Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best
Tony Hawks 3 was a bit of a disapointment when it followed Tony Hawks 2, which was considerably better than Tony Hawks 1.
But Tony Hawks 4 offers a whole new world to the gamer.
They've done away with the 2:00minute time limit,leaving the skater with as much time as he/she wishes to use.
Players can now choose the goals they wish to accomplish, take on a...
Published on 23 Sept. 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better, but has been bettered
I bought THPS3 based on recommendations. Unfortunately I bought it after buying and playing Aggressive Inline to death. I had high hopes for THPS4 and what I got was, well, more of the same. Granted a LOT more, but still the same. The annoying 2 minute time limits haven't gone, they've moved, and appear when you talk to people to get your challenges. Just like...
Published on 7 Dec. 2002 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 23 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 (PS2) (Video Game)
Tony Hawks 3 was a bit of a disapointment when it followed Tony Hawks 2, which was considerably better than Tony Hawks 1.
But Tony Hawks 4 offers a whole new world to the gamer.
They've done away with the 2:00minute time limit,leaving the skater with as much time as he/she wishes to use.
Players can now choose the goals they wish to accomplish, take on a pro head to head, enter a competition or simply skate around.
Benches, kickers etc. can now be toggled on or off to suit the players needs, so now you can choose wether you want that annoying bench to be there when you drop off the rail, or not.
Players start of as an amateur and then they must conquer the pro specific goals to make it into the more difficult professional world.
On create-a-park, players can now set high scores, hidden tapes, and combo goals.
The new , more realistic animation allows skaters to skitch(grab onto,so being pulled along) on moving objects,such as cars and even elephants.
There are also now mini games which may be completely irrelevant to skating, such as betting on rhinos.
Players have far more freedom, on a comletely revamped game.
This is definatly one of the best games to play. Lets see how long Tony Hawk can keep producing these games, and how long we'll keep buying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remains the best skating franchise around, 18 Mar. 2003
By 
J. W. Bassett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Tony Hawk's series has been accused of running out of steam. While the third version was excellent, it offered little that the second title didn't. Neversoft has obviously sought to change things with this version, but despite this, the game is very similar to the last one. One change (albeit purely cosmetic) is that there's something very English about THPS4. From the inclusion of a London level to the presence of The Sex Pistols on the soundtrack, THPS4 has obviously been, at least in part, tailored for us Brits.
In terms of presentation it remains almost identical to the previous three iterations. Fourteen pro skaters are included (Jackass star Bam Margera is once again involved) as well as the now-mandatory create-a-skater facility. Nine levels are included in all (seven regular plus two secret ones) which vary from a shipyard to a zoo. The selection of one and two player modes remains the same as THPS3, however, THPS4 includes the option for online play for up to eight players. Interestingly, the graphics are still a little below what may be expected from a PS2 game, but nonetheless they remain capable. The soundtrack, however, is simply awesome. The Sex Pistols, Aesop Rock, NWA, Iron Maiden and Run DMC all make an appearance giving the game unquestionably the best soundtrack ever.
The only major difference is the removal of time limits on each level. The levels are much, much larger now, and the player is given the freedom to skate around to their heart's content. Now, the player has to approach any citizens standing around to begin a quest. There are now sixteen challenges on each level, which is somewhat higher than the amount found on the previous game. This may involve the by now standard collection of 'S,K,A,T,E' or something more novel like helping a prisoner tunnel out of Alcatraz. There is a definite emphasis on fun in this game, as many of the games available have no bearing on the player's progress (playing tennis or betting on two prostitutes having a fight).
Other additions include the ability to 'skitch', that is to hold on to the back of a moving vehicle (or elephant) to earn extra points. New pogoing tricks are available to the more advanced gamer as well. Finally, the player can now transfer over the spines of pipes to rack up even longer combinations. Each of these functions has been included to help the player produce longer combinations and therefore gain larger scores. The new mission structure enables these new skills to be introduced gradually, but THSP experts should have no problem picking up the new abilities.
For me, the removal of the time limit makes this iteration of THPS a slightly poor relation to the third version. The appeal of the Tony Hawk's series for me has always been attempting to rack up 500,000 point plus combos. THPS4's reliance on comedy somewhat removes the emphasis from gaining huge scores. While not the best, it is undoubtedly the most varied version of the franchise, and fans of the series should consider this an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't own this yet, now is the time., 27 Nov. 2002
To be honest, I don't think anyone needs too much of an explanation towards this, but here we go:
The Tony Hawk's Pro Skater series are the absolute answer to those of us of a skateboarding persuasion, or more accurately people like me, who love skateboarding but can't actually do it in real life.
This game is packed full of really sturdy tasks, so it will keep even the hardcore Tony Hawk's addicts among us busy for absolutely ages. Some of the pro specific challenges have to be seen to be believed!
All in all, it has to be said that the new style of free-roaming and no time limit really works well, although I had doubts before I played it, these were soon crossed out when I started on it.
The only minor complaint is that most of the soundtrack is hip-hop, it could do with a lot more punk, but seeing as you can turn off the ones you don't like in the options menu, it's really not an issue at all.
Lovely job.
6 out of 5 stars for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 4th in the Hawks series made the best even better!, 23 Nov. 2002
At first I was unsure whether to buy this game, purely becasue I could not see how it could better its predecessor, apart from the graphics of course!
But I kept my faith in the Hawkster and bought it anyway.
On the first go it is instantly clear that the graphics are superior than those in number 3, being sharper and possesing far more detail. The game though, initially felt like I was just playing a tweaked version of the last one as it had the familiar tony hawks feel to it.
After I got stuck into the missions though, it becomes apparent that the new mission system, where you free roam the area and choose the objectives by talking to people, is actually very good.
It gives a fresh take on the series and combined with the massively amplified evironments, is much better.
The missions are more varied the gameplay is spot on perfect.
I would recommend this game to skaters and non-skaters alike and would like to see any sane person give it a bad review.
Great game, great soundtrack and great improvement! Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Nov. 2002
Got the game a few days ago and can definitely recommend it to anyone who has a remote interest in extreme sports or this type of game genre. Same Idea as Tony Hawk 3 but this time around the levels are interactive, the character you create or pick has to skate up to people/objects and trigger the goals off by "talking" to them. For example you'll come across a drunk on the first level "college" and by pressing the circle button close to him he'll activate a goal of collecting the letters C O M B O in one rail slide.
The game feels and plays similar to the last one but the levels are bigger and a bit harder at first.You have the same scenario of a "career" mode or just a free skate and the create a skate park option is still there. It also comes with an online option which is another little added bonus. The graphics have been sharpened up a bit and as sequels go this is as good as it's going to get.
Even if you have Hawk 3 I would say GO BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sports Game Ever!, 1 Mar. 2003
Firstly, I'd like to say that i've never ever played a "Tony Hawk" game yet. I've read that this game was really hard and reccomendations saying that you'd better start off with "Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3". I don't really know why it's that hard, I got all the maps including the bonus maps and that's nearly all that matters to me because I love to play multiplayer and if I have all the maps well then great! I admit I'm nowhere near completing all the missions in the game, but still as I said I got all the maps so multiplayer's a bunch of fun. OH yeah on behalf the game itself.
In "Carreer Mode" we choose 1 of 14 pro skaters, start skating around the whole map and talk to someone if you want to start off a mission! The missions include collecting the letters "S-K-A-T-E" and "C-O-M-B-O". There are also missions where you have to complete the combo's written on the screen in less than 2 minutes. There's also some weird but really cool missions such as racing against the policemen or saving people from sharks/ sea lions! The missions also of course include skating competitions with your fellow pro skaters.
"Free Mode" is quite uselessly useless as it's basically the same as "Carreer Mode" just that you can't stop by someone and ask for a mission so... tough luck!
You can create your own skatepark which can be really fun and then after, if it's good enough it can be really cool to play with your friends in multiplayer modes such as horse if the maps full of half pipe's and vert ramps or play slap if you just put a few rails, vert ramps and many obstacles!
The game's music isn't really what I'd call fantastic even though I love rap music I just don't find it going well with skating, I don't like punk so much either so... Anyway the game's sound is quite good and quite useful as well, you can always know how fast your skater's going by the sound and it's just quite easy to recognise each different combo by the sound it makes!
The graphics, if I were to give them on a scale of 1-10 I'd give the graphics a 7 as there's not such a big improvement from the "PS" version to the "PS2" version (I've seen screenshots of both and compared them). Also I'd only give the graphics a 7 because they just aren't what the "PS2's" power can live up to.
I think that you'd only like to play your favourite missions over and over again, not really the whole game again, but when it comes to multiplayer gaming you're gonna wanna play this game for a long time! Also to make the repetitiveness less probable if the stats of one of your pro skater's goes up all of the pro skater's stats are going to go up. This comes out quite useful because now you don't have to finish the game with only 1 pro skater but all if you want!
All in all if you've got many people who come over to your house to play video games this is a must buy, if not this game's gonna be fun to play by yourself anyway (even if you absolutely hate x-games)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest game EVER!!!, 26 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
The graphics are the best I've seen, there is a great range of skaters, clothes, boards,wheels etc. If there is one thing that lets it down it is that it is hugely similar to Agressive Inline, but its on a board so its a lot better! I would advise people to buy it, even if they have THPS 1, 2 and 3.Its alot different from them. My fave thing about this game is that even when you think you have finished career mode, you can do it again in a harder mode. I also like the fact that you buy the cheats and secret skaters. There is an enhanced park editor aswell, you can ad secret tapes and areas.
I have a tip: on level 1 jump into the garbage truck. When you come out ther will be more garbage trucks and cash above each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't think it could get any better!, 3 Dec. 2002
WOW!
I felt a bit let down with THPS3 but this is awesome. The gameplay is sublime and I do not know of a more rewarding game (you do have to put in some effort and practice though).
I love the new career mode and the removal of time restrictions - pure genious on the part of the developers.
The graphics are good, levels big, challenges...well...very challenging.
What can I say, anyone who likes the previous games (or SSX) MUST buy this game. You wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be better, 17 Dec. 2002
By 
Wicker-king (North London, England) - See all my reviews
If you have played other Tony Hawks games and are looking for the next thing then you can't help but feel a little disappointed by the whole thing. I can't quite put my finger on it, the gameplay hasn't altered greatly, theres an added GTA type freedom about the gameplay but for some reason this just doesn't seem as much fun.
I think my main problem might be that the lack of a time limit on each level detracts from the urgency of the previous games and instead of having two minutes to just knock off as many challenges as possible you have to do each task one at a time.
The life of Tony Hawks 3 really came from a desire to just try and rack up some high scores (how many have broken the 1,000,000 point barrier on multiple levels). The scoring totals you have to accumulate on this game are well within reach of experienced Hawk players.
But this game is not all bad with the same instinctive control system in place and the way the game draws you in as you try to hold that grind for just a few seconds more is ever present. Also the addition of some sub-games and the bigger environment to explore are a natural progression and although this is obviously the next game in a seasoned franchise they have made an attempt to vary the gameplay and try something new.
The real market for this game should be with those who have a lot of friends who are into this franchise because the huge levels offer a chance to really establish a style of play and duel with your friends and of course there is always the online option.
There isn't anything wrong with this game and the high level of gameplay and playability from the previous games in the series is maintained and it does offer a different look to those games. The only problem is that Tony Hawks 3 is just more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you need Tony Hawks 4, 7 July 2003
While others say thps4 is starting the end of the Tony Hawks era i disagree. I personally think each game keeps getting better. The day i got this game i couldn't wait to play it. All the features have been improved on thps4. The create a skater mode has more options for your skater and also the hidden characters makes the game more interesting to find out who they are. It keeps you hooked to it until completed (Which will take awhile as there are 190 goals to complete). I suggest anyone should get this game. I also cannot wait for Tony Hawks Underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 (PS2)
Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews