Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironically, This Is The Best Version
Of all the various versions of Tubular Bells, this, the second to be recorded I think, is my favourite because it has a sound to match the vision. Made off the back of the huge popularity of the original it stands comparisons with any of the subsequent re-makes and remixes.

Oldfield was a wonder to play all the instruments on the original, and he made some...
Published on 16 Sept. 2007 by The Kinniburgh Kid

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Arrangement, Poor Playing
This was a great idea and I think it starts really well. However, at various points in track 2 the quality and coherence of the playing takes a dive and some of the bum notes and out of time playing really bring it down. I could understand these flaws if it was played once, live, and there wasn't a chance to fix the errors. Given all the attention that Mike Oldfield...
Published 12 months ago by Matt Townsend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironically, This Is The Best Version, 16 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Orchestral Tubular Bells (Audio CD)
Of all the various versions of Tubular Bells, this, the second to be recorded I think, is my favourite because it has a sound to match the vision. Made off the back of the huge popularity of the original it stands comparisons with any of the subsequent re-makes and remixes.

Oldfield was a wonder to play all the instruments on the original, and he made some interesting points with all the follow ups, including the bum note removing total re-recording of a few years back, but only this orchestral version has the subtlety and strength of a full orchestra to bring every aspect of the music to life.

It would be going too far to say the difference is similar to that of a colour TV version of a black and white original, it's more the DVD HD version of an old VHS tape: it's all there, just clearer, sharper and ultimately with more feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album done classically, 15 Feb. 2004
If the original version of 'Tubular Bells' wasn't enough, 'The Orchestral Tubular Bells' takes it one step further. Arranged by David Bedford and performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, this rendition is as equally haunting as Mike's original masterpiece. Mike appears in the second part on acoustic guitar, making the listener remember whose music this is. Definitely not one to be omitted from any Mike Oldfield fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orchestral Tubullar Bells, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Orchestral Tubular Bells (Audio CD)
When I first started to play this cd I wasnt to interested, but has the music progresses the orchestral interpretation of the original tubular bells are originally refreshing and amusing. Overall I really enjoyed this version and have played it time and time again. Highly recommend if you are Mike Oldfield tubular bells fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Arrangement, Poor Playing, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Matt Townsend (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Orchestral Tubular Bells (Audio CD)
This was a great idea and I think it starts really well. However, at various points in track 2 the quality and coherence of the playing takes a dive and some of the bum notes and out of time playing really bring it down. I could understand these flaws if it was played once, live, and there wasn't a chance to fix the errors. Given all the attention that Mike Oldfield has given Tubular Bells in its various forms, I think that he could do much worse than simply re-recording this good rich orchestral treatment of his music, without the annoying errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Orchestral Tubular Bells - Mike Oldfield, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orchestral Tubular Bells (Audio CD)
Quite disappointed with this CD - I don't know quite what I was expecting but this was not it. After hearing the original - this version does not come even close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tubular bells, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orchestral Tubular Bells (Audio CD)
Nice cd. I loved the original one this is pretty close but no substitute really. I like it don't get me wrong. But the original wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting take on the original., 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Valley Man (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a great fan of the original, bought this on the cheap and it is OK. Though I think the recording levels are very low, and recording quality not that great.
However, it makes interesting listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Orchestral Tubular Bells, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had an old tape copy of this music and wanted either a vinyl or CD replacement. This was bought secondhand and arrived qickly and in good condition. The disc plays perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Orchestral Tubular Bells
The Orchestral Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews