Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of pop
Not many artists genuinely need two whole CDs to fit their best songs on. The Beatles, Stones, Bowie, Elton John, Elvis and dare I say Pet Shop Boys?
There are no fillers here. Every song is a top twenty hit. Every song has received considerable airplay and is instantly recognisable to anyone who has listened to the radio over the last twenty years.
The monster...
Published on 14 May 2004 by bobsy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 80's hits
I liked the music when I was young and on hearing it again I listen to the lyrics with much older ears. Some good & some less so. Maybe you should remember rather than revisit. One of the two CDs didn't play on my main CD player but to be honest I didn't care enough to request a replacement.
Published 14 months ago by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of pop, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
Not many artists genuinely need two whole CDs to fit their best songs on. The Beatles, Stones, Bowie, Elton John, Elvis and dare I say Pet Shop Boys?
There are no fillers here. Every song is a top twenty hit. Every song has received considerable airplay and is instantly recognisable to anyone who has listened to the radio over the last twenty years.
The monster hits from the 1980s and 1990s, West End Girls, It's A Sin, What Have I Done To Deserve This, Heart, Always On My Mind and Go West rub shoulders with recent hits Miracles and the wonderful Flamboyant. Other highlights are their masterwork Being Boring, the very funny Yesterday When I Was Mad, I Wouldn't Normally Do This Kind of Thing and So Hard as well as the beautiful Rent and Liberation. I could go on, but I'd just end up listing every track.
Pop Art is a must-buy for anyone who likes pop music. It will make you want to dance, it will make you laugh and some of it could even make you cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
CD1 is called 'Pop' and as you might expect, features PSB at their glorious, Top Of The Pops best. 'It's A Sin', 'Heart', 'I Wouldn't Normally Do That Kind Of Thing' and the mighty 'Always On My Mind' showcase their talent for a catchy hook, a cheerful singalong chorus and crisp production.
CD2, art, is the flipside; the beautiful melancholy that only the Pet Shop Boys can pull off in the dance areana. 'Jealousy' (the first song they ever wrote), 'Rent' and the tumultuous 'Somewhere', of which Mark Radcliffe once said, 'it's got everything and two kitchen sinks'.
There you have it: the definitive PSB collection, and you can even chose the CD that best matches your mood. How can you fail?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop art, 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
How many bands in the world would have trouble fitting all their UK Top 20 hits on two compact discs? A handful. Pet Shop Boys is one of the very few. In fact, counting the singles of theirs, that haven’t reached UK Top 20 can be done on only one finger.
This double-cd feature, contains 33 songs that did reach UK Top 20 plus two new songs, one of which is the new single Miracles, released in early november, that most likely will be their 34th hit. The songs are not presented in chronological order, but divided into Pop and Art. The difference is not obvious.
With Pet Shop Boys’ back-catalouge, how can you go wrong? You can’t of course. This is easily the best Greatest Hits compilation released in a very long time. Buy it for your self, and give everyone you know a copy for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PopFantastic!!, 7 Dec 2003
By 
Jeffrey Foster (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
The Boys have never achieved the success they so surely deserve here in the States but thank God the rest of the world has better taste! 20 years into their career and they release a song as beautiful and perfect as "Miracles" -- their talent only seems to be growing. I have been a fan since "West End Girls" and I will continue to be a fan. To anyone considering this collection -- run, don't walk to the nearest music outlet and snatch up a copy of PopArt. This is as good as it gets people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All their hits & more, 18 Mar 2008
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
This great two disc album from the Pet Shop Boys contains thirty five of the duos greatest songs. All of the Pet Shop Boys biggest hits, such as `Go West' and `West End Girls' are included as well as some that I hadn't heard before buying this album but they are all very enjoyable. My favourite song from the album though is the relatively resent `Flamboyant' and in all honesty it was this song that encouraged me to get the album in the first place. The one slight criticism of this album is that all of the truly great songs from the Pet Shop Boys could have easily fitted onto one CD rather but this is only a slight annoyance and even the songs presented here that are less that stunning are still a cut above much of the music released today. This album is great and would be of most interest to people who like the Pet Shop Boys but do not have own of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential purchase of your life, 22 Nov 2003
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
Someday somebody might might make an album as good as this. Perhaps.
The monster hits - West End Girls, It's A Sin, Always On My Mind et al - stand alongside the self-referential techno-pop of Yesterday When I Was Mad or the string tinged tragedy of I Don't Know What You Want But I Can't Give It Anymore as proof that sales do not equate with quality, especially in pop music - the most commercially driven of art forms.
The two new songs Miracles and Flamboyant show that Pet Shop Boys are as good as they ever were, it's just the pop landscape which has shifted.
One brilliant single may be considered fortunate.
Thirty odd looks like genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just keep getting better and better, 20 May 2004
By 
Chris Evans "Enzuigiri" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
And never has there been a better way to show this than this album.
I was thinking about what to write for this review but I dont think I can find the words. Melodramatic? Perhaps, but since West End Girls, the PSB have produced music which in my opinion 'means something'. Excellent musical quality, superb lyrics...they are a league apart in terms of the 'electronic' style and Neil Tennant has one of the worlds most identifiable voices (along with Darren Hayes of Savage Garden)
This album is a tremendous tribute to the band and allows you to watch their development. There are of course the widely known tunes but then there are others that are equally enjoyable that will be new to many.
I cannot recommend this highly enough and I am sure that it will create new fans aplenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary music simply doesn't get better - fact., 21 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. Mark R. Nolan "mark robert nolan" (Manchester City Centre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
For a general concensus on Pet Shop Boys see popjustice.com. They have quite simply voiced the views about Pet Shop Boys' indelible print on popular music by rating all their previous albums that mostly rate above a ten (out of ten,) whilst acknowledging that their recent output only appears to be, at worst, "as good as anything else ever". Well, if you have a double cd that includes 35 tracks - ALL of which managaed to get in to the UK (and most other countries') top 20 and yet they still have a reputation and respect as they maintain (and i am talking about being on a Kate Bush scale here,)then this is not bad going. The fact they are gay is completey inconsequential as their lyrics are, largely ambiguous, thereby giving the listener a feeling of identity like no other band, especially on views of loves, lost and lamented. Their humour is also a blessing without ever falling in to that Weird Al Yancovick category. Unfortunately they are till very underrated - in the UK for being so popular (which is never cool, is it?) and in the US (for not being Depeche Mode).They are still compared with bands like Erasure and New Order. Whilst New Order are also gods (but of rock and of history)and Erasure can knock out the occasional good tune (even if it is a little too sickening with Andy Bell singing it in a gold body stocking,)they are by vitue of their talent, wit, humour and sense of self deprecation, miles better than Erasure and half a mile better than New Order. There are not many bands who can say they have worked with Bowie, Dusty Springfield, Blur, Rammstein, Madonna, Robbie Williams and Liza Minnelli. Truly a great pop institution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and timely collection...., 12 July 2005
By 
John David Charles Hilton "Creative spark...." (Redcliffe, Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
This collection updates the earlier Discography and takes the story up to then end of 2003... And what a story it has been. Pet Shop Boys have been the most consistantly brilliant and intelligent pop groups of the last twenty years. There were many other pop groups during that period, but none can match PSB for wit, depth or melodic genius. This collection contains almost all of their singles. The obvious omissions are "How Can You Expect to be Taken Seriously" (a pity as it's very different to the album version - and there is room on the CDs for at least two more tracks), Was it Worth It? (likewise, it's not a classic but it was quite fun) and Absolutely Fabulous (no great loss, it's a novelty throwaway). It is difficult to pick out personal faves from this collection (so many great tracks) but for me You Only Tell Me..., It's a Sin, Being Boring, Red Letter Day, Liberation and I Wouldn't Normally Do This Kind of Thing are obvious stand outs... Signs are the PSB are past their peak now (that occurred with the brilliant Very album) but that doesn't affect this collection...
If you don't have the albums then this is a great value purchase that you will not regret.
If you do own the albums (as I do) then it is nice to have all of the hits in one place...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the best..., 19 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits (Audio CD)
Despite being advertised as a Japanese version, this is in fact the same configuration as the North American release of the PopArt CD with a bonus CD. There are several versions of this with minor variations and extra tracks, so be advised to check the listings carefully for the song-selections and tracks. This one includes a book (as have most PSB Japanese offerings) with lyrics and such, but that is the only difference.
The first of the discs of this 'Greatest Hits' for the Pet Shop Boys contains 17 tracks (Pop), and the second 18 tracks (Art). For those who are die-hard fans of the Pet Shop Boys, this is a must have, but, for the most part, those fans will find it is in many ways an already-have. The tracks are remastered, but given the high production qualities of most PSB discs generally, there isn't a great deal to be gained from this. There are two new songs, Miracles and Flamboyant (one on each disc), which are both wonderful (and, interestingly, the addition of two songs to the 'greatest hits' compilation matches their performance with Discography, which also had a 'best of' with two new tracks added).
There are the major songs and single releases from all previous albums, so this serves both as a retrospective but also as a handy all-in-one collection spanning the history of the Pet Shop Boys; from that perspective, if you were to have just one CD from them, this would the one. The songs are not in chronological release order (as Discography was), but rather seem almost randomly arranged; all songs but one from Discography are here, with an additional collection of tracks from the later album releases that reached the UK top 20. The division between 'Pop' and 'Art' is subtle, and any lifelong fan will have his or her own impressions as to which songs should fit into which category. The 'Pop' side is more disco/dance music, whereas the 'Art' side is a little more sombre, and the lyrics a little more complex. On the other hand, some songs, such as 'Love comes quickly' would easily qualify for either designation.
This collection represents more than 20 years work on the part of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe. For the first several years of that career, they were famous world-wide, and quite a staple in the dance clubs and video programming in America and elsewhere. The first singles collection 'Discography' represented the beginning of the decline of 80s style dance music in America, but the music descended from this type remained strongly popular throughout the rest of the world, as the sold-out concert tours of the Pet Shop Boys everywhere except North America attests to. Many of the songs on this 'Pop-Art' collection will therefore be new to audiences whose interest in the Pet Shop Boys ended the hits from the 'Behaviour' era.
The bonus disc offers remixes of songs from the other discs, and tracks from B-sides and other tracks from the 'major' albums.
Pop-Art is a must-have for anyone who likes dance music, disco, electronic music, 80s music, the Pet Shop Boys, or who wants to have a complete music collection, but only one version is likely necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits
Pop Art: Pet Shop Boys - The Hits by Pet Shop Boys (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews