb," which works mainly to its funky bassline and laid back beat. But things really do pick up on the second half, thanks to the reggaefied "Fellowship," and the sensual slow jam "Love Song #3," which recalls "Sign O the Times"-era Prince. Thematically, "Comfort Woman" is the polar opposite of a previous disc: "Bitter." The latter album was a crushing effort that dwelled on the pain of a breakup, while "Woman" is more upbeat, positive in tone, and has songs that explore the possibility of true love. In an age where prefabricated pop and soul is all the rage, it's good to know that there are talented people like Meshell who make music about passion and WITH passion. As with any of her releases, "Comfort Woman" is the work of a rare and underrated talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!, 12 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
It is quite tragic that Meshell and Prince have to date not worked together - this album showcases their similarities, but also just how accomplished an artist she is. For my ears and overall pleasure this CD overshadows both her earlier albums, Bitter and Cookie - it just about beats her second and stands alongside her debut, Plantation Lullabies. This is deep groove soul, laid back and classy - interesting lyrics interwoven with well crafted music of a melodic colour!
What makes Meshell standout is the unrushed manner of her music, it rolls over you and inside of you - and her bass playing is faultless. She builds groove around the basslines - and from there everything seems to feed. Her voice is sultry, but at the same time very melodic - and the licks that she comes off with lay much more comfortably alongside Maxwell/Prince than with the label owner, Madonna.
This isn't music that will ever be in the charts, thank God, it would only get corrupted - this is a real craftswoman. You'll swear that the Purple Guitarist turns up on track 7, and there are strong similarities to his opus, Sign of the Times on track 5, but so much of her work is refreshingly original, yet still evocative of many other masters of music, Marvin Gaye, Sly, Maxwell, and yet, she sounds so unique and so very very singularly Meshell. It;s weird!
As with the lyrics from the song on her first album, If that's Your Boyfriend - HE WASN'T LAST NIGHT - this has attitude with a funking bass! Love it - buy it, it should be in any good music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Flow Is Hypnotic, 15 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
Why can't more musicians, male and female, be like her?!!! Phenomenal and powerful this is. She gives you even more depth with this cd and is reminicent to one of my favorites by her "Bitter".
It seems like it takes its' cue from that but gives you more of a groove as bitter intentionally and beautifuly puts you in a slow groove trance.
She continues to give more of the same, which is a good thing, because there seems to be so much more she has to say, the way only she can.
She is a pioneer, an artist, and a treasure in a world of uninspiring musicians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outthere, 27 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
This is beautiful music. The rolling soundscapes put your mind into overdrive, Meshell is truely unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why ?, 9 Jan. 2004
By 
Arthur Liegeois (Colombes Cedex, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
Why did Me'Shell change so drastically from her early albums, Plantation Lullabies and Peace Beyond Passion ? Why did she move from real acoustic music to simple rap music ? What happened to her with Bitter, and later with Cookie, and eventually with this one ? Why did she allow anyone to bias her talent in order to sell more albums ? I am so disappointed with her music that I will no longer buy her records. Nevertheless, I still listen to her first two albums with so much pleasure, on and on, every week at least, and it's always a great moment ! So long, Me'Shell ! I wish you a great career with lots of money, if that's what you are seeking. But never forget that you have a tremendous talent !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars End this downward spiral, 12 Aug. 2004
By 
chorando (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comfort Woman (Audio CD)
I stumbled across Meshell singing rush over on a Marcus miller album. Mesmerised I pursued her and to my delight purchased her first two albums. Vocally she is as exciting as any singer i know.Though her range is not multi-octave, I found the quality and intention of her voice and ultimately her spirit honest and up front. Her music spoke to me and thrilled me. Both these albums had a musical breadth in the production values that supported her style perfectly. Her last three offerings have moved away from the first two albums and i find them uninspiring and they fail to engage me at all. What a shame. Her Talent is intact however and it still sparkles...but only occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comfort Woman
Comfort Woman by Meshell Ndegeocello (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews