Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bette Midler's enjoyable tribute album to Rosemary Clooney, 1 Oct 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
When Rosemary Clooney passed away last year I did not think that she received the consideration due her musical career. Maybe it was because her initial reputation was made on the strength of recordings that were clearly novelty songs. But in terms of female jazz singers from that period, and I would maintain that ultimately Clooney was a jazz vocalist, she was a superb lyrical interpreter, whose phrasing displayed an intelligence that few of her contemporaries could match. One result of this tribute album from Bette Midler and producer Barry Manilow is that a lot of people are going to be inspired to go back and listen to Rosemary Clooney's original recordings; that is certainly the effect it had on me.
"Bette Midler Sings the Rosemary Clooney Songbook" is Midler's tribute to the late singer and those expecting to hear the Divine Miss M here might face some disappointment. I have seen Midler in concert and for my money there is no performer on the face of the earth that puts on a show like she does. However, few songs in the Clooney "songbook" play to Midler's best known strengths ("Mambo Italiano" would be the exception that proves the rule in this case). That is why the key track on this album is "Come On-A My House," which represents the best example of what Middler is trying to do on this album, with "Hey There" and "In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening" in a similar vein. Picking Linda Ronstadt for the duet of "Sisters" is an interesting choice, but that song is always going to be fun. The net result is a pleasant mix of tunes and a fitting tribute to Clooney. Few of Midler's fans will consider this her best album, but it a much stronger effort than we have seen recently and quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this album, 16 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Paul Brown "bond62" (Camb UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
If you've ever liked Bette Midler singing voice you'd love this great album.
I have to say I don't know much about the late Rosemary clooney but the songs that Barry+Bette picked from her songs are so great, the sound of them and it really shows Bette lovely voice.
good mixed of uptemp text to powerfull
ballads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a team!, 8 Sep 2006
By 
G. Wylie "george11171" (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
Midler and Manilow tweak the very most out of Clooney's old numbers.

Rosemary would have been delighted with the end results of this collaboration of her hit songs.

This is a must buy album for any fan of Rosemary Clooney numbers.

Midler and Manilow make great music together. Pure Magic!

Buy and listen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is lovely just to listen too and chill with. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
Bought for my dad as a gift and he loves it!

Have the cd myself and have to say its Bette at her best, produced to perfection by Mr Manilow!
Huge Rosemary Clooney fan so a great cd if you like either lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bette is the Best, 25 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
This world would surely be a sadder place without our Divine Miss M. She actually channels Rosemary Clooney a few times on this CD (particularly on "Hey There".) Would that Bette would sing and record the songbook of EVERY important female recording artist. Her humor, her edge, her skill in vocalizing emotion, my, my, my. Her ongoing collaboration with the inestimable Barry Manilow is so satisfying, so gratifying. Together they do Rosemary proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where did the babys dimple go ?, 14 April 2009
By 
Mr. M. Harkin "H106 Brooke Park" (Derry-N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
excellent tribute to the great Rosemary Clooney by the incomparable Bette ably assisted by Barry Manilow and Linda Ronstadt.I was just a wee bit disappointed however that her novelty hit about the baby's dimple was omitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bette Midler does a great job., 24 July 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Mills (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook (Audio CD)
fabulous, i listen to this cd over and over again. i know all the songs as my mother was a big rosemary clooney fan. Bette Midler does a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook
Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook by Rosemary Clooney (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews