Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like this type of game
Personally, I love this type of game and would subjectively give it five stars, but I am trying to be objective in giving it 4. I mean, it stars Robin Hood for goodness sake - the guy is a stylish hero!
This is essentially a strategy game with a little bit of action thrown in. Robin and his jolly band are camped out in Sherwood Forest close to the seat of the Sheriff...
Published on 1 Dec. 2003 by The Jolly Juggler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish
I'd enjoyed an earlier rendition of this game way back in the Amiga / Atari days, so I bought it to keep myself entertained over the Christmas break. Oh dear. Unless you want a fix of nostalgia, or to appreciate your other games more by way of contrasting them with something truly appalling, don't go anywhere near it.
Published 18 months ago by habbish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like this type of game, 1 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
Personally, I love this type of game and would subjectively give it five stars, but I am trying to be objective in giving it 4. I mean, it stars Robin Hood for goodness sake - the guy is a stylish hero!
This is essentially a strategy game with a little bit of action thrown in. Robin and his jolly band are camped out in Sherwood Forest close to the seat of the Sheriff of Nottingham. You start the game by hiding amongst the trees with your trusty bow and taking a first person viewpoint, attempting to shoot down some passing rich trader and his guards. This is not easy and takes some time to achieve any level of skill at.
You then withdraw to your base camp and have the choice of how to proceed - go back out with your bow to shoot more unlucky victims or raid a castle. Raiding castles is a third person beat-em-up that requires less skill. The point of these activities is to raise cash to buy more of an army.
As the game progresses you get more game options such as recruiting armies, moving them around, capturing territory, jousting etc. The ultimate aim being to capture the land owned by the evil King John.
For strategy fans, this is great. However, it will not appeal to the lover of action, special effects or seat-of-your-pants thrills. It takes thought, logic and some skill. If you like to spend your time considering what you will do next, you will love this game. It has enough depth to keep you entertained for days if not weeks.
Action 4/10
Graphics 6/10
Gameplay 9/10
Atmosphere 8/10
Lastability 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood Defender Of The Crown review., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game because I used to play Defender Of The Crown on a commodore 64 in the 80s and also on the pc. The game is similar to the commodore 64 one with the added bonus of better graphics. This game in my opinion is an absolute classic and extremely addictive. The game is a 5 star game so enjoyable I was not disappointed when I started to play. I can't praise this game too highly. Overall a fantastic game I urge every ps2 owner to buy but it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best strategy game for PS2, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
If you, like me, were a fan of defender of the crown on your commodore 64 you will love this game, its better in every area with large armies with loads of commands to deploy. Raiding, Jousting and siege battles have been improved and the map is bigger with perk territories that give your army a bonus. Its just brilliant and is a credit to the great system that is the PS2. If you buy this I don't think you'd be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 18 Dec. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
I'd enjoyed an earlier rendition of this game way back in the Amiga / Atari days, so I bought it to keep myself entertained over the Christmas break. Oh dear. Unless you want a fix of nostalgia, or to appreciate your other games more by way of contrasting them with something truly appalling, don't go anywhere near it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... agreed it is slightly different but still has the enjoyment of the, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
A greatr reboot of a classic that had on the Amiga agreed it is slightly different but still has the enjoyment of the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2) (Video Game)
Worst game I ever ever bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown (PS2)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews