Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite
This was the first of my collection, recommended by a friend much younger than myself. After spending the best part of 20 quid having not heard of a single track I was very pleasantly suprised. i have added another 6 or 7 to my CD collection since, but can't seem to find another Gem like this
Very varied, a real mixture of tracks and uplifting
Published on 29 Oct 2005

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
have not played it yet but there is a big patch of scratches on the disc. I am not happy to put it on my cd player
as it may cause damage. I will try it when I get back to Spain which is in a weeks time. as for the actual content,
I have not heard it yet.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs J Grout


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite, 29 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
This was the first of my collection, recommended by a friend much younger than myself. After spending the best part of 20 quid having not heard of a single track I was very pleasantly suprised. i have added another 6 or 7 to my CD collection since, but can't seem to find another Gem like this
Very varied, a real mixture of tracks and uplifting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CD1 hit and CD2 miss, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
Being a chillout compilation, CD1 does the job perfectly. Close your eyes and you could almost feel yourself by the pool in Bali... CD2 though is rather a collection of pop songs. They are fine individually but don't think they manage to create the atmosphere the first CD does. CD1 justifies the purchase enough in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled and awesome, 30 Jun 2004
By 
Mr Peter Travella (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a very very very good album. If you are into chillout, particualrly cafe then this is very well worth buying. It has something for everyone and I personally enjoyed every single track. Padilla is a genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 16 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
If you like cafe del mar or have even just heard a little of the stuff and like the style. Then this is all you need. Great tunes also a perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hedonism ? Indeed it is, was and always will be............., 16 Sep 2003
By 
Jon Pettifer (Northwood, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
Hedonism ? Indeed it is, was and always will be.............this is a must for all you white isle fanatics scattered far and wide.
What a fantastic mix of mood, haunting vibe and eclectic essence a must have for all those who have been there, seen it, lived it, clapped the sun set and winced at the fire breathers.
See you all next summer - in the meantime enter this on your MP3 playlist, press play, close your eyes and dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class act, 6 Oct 2003
By 
rugle hens (that cafe on the beach) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
beautiful moods great variety, and it's got MY favorites- mumbai orchestra and tattouage bleu. peace and love and a merry xmas to keep you warm till next summerbliss:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
By 
Lorna Goodwin (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
have not played it yet but there is a big patch of scratches on the disc. I am not happy to put it on my cd player
as it may cause damage. I will try it when I get back to Spain which is in a weeks time. as for the actual content,
I have not heard it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Balearic blandness., 10 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla (Audio CD)
After the outstanding diversity and imagination of the first few Cafe Del Mar collections (picked by Jose Padilla), the series has since become dull, playing it safe with rather pedestrian gentle nodding chill out music your parents would enjoy.
It's a shame because it has lost the "anything goes" balearic spirit which made the cafe (and island) so popular in the first place.
Sadly this "best of" follows suit.
There are a few highlights - The John Martyn, Bush, Lamb and AMCA tracks still sounding good- whilst the ubiquitous smokebelch ticks the chillout classics box once again,
but the rest are best forgotten- which sadly is all too easy to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla
The Best of Cafe Del Mar: Compiled By Jose Padilla by Jose Padilla (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews