Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic stuff
Had never come across Beth Orton until I heard the soundtrack of Monster. I wish I had listened to her earlier as she is fabulous. One of the best Cd's I have bought recently can't fault it.
Published on 11 Mar 2006 by lovemurakami

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pass in Time
pass in time or just pass? One or two good numbers but much of it very samey. OK for background music in the car as its not at all jaggy.
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. Eileen Skivington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic stuff, 11 Mar 2006
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Had never come across Beth Orton until I heard the soundtrack of Monster. I wish I had listened to her earlier as she is fabulous. One of the best Cd's I have bought recently can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 8 April 2007
By 
Chipstick (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this album having heard - and liked - a remix of one of Beth Orton's songs (She Cries your name) and it has not disappointed. The first cd includes her more well known songs and introduces you to her haunting and captivatingly plaintive style.

The second cd in the set includes remixes and collaborations with other artists including Terry Callier and The Chemical Brothers and shows how her voice and songs lend themselves to really exciting production and a very wide range of styles.

If you are new to Beth Orton then this is a great introduction. Existing fans will also enjoy the diversity this album offers and I for one have not been disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pass in Time, 8 April 2013
By 
Mrs. Eileen Skivington (clackmannanshire,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
pass in time or just pass? One or two good numbers but much of it very samey. OK for background music in the car as its not at all jaggy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection by Beth Orton, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Some might find this album a tad gloomy but it is beautifully sung with feeling. The background instruments, particularly the acoustic guitar, complement the songs perfectly. This album is in fact a compilation of best songs from Beth's first three albums so represents good value for money. I bought the album for an introduction to Beth Orton's music. Definitely recommended that you buy this album - you will find the songs grow on you as you hear the subtle background sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough to make a 'definitive collection' worthwhile, 24 Sep 2003
By 
Dr. Emily S. Ryall "emryall" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Athough I like this album (because I like Beth Orton) I believe that it is mainly a marketing ploy by the record label. I mean how can you possibly release what is a glorified 'best of' album when you've only got three albums plus a couple of colaborations under your belt? I just feel it is stretching it a bit to put the majority of your tracks from your previous albums onto one cd. Fortunately, the 2nd cd helps to rectify the situation slightly by including some of Orton's more limited-released work. My advice is to only buy this is you haven't got any of her stuff already - even owning one of her albums doesn't really make it worthwhile to buy this - you'd be better off buying her previous albums instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 6 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is a great collection for anyone who missed Beth Orton's earlier albums and unlike most best of album's it does contain a few tracks mostly on the second CD that you probably won't have got hold of before.
I give it 5 stars for the quality of the tracks on both CD's but it's not such a great purchase if you already own her three studio albums. But let's face it who buys best of albums (which are all marketing exercises if you ask me) expecting them to be filled with brand new material?
The rare stuff is good and worth having so you pays your money and takes your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful album, 27 Nov 2003
By 
Caspar Aremi "aremi.me.uk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
In response to emryall above - three albums is the typical marker to release a "best of", it's pretty much a standard thing all across the industry. The fact she's also worked on half a dozen other albums too, of which some tracks are included, makes this a great purchase. Don't forget, too, that it includes a couple of tracks from her very first album, which was never released in the UK.
Beth sings with passion in every track. I remember the Trailer Park cd having the labels name across it - "heavenly". I think they should have this on ALL her releases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent enough collection, 3 Jun 2009
By 
S. K. FLORA (Sutton Coldfield,U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
if like me your a casual fan then this is a decent enough collection of her work with some extra stuff thrown in. Not every track is to my taste but it's still worth investing in as there is some great stuff on here and therefore good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!, 12 April 2011
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Wonderful voice and vocals. Really enjoyed this CD.
Would recommend it to people who like Sandy Denny, Joni Mitchell, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Minge, 21 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
A good collection of some of her early albums. Some very good songs. A good introduction to the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection
Pass In Time - The Definitive Collection by Beth Orton (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews