Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High on diesel and gasoline
Admitting that I consider Suede something of a solid singles band, rather than being a big fan, I nevertheless bought the album on the strength of the singles. And if you like the singles it won't let you down. Hence the title "Singles", I suppose.
The album opens with the blistering, anthemic The Beautiful Ones, and follows with Animal Nitrate, for my money the...
Published on 26 Nov 2003 by jc1981

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The next life...
And so it came to pass- Suede have finally decided to call it a day. 'Singles' will be the final Suede album and the two new songs on here- 'Attitude' and 'Love The Way You Love'- are the last ever tracks they will release.
The Suede story is actually a quite tragic one, both from their own personal lives (illness, drug addiction, arguments- you name it, it happened...
Published on 20 Dec 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High on diesel and gasoline, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Admitting that I consider Suede something of a solid singles band, rather than being a big fan, I nevertheless bought the album on the strength of the singles. And if you like the singles it won't let you down. Hence the title "Singles", I suppose.
The album opens with the blistering, anthemic The Beautiful Ones, and follows with Animal Nitrate, for my money the best two tracks on the album. That's not to say that it goes downhill from there, but these are without doubt the standout tracks. The seedy, whining guitarwork, and gender-bending vocals on tracks such as The Drowners is a testament to the quality of Butler and Anderson as a lyrical and musical team.
The departure of Butler has led the band to explore new territory, writing less anthemic tunes, but still able to craft some fine music, as Everything Will Flow, and She's In Fashion prove. The Head Music album, indeed, was in my view chronically under-rated, the sound of a band who will probably never reach their peak of yore, but are still able to make accomplished music.
The album must surely appeal to anyone with a casual interest in the band, like myself, and the two songs will make it a worthy purchase for the more dedicated fans. Knowing and loving the bulk of the singles before I bought it, I'm well glad I spent my hard earned on it, and would encourage others to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Bands Of The 90's!, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Despite their virtually being ignored in Britpop documentary "Live Forever", Suede played an enormous part in that movement. With a huge loyal fanbase their unique style has captivated those listening to their records for years.
Now a "Singles" collection arrives, and contains, if not everything a Suede fan needs, a good selection for 90's pop fans. Special mention must go to the singles from the first three albums, as although their last two have been perfectly good, they are not the classics that "Suede", "Dog Man Star" and "Coming Up" were.
The only odd thing about this collection is that it is largely paralled by a DVD called "Lost In TV" released a few years ago, which doesn't feature anything from the last album, but is probably a better product for fans.
Special mention must be given to the fact that a band as dependant on their guitarist as early Suede were managed to change guitarists and still produce an album like "Coming Up".
To entice fans we have two so-so new tracks and the infamous "Stay Together" now disowned by the band. Don't tell Brett I said this, but it's actually pretty good!
This is the third of the Britpop big four's best of albums, with Blur and Pulp already having put them out, that only leaves Oasis...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suede - Singles., 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Suede emerged to a flurry of press in the early nineties replete with their own “cellophane sounds” name checking everyone from JG Ballard, to the Smiths and David Bowie. Brett Anderson obsession with the low rent glamour of suburbia was welded to some of the most expansive guitar work of the decade from Bernard Butler. In those early years Suede were glorious and imperious, they were one of the best song-writing partnerships to emerge since Morrissey and Marr themselves. This collection highlights that early period, from the sublime suburban glam of “Metal Mickey” to the sexual baiting of “Animal Nitrate” with its repeated refrain of “What does it take to turn you on?” Ballads are also here the heart-stopping and beautiful “The Wild Ones” being a highlight. The zenith of the Butler Anderson songwriting partnership comes on the skyscrapingly brilliant “Stay together” with its whirling guitar solos and Anderson’s majestic vocal.
Butler’s departure left a very different band to remerge in the Britpop years, streamlined and slimmed down(Richard Oake's now on guitar's) Suede were now stripped of their mystique, but producing glam pop for the easy to use generation. The highlight of this period was the gloriously anthemic “Trash” with its communally identifying chorus line of “We’re trash you and me / We’re the lovers on the streets the litter on the breeze” in many ways this is Suede’s Heroe’s the ultimate statement of hope through struggle.
Head Music’s singles were characterised by an increasingly electronic palette from the excellent “Electricity” to the beautiful shuffle of “ Everything will flow.” Unfortunately recently this new suede sound came at a price in many places their lyrics became lazy on tracks like “positivity” with its rhyming dictionary verses and self parodying chorus. Of the two “new tracks” Attitude stands out sounding, as it does like a clipped Sneaker Pimps fronted by Mr David Bowie.
So this singles collection covers, each section of the career of Suede whilst maybe pointing the way for the future. Overall this is a insatiable collection of killer singles that shows the best of one of Britain’s truly great bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brettpop Revisited, 23 Aug 2004
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
When Suede emerged in 1992, they did it with a sense of grace and arrogance unrivalled since The S****s. This was because they quite simply were better than the rest. They knew it, and soon would the world; 'Singles' documents the very birth of Britpop in 1993 up to its ugly demise at the hands of The S*****s (you know who I'm talking about.)
Yes, in the days before Julian Casablancas, Suede were hot stuff. Here you get the singles from the classic Bernard Butler era, in all their tarnished glory, from the spunk-stained 'The Drowners' to the tearsoaked pomp of 'Stay Together' (regrettabley not in its entirety, plus it should have closed this record.) The album is not in chronological order, and students of the Suede Story will nod and wink at this revelation. Quality, you see.
Last album 'A New Morning' is represented here by the dire 'Positivity' and the bland 'Obsessions'; had it been released in 2001 and produced by Tony Hoffer, it would probably have been the Dog Man Star 2 it was promised to be. The 'Head Music' era is represented by some classic electrotrash singles, a reminder of Suede at their latter-day moronic high, while 'Coming Up' also shows its face with its 476 singles, all of which were extremely good.
The influences are and always were obvious; Bowie, The Smiths, Adam & the Ants, T Rex, Sex Pistols, Queen, Scott Walker, etc. But Suede, for all the flak they recieved, were (as Peaches commented accurately a couple of years back) always more avant-guarde than their hero-worshipping peers.
A reunion release from Brett and Bernard is imminent, but in the meantime, enjoy the last days of Summer with the last intelligent pop act of the 90s. For what it's worth, last single 'Attitude' was a fantastic modern-sounding electro-reggae hybrid, marred only by Brett's pedestrian wordplay. And 'Love the Way You Love' is a fairly mindless electropunk thrash that splits opinion the way producers used to split bands (arf!) But ignore this, and I dare you not to thrash around maniacally to the sound of 'Animal Nitrate'. Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absence makes the heart grow fonder, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Having seen suede a few times in the 1990,s and sort of drifting in and out of there music i was saddened when i heard they were calling it a day and managed to see them at Bristol on the final tour. Actually seeing the band with their own show and not at a festival certainly changed my view on their music. Playing most of the songs from the singles cd that night made me realise what a b****y good band they were. Inovators of a differant sound, writing style and performance they most certainly were. Dissapointing they were not. I have seen hundreds of shows from many differant bands over the years and this cd is a great representation of Suede the band and a great advert for british music of the 1990,s and still sounds amazingly fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I like them at the time?, 19 July 2007
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I was never in to Suede at the time, I dismissed them as playing up the MM/NME and something built up by the fawning press. (I did side with Suede on the issue with mockneys Blur) I was a Manic Street Preachers fan, that was that.

I bought this CD on a whim that I should at least give them the chance I didn't give them at the time, I quite liked one or two tracks so why not?

Boy did I make a mistake, Suede, I was wrong.
I adore this collection and it's been a regular player on my CD for the last 18 months.

Catchy, involved melodies, dark, beautiful and shiny. Delivered with more feeling for it's subject matter than say Pulp, it draws you in to an all too familiar world (for some of us). Great band, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suede in crowd pleasing shocker!!!, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Dr. James E. Brown "flashbob" (kidderminster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
too effete for oasis fans, not quirky enough for pulp fans and lets face it, blur fans were never gonna get on board......
suede were [and remain to be] misfits of the britpop movement, a band and fanbase of outsiders. unfortunately all the credit for the re-ignition of british music went to other artists, but suede were in the vanguard with their first two albums, a mix of crashing guitar riffs and daring, androgynous lyrics.
all the singles taken from this era suede [the butler years] are instant classics, regardless of whether the band have since disowned them or not, with particular class being displayed by 'metal mickey' and 'the wild ones' [easily the best 'suede' single]. the next two albums [coming up and head music] were heavily influenced by incumbent keyboardist neil codling, and were surprisingly good, with 'coming up' producing the groups most commercially succesful moments, a whopping 5 top 10 hits including the anthemic hits 'trash' and 'beautiful ones'. head music has a bit more difficult to listen to but it produced the outstanding lead off single 'electricity', one of the bands better moments and itself a top 5 hit in a time of martine mcutcheons and other pop-music product shifting non entities.
the last album, 'a new morning' has been universally disowned but it did exhibit the last good suede single, the 'trash' influenced 'obsessions', a catchy pop number if ever there was one.... add to this the two new ones [attitude is kinda catchy in a 1930's dub-reggae way] and 'love the way you love' is suede-by-numbers as most recent songs have been.
overall, a wonderful reminder of a band [and a decade] which changed british music, a guitarist who started it all and then faded into obscurity and a man, stood on top of the pops, banging a microphone into his backside......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suede singles, 23 Oct 2003
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
i first got into suede when they released coming up and they remain one of my favourite bands.this album is essential as an introduction to people wanting to hear suede at their best (although the b sides collection sci fi lullabies is essential.)
the bernard butler years are amazing - drowners, animal nitrate
and my personal favourite the wild ones are stone cold indie classics.while trash, beautiful ones and electricity are more recent and again suede at their best.recent single attitude is underrated and sees suede doing electronic reggae.good stuff.
a new morning was a massive disapointment but positivity and obsessions are good tracks.why they never released beautiful loser as a single remains a mystery as its the only other standout track on the album.just buy this album and listen to the best band of the 90's you wont be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Access to the Best of the Best, 28 Oct 2009
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
I am from the Britpop era, and Suede opitomise that era perfectly, with their style of writing, their attitude and their fashion.

As became the trend at the start of the 2000s, bands released their singles collections as a way of getting new fans.

For me, this is the perfect way to get all those classic tracks that I never bought at the time. There is not a weak track on here, it stands up after nearly the best part of 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid collection, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Suede had generally passed me by in their 1990s pomp, but this collection of singles demonstrates that this band produced some of the catchiest material of the last 20 years. Well worth revisiting this at a competitive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles
Singles by Suede (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews