Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Boxed Collection of the film Genre at it's BEST!
Psycho - a film that the mere mention of will send shivers down anyone who appreciates the genre and the wonders of Hitchcock. I have grown-up with the film being constantly referenced and it's one of those films where you see spoofs continually for it. I am ashamed to say now that I was one of those people where the film just "passes-by", I hadn't seen the film and...
Published on 9 July 2010 by A. WILLIAMS

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The law of diminishing returns...
Let's get this straight right from the beginning. Psycho is one of THE defining horror movies that was ever made. It in every way justifies its reputation and as such can only be described as a must see/own movie. So the fact that it's in this box set is no recommendation of the product as a whole given how ridiculously cheap it can be purchased on it's own. The only...
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Boxed Collection of the film Genre at it's BEST!, 9 July 2010
By 
A. WILLIAMS (Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Psycho - a film that the mere mention of will send shivers down anyone who appreciates the genre and the wonders of Hitchcock. I have grown-up with the film being constantly referenced and it's one of those films where you see spoofs continually for it. I am ashamed to say now that I was one of those people where the film just "passes-by", I hadn't seen the film and hadn't even heard of Psycho II, III or IIII - they are all amazing. This review is just talking about the basic aspects of actual box set, which I thought didn't fail, I must say that Anthony Perkins is a wonderful Norman Baites, and when he's onscreen there's not a moment that disappoints.

Overall, a fantastic film, the type that EVERYONE should have in the collection; Love Horror? Get it! Love Classic Cinema at it's best? Get it! I'm so glad I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you ask for?, 30 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent opportunity to get all four Psycho movies in one box. The first movie of course features the infamous shower scene, the subject of much subsequent parody, although too many focus on the climax of his scene; the lead up, in which the audience can see the killer outside the shower curtain as a silhouette, and the aftermath, with the rotating, drawn out shot of the victim, are both very well done. Some good psychological stuff with Marion Crane's journey prior to her arrival at the Bates Motel as well. Needless to say, the first movie is a masterpiece, but the other three are fair movies in their own right, particularly the second. While they lack some of the insight and directorial skills of the first film, they remain enjoyable, often with moments of black or unintentional humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC HORROR SLASHERS..", 8 Mar. 2015
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
PSYCHO 2
I'm a massive fan of this movie particular, an amazing psycho movie and for me the best one too, mainly this is because Anthony Perkins is such an amazing actor, his performance alone makes it so good to watch, this sequel takes place 22 years after the original, Norman is released back into the public, makes sense as it was approx 22 years since the original when this was made, he goes back to his famous motel and that's when the trouble starts up all over again, the story takes a different twist this time with characters from the past messing with Norman to try and push him over the edge again so he goes back to jail, this really is a great movie, Anthony Perkins is the best actor to ever play a character like this in a movie even until now, great believable performance, the support cast is good too, Meg Tilly is great, the movie has its bloody moments too of course which look good, proper practical effects, the soundtrack score is very creepy and fitting, the movie has a great ending too very unforgettable, a must for the cult horror psycho movie collection.

The region 1 USA DVD has a good picture. No features, 1hr-53mins, 1983.
The UK DVD from the 1-4 box set has no features either, decent picture quality. same uncut as import.

PSYCHO 3
This may not be as good a sequel as part 2 but I still love it, Norman bates is back played by the awesome Anthony Perkins who brings so much life into this character making him so believable, this time the story continues with Norman doing up his motel and getting on with his life, then a mysterious girl walks into his life bringing up memories from the past and Normans inner battle with his mother starts over again with a series of brutal stabbings! Once again there's plenty of cool bloody kills, not too many as before but good ones none the less, the cast is all good with a few familiar faces like Jeff Fahey co-starring, Anthony Perkins once again like I said steals the show with his creepy and eccentric portrayal of a psycho killer, he certainly is the best movie psycho of all time, the movie alone is worth watching for him, its also directed by Perkins who I think did a good job, its certainly a breath of fresh air compared to most 80's slashers, once again a good creepy soundtrack score, worth checking out if your a cult 80's psycho slasher fan.

The region 1 USA DVD has a decent picture quality, 1hr-33mins, no special features. 1986.
The UK DVD from the 1-4 box set has a same quality picture and is the same uncut version, no features either.

PSYCHO 4
Norman is back for more, this time he's out of the hospital and engaged to a nurse that was looking after him, he phones into a radio chat show about boys that kill their mums, he tells them he must kill again, desperate to try and help him they ask him about his past and then we get various flashbacks to his youth explain his relationship with his mother, I as a fan really love this sequel, its a great movie, not as good as parts 2 and 3 but still really worth checking out, this is a good insight into his younger years, this for me is the best story of his youth as its told by Norman (Anthony Perkins) himself, Perkins was a fantastic actor and played the best on screen psycho there has ever been, its a shame this was his last movie as Norman Bates, if your a big fan this movie is still really worth checking out, it gets better with age, Perkins performance as Norman is gold dust no matter what, it was by this point in the franchise the best way to go I think to make something a little different, it ends on a good closing scene too.

UK DVD set has a decent picture, 96-mins, uncut (blood and boobs) 1990. no features.

I Didn't review the original as im only a fan of the later 3 sequels, (RIP Anthony Perkins, a fantastic horror icon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psycho-Vance, 7 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho" is undoubtedly the foundation of most if not all our modern day horror suspense films, and although it has influenced decades of horror's killers slashing pretty young objects, not that many characters in Hitchcock's ingenious film actually die. Hitchcock's perfection in direction was in his ability to frighten without having gore present but all who see this movie will agree that Hitchcock's 1960 movie redefined horror movies. Psycho's shot in black and white but don't let that put you off as Hitchcock could not of emphasized the darkness and atmosphere with the films central character Norman Bates if it was shot in color. Psycho is iconic due to the films nightmarish disturbing themes, quotable dialogue, perfect screenplay , the films shocking twist and Hitchcock's brilliant directing.

Psycho centers its themes on human vulnerability, betrayal, levels of corruption and madness making all of the above present in realistic ways throughout the movie. Psycho surprises the audience by breaking major film rules by killing off its central character mid movie. Hitchcock makes use of Macguffins throughout the movie such as $40,000 cash that Marion (Central Character)steals so that the plot and characterization of the movie can be propelled.
The soundtrack of the movie is perfect due to the only composition being that of strings. It really creates the image of helplessness and gives strong impressions of screeching.
Overall Psycho is the masterpiece of horrors in the film industry and Hitchcock's direction is flawless.
5/5 Definitely a must see for movie buffs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars norman loves his mother...., 26 Oct. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
this boxset is great value has it contains not only the original hitchcock classic but 3 subsequent sequels. The character of norman bates and is obsession with his dead mother which leads him to murder in her guise- is horror legend. The plot is great and if a little dated at times are great to watch. The case is box standard and no frills but at this price is a bargain and worth a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as they come!, 8 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Psycho is by far a genre definig series.It has suspense,
atmosphere and an outstanding and terrifying performance
by the late Anthony Perkins as the muderous Norman Bates.

This 4 disc set begins with the original movie and through
the two sequels continues the story.the fourth movie is
mainly a look back at Normans childhood and what compelled
him to kill.With the exception of the last two films,Psycho
and Psycho II are terrifying.The 2nd especially.Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all Psycho fans!, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Here we have a nicely packaged collection of the four 'Psycho' movies at an affordable price, therefore enabling you to follow the story of murderer Norman Bates from start to finish - what more could you ask for?

The films:
'Psycho' (1960): The original black and white and undeniably the best, this is by far the greatest film in the collection. With this, Alfred Hitchock made an all-time classic. Who could forget the legendary and much spoofed scene in the shower? If you enjoy suspenseful films, this classic horror is second to none! (includes bonus features) 5/5

'Psycho II' (1983): This is a surprisingly worthy sequel. No movie will ever beat the Hitchock film, but if there ever was a sequel that was in with a chance - this is it. It's another gripping story that me glued to the screen from start to finish. It also has one of those endings where you just know that there is going to be another sequel. 4.5/5

'Psycho III' (1986): I have read many mixed reviews for this one. Personally, I really like it and have watched it many times. This third installment in the series carries on from where the previous left off, is full of black humour and lots of 80's slasher elements are added. A good film worth seeing. 4/5

'Psycho IV: The Beginning' (1990): This made for television movie really doesn't get my vote at all. Some people seem to like it but I found it rather poor. Here we hear Norman Bates calling in on a radio station to contribute to the subject of "Why boys kill their mothers?" He talks about his early experiences and his fractured childhood. We also find out that he has a pregnant wife now and is scared that the baby will grow-up to be like him. I watched it twice and just couldn't get into it. Still, it is good to have on the set for completeness sake. 2/5

Thankfully, this release omits the poor 1998 remake of 'Psycho' (some things just can't be beaten).

The late Anthony Perkins is consistently fantastic as the crazed Norman Bates in all four of these movies. It's a brilliant boxset and a must for all fans of horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The law of diminishing returns..., 17 Oct. 2011
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Let's get this straight right from the beginning. Psycho is one of THE defining horror movies that was ever made. It in every way justifies its reputation and as such can only be described as a must see/own movie. So the fact that it's in this box set is no recommendation of the product as a whole given how ridiculously cheap it can be purchased on it's own. The only question is whether or not the other three Psycho movies are enough to justify the outlay here.

I'll be honest. Pretty much the last thing I would say was ever needed in the history of cinema was a sequel to Psycho, never mind another three, but whilst it cannot be anything other than superfluous in the shadow of the master, 1983's Psycho II is far from a terrible movie. Nodding to the fact that the original was about much more than purely the shocks, a credible (almost serious) story is weaved around a suitably fetching performance from Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates who after 22 years in an asylum is released and allowed to return home, over the objections of another Psycho original Vera Miles (in another good turn) as Lila Loomis - sister of one of his original victims. Of course it seems as if Norman is fully cured but as he starts to find notes signed by Mother, alongside phone calls from her and even a sighting it's clear that this can't remain the case for long. Director Richard Franklin cleverly apes Hitchcock's original by emphasising the sympathetic side of Bates who can never quite escape his past. Naturally the persecution of those that cannot forgive has the obvious effect and this undoes much of the good work of the movie in the closing segments. Overall though, Psycho II is a remarkably decent film.

Which is more than can be said about Psycho III. Directed by Perkins himself, this time Norman Bates is still at the desk at the Bates Motel, with an assistant and a new long-term tenant, (whose name, Maureen Coyle, and initials must have been plucked out of thin air). Of course seeing Perkins direct himself in the role that typecast/ruined his career promises some artistic tension and parallels between the love/hate relationship Perkins must have had with the character avail themselves during the movie with Perkins himself seemingly unable to decide whether he views Bates with affection or contempt. Hitchcock obsessive's may find the numerous nods to the Master of Suspense amusing (witness the opening scenes where a nun is all set to jump from a church bell tower, for instance) but many more, I suspect, will soon grow tired of it all.

By the time we get to Psycho IV, we're firmly in "made for cable TV territory" and it's "prequel" time as Norman Bates is this time a man in steady relationship who happens to call in to a radio talk show where the main topic of discussion in matricide. The movie mainly explores Norman's origins and the reasons behind his years of madness and if we're being honest it does an "ok" job of it, without ever convincing this viewer, at least, that there was any point in making it at all.

Whilst watching these movies all I could really bring to mind was a quote from Alfred Hitchcock when discussing Rear Window and he was asked if he thought the Grace Kelly and James Stewart characters got married after the conclusion of the film. His answer was something along the lines of him never having considered that or being interested in "what happened next". And that's how I feel about the Psycho sequels. II is far better than it has any right to be whilst III and IV's merits are few and far between yet still make for passable entertainment. The problem is that none of them create a situation where we are better for having seen them, nor do they particularly work as movies in their own right. I'll give all three sequels one thing though, I'd rather watch them than Gus Van Sant's pathetic "shot-for-shot" remake of the original. Anthony Perkins' Norman Bates is infinitely more watchable that Vince Vaughn's ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psycho collection., 30 April 2013
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of movies is a good set to have if you like your horror movies without tones of blood and gore and high on chills and tension, as the real evil is human nature. Coming in an attractive four-way case, the discs are pleasing to the eye - a good-looking set for anyone interested in Horror films and DVD boxsets. The first film Psycho (1960) being an obvious black and white classic done by the master of suspense Alfred Hitchcock. The sequels were rather interesting as well but none of them come close to the original. The first disc Psycho 1960 is the only one that has special features which is kind of disappointing as I wanted to know more about the sequels.

Psycho in 1960, considered by many to be a masterpiece, the story of a boy and his over-protective mother who manage the Bates Motel and a murderous secret that bonds them. The film was based on the novel psycho written by Robert Bloch who was inspired by real life serial killer Ed Gien. In a way Psycho redefined the horror genre and you could say that it was the very first slasher film. Anthony Perkins is absolutely perfect as Norman Bates, Anthony Perkins was an actor who could play anything. His range was enormous, as he shows in the film. His Norman Bates shows a man that appears to be in complete control of himself. We watch him as he begins to unravel when confronted first by a detective called Arbogast, and then by Sam Loomis. Mr. Perkins' performance is one of the best he ever gave in his film career.

Janet Leigh who plays Marion Crane is perfect as the small would be criminal who happens to be in the wrong place, at the wrong time. It's a tribute to Ms. Leigh's talent that she underplays Marion because she is battling with her own conscience as she realizes the enormity of what she has done. Alas, she was not going to make good on her resolve. Extra Features: The making of Psycho, trailers, shower scene footage, newsreel footage and production photos.

Psycho II is a great horror sequel. Not only is it entertaining, it has many wonderful twists and turns through out which make it even more enjoyable. Anthony Perkins, Vera Miles, Robert Loggia and Meg Tilly are all great and turn in very good performances. Vera Miles turns in a very eccentric performance, it shows how much she hates Norman. Anthony Perkins makes the viewer feel sorry for him as he slowly becomes confused again. Meg Tilly has a lot of charm and Robert Loggia is very good as the very caring Doctor. It's a well done thrill- ride, highly entertaining and full of suspense with only a bit of gore and nudity since it is an 80's slasher film, thanks to director Franklin. As far as horror sequels go I didn't think it was as bad as some critics have said.

Psycho 3 is by far my fave of the series, this one has a bit more going on than last time. There's also a lot of throwbacks to the original, like Leigh look-a-like Scarwid getting Bates curious and in love, Maxwell investigating Perkins kind of like Balsam in the first, and a stabbing scene very similar to the infamous shower scene only alot more bloodier and gory this time, and the exception being this times its in a phone booth. You wouldn't know Perkins directed with it looking pretty much like any movie you've ever seen with capable photography. And as in the classic part 1, he has it end with his wacko grin glaring up at us. Of course.

Psycho IV is a continuation of the Bates Family history. For the most part it's a prequel to the original 1960 film. We get to see Norman functioning like a normal person. He has a new house and a wife. It's him calling into a radio show to tell his life story that causes him to become unhinged. Anthony Perkins and Olivia Hussey save this movie from being a total letdown. Their performances are top notch. Psycho IV doesn't go overboard with blood, we only see Norman kill I think one or two people in his flashback to growing up. I did like that the makers of this one added to the fact that Norman did kill people before Marion Crane was attacked in the famous shower scene. Psycho IV is a prequel to the 1960 film, and adds a lot to the already twisted back story of the Bates clan. It's a good watch, but the ending is pretty weak. However only true "Psycho" fans will be interested in the back story of Norman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars norman loves his mother, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant boxset of a classic film series,the sequels live up to the original for scares & frights.mr perkins is chilling as norman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD]
Psycho 1 - 4 Box Set [DVD] by Mick Garris (DVD - 2011)
Used & New from: £17.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews