Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best in this 'genre'
There's so much different stuff on constellation/kranky these days that it's impossible to lump it all under 'post-rock' (if it ever was possible). This is one of the best records I've heard in this so-called genre -- like Godspeed if the world wasn't about to end or Tortoise with soul. Warm, fuzzy and full of life and interesting (but not gratuitously odd) sounds. Play...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by C. Quinn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the sound of southern ontario
an album equally minimalistic and explorative with subtle crescendos and harmonic swells to soothe and warm through cold ontario winters. A fuller sound than their previous release, delicate jazz tinged and sprinkled with electronics -- a very good listen.
the sky at our feet
Published on 26 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best in this 'genre', 1 Mar 2005
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
There's so much different stuff on constellation/kranky these days that it's impossible to lump it all under 'post-rock' (if it ever was possible). This is one of the best records I've heard in this so-called genre -- like Godspeed if the world wasn't about to end or Tortoise with soul. Warm, fuzzy and full of life and interesting (but not gratuitously odd) sounds. Play it after F#A#oo if you want to feel better; do it the other way round if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album destroys, 25 May 2004
By 
D. Brookes "getpersonal" (Chorlton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
this is one of the most overlooked, under-rated LPs of all time. It's a total journey of a record - whilst originally intended as hree separate sides (hence the title) - it works on CD as a flowing, nine-track voyage, too. Opener 'Fredericia' will knock you on your ass opening with pulsing bass, lilting guitars and ending up with acid-fried horns, the greatest drummer in North America & all guns blazing and that's just the start. The rest of the album will reveal itself over a period of time - the sublime Miles-Davis-esque 'Ontario Plates', the mixing-board perfection of, errr, the track after it.
This record has totally changed my life. Yeah. That good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely sounds for a cold November day in Devon, 17 Nov 2003
By 
Michael Beeston "Mike Beeston" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
Every so often an album is released that grabs, wrenches and transports us to a better place and gives us a new perspective on music. For me, DMST did it with Goodbye Enemy Airship and Constellation have done it many times with Godspeed and ASMZ. This album is another Constellation release that does the same thing. The songs are rich in instrumentation and even more organic, varied and cinematic than their previous stuff. The result is a sublime and evocative album that cascades and drifts through the winter countryside before ending in joyful reflection. There must be something in the water they drink in Ontario and Quebec to produce so much top quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
The first album was jazzy, the second bluesy, the third almost ambient, and this is a synthesis of all three (a recurring number on this LP). Its split into three parts (three sides of vinyl), and each part is split into 3 tracks - 2 songs-proper and one filler, though by no means should you skip these. As the album title suggests there are three distinct moods, but it works together as a whole perfectly. There is a jubilant quality to some tracks (Ontario Plates has a great horn section at the end), and a slightly darker aspect to others (Horns of a rabbit, with the slightly sinister reverse guitar leading into a huge dub beat). What I love so much about the Do Makes is how every album in itself seems so perfect you wouldn't change a thing (the mixing, as ever, is perfect), and yet they progress so much with each effort.
Of course, there are the standard whammy-twangs and beautiful constellation art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the sound of southern ontario, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
an album equally minimalistic and explorative with subtle crescendos and harmonic swells to soothe and warm through cold ontario winters. A fuller sound than their previous release, delicate jazz tinged and sprinkled with electronics -- a very good listen.
the sky at our feet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing fourth album by one of post-rock's best bands, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
As much as I love Do Make Say Think, on buying this album I became slightly worried. Although the opening track is an instant classic in their catalogue, the remainder of the album is a re-thread of ideas that they have already explored on the previous two albums "Goodbye Enemy Airship..." and "& Yet & Yet". Leaving aside the point that Do Make Say Think may have run out of ideas, however, what dissapointed me most was the lack of passion and emotional expression in the remaining songs on the album. In short, they sound to me to be dead and lifeless, and resemble tunes that had previously been left on the cutting-room floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lacklustre effort, 23 Oct 2004
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
The least interesting of their four releases. They seem devoid of ideas, inspiration and a decent tune. A dull forgettable effort. If you are new to Do Make, try Enemy Airship or and yet and yet first. This one might be a grower but I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. C. P. Voyce "blatnoi1" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (Audio CD)
what more is there to say - just put it on and let it flow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn
Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn by Do Make Say Think (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews