Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant debut
It's hard to believe that Dave Grohl pieced this entire album together by himself, before he had a band to speak of. Despite being bettered by the Foo Fighters follow-up album, The Colour and the Shape, their self-titled effort remains one of the best rock albums of the 90's and a fine fairwell to the glory days of grunge.
The album starts off wonderfully with their...
Published on 7 Nov 2004 by rickoss

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars .
A lot of reviewers here seem to have come to this first Foo Fighters record quite late on - when there was already an Everlong, a My Hero, a Learn to Fly... well I remember the days when this came out. 1995 it was. Kurt Cobain had not been long gone and Stiltskin were trying to capture the alternate rock crown. All of us that liked Nirvana at the time were well into this...
Published on 9 Aug 2007 by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant debut, 7 Nov 2004
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that Dave Grohl pieced this entire album together by himself, before he had a band to speak of. Despite being bettered by the Foo Fighters follow-up album, The Colour and the Shape, their self-titled effort remains one of the best rock albums of the 90's and a fine fairwell to the glory days of grunge.
The album starts off wonderfully with their three singles, the wonderful debut single This Is A Call, the Courtney Love-inspired hate ballad I'll Stick Around and the wonderfully charming parody Big Me. No doubt you will have heard one or more of these hits before.
From then on the album goes from strength to strength. There are very catchy and original tunes hidden within the Foo Fighters self-titled album, most of which surpass the single choices. From the brilliant Alone + Easy Target (of which Kurt Cobain wanted to turn into a Nirvana song at one point) and dream-laden Floaty to the cult classic For All The Cows, ranging from a gentle melody to a grungy explosion mid-way through, and the fast, rocky number by the name of Good Greif. Not to mention Weenie Beenie, Grohl's attempt at a truly hardcore rock track.
There are a couple of dull moments here and there. Grohl's tribute to George Harrison (Oh, George), while it certainly has that familiar hook, seems to trail off into nothing and leaves no lasting impression, and while X-Static is certainly a solid track, lacks a chorus that'll have you humming for days to come like the rest of the Foos tracks.
The best is saved for last, though, with two closing tracks turning out to be the strongest on the entire album. Wattershed is an explosion of fast punk-grunge for a solid 2 minutes, and in complete contrast the beautiful melancholy of Exhuasted will linger in your mind long after the album has faded out.
Anyone who's interested in the Foo Fighters should purchase this straight away. It may not be quite up to the heights of The Colour and the Shape, but it's a definative moment in 90's rock that should be in everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent debut!, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Released the year after Kurt Cobain's suicide, Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl stepped up to the plate with his debut (commercial) release as a frontman. Expectations must have been high, but he delivered in a big way.
"Foo Fighters" is a showcase of Dave Grohl's talent; not only are *all* of the songs brilliant, so is the musicianship. What makes this even more impressive is the fact that Grohl played all of the instruments himself. This was before the Foo Fighters existed as a full band. I'm assuming he wanted to make sure everything was done "right", and being perfectly capable, decided to do the whole thing himself. His vocals are excellent, and as always, the hard-hitting drum parts are brilliant.
Although the album doesn't really sound anything like Nirvana, it still has a "grunge" feel to it, but the edge is certainly rock. As a songwriter, Grohl had it nailed; brilliantly commercial songs such as "This is a Call" and "I'll Stick Around", the 60s pop-remeniscent "Big Me", then leaning slightly closer towards grunge (but with new chord patterns) with tracks like "Alone + Easy Target".
The album isn't quite as commercial as subsequent Foo Fighters releases, but is definitely as accessible. The only gripe I have with the album is the fairly poor production. With slightly crisper production, I wouldn't have any gripes at all. Overall, one of the best CDs in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revitalising, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
When this album was released in 1995 the grunge world was still in mourning of its hero, Kurt Cobain. Surprisingly this album was released to relatively little fanfare - unfortunately many people were too quick to slate Grohl for not continuing the Nirvana legacy. He totally did the right thing in not doing so, because no matter how brilliant the grunge songs he could have written, he would have been vilified for copying Kurt. I've always felt that Nirvana were slightly overrated. Mike Patton reflects in the Faith No More track "Star AD" that "when you die, you become something worse than dead...you become a legend." That is how Nirvana's music will sadly be remembered, they have been propelled to god like status when all they wanted was to give the world some decent rock music. This is Grohl's intention also. Certainly poppier than Nirvana, but "Foo Fighters" is an excellent debut. "This Is A Call" reached No.5 in the UK chart when it was released; I imagine this was a posthumous response to Nirvana's demise. This is unfair, as the song is an absolute belter with an instantly memorable hook. "Alone & Easy Target" and "Weenie Beenie" are two energetic blasts of punk. The rest of the album is a slow-burner although the bouncy "Big Me" is instantly likeable. This isn't to say it is a bad album at all, far from it. In fact, this is the kind of album that you really will listen to again and again. My favourite tracks are "Floaty" and its stuttering, repetitive refrain, "For All The Cows" acoustic/electric build up, "X-Static"'s steady monotone, or the final track, "Exhausted", not instantly memorable but a real grower. After this album Grohl went in a far more poppier direction - "The Colour & The Shape" is full of classic nuggets of power-pop, whilst the gentler "There Is Nothing Left To Lose" sounds not unlike Pearl Jam. But "Foo Fighters" is the sound of Grohl making his own mark on music. Underrated as it is superb. I haven't mentioned "I'll Stick Around" up until now, because of its obvious grunge sound. Make your own opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome debut that shatters all expectations, 17 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Buy this album now! It has every thing from great Bass lines to great singing.No surprise as Grohl recruited William Goldsmith(Drums)and Nate Mendel(Bass)who were both from the same band the Seattle based Sunny Day Real Estate who also released a brilliant debut album(Diary) in the same year as Grohl.Any way I urge you to buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really cool and still their best!, 13 Oct 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
This was the first Foo fighter album I bought and I just think it's amazing. Dave Grohl sort of takes a different route from Nirvana. His songs are a bit more poppy, but at times they remind me of the songs from Nirvana's In utero album. He sort of takes a different route from rock music.
The album kicks off with "This is a call", it's probably one of the better songs on the album and one of the catchiest. Next is "I'll stick around", which isn't as catchy as "This is a call", but it's a lot harder and it has lots of good riffs and is one of my favourites on ther album. "Big me" slows things down a little bit, it sounds very 60-like to me. "Alone and easy target" is the good song, not the best, but it isn't the worst, it's another hard one. "Good Grief", one of my favorites of the album. The chorus is quite cool, with quite a bit of shouting, while the verses are kinda soft. "Floaty" quiets things down again, it starts off slow but it gets louder. "Weenie beenie" is probably the heaviest track on the album. It would have been better but Dave sings the song with a sort of screaming effect and it makes the song sound awful. It's one of the more punky aggressive songs. "Oh, George" isn't really a popular track with me since I get bored with it easily. It's just too simple and plain. "For all the cows" is another favorite, it starts off very slow and different, but the chorus is loud and very catchy. "X-static" was the one of the tracks that took me a while to like. I like the way it builds up witht he riffs, but it's kind of a boring song. "Watershed" isn't a bad track, another hard one. Dave kinda screams it all the way through, but it's a decentrack. "Exhausted" is very much like "X-static". The distortion is really fuzzy and it's kinda hard to hear what's being sang, even though there is more riffs than singing.
If you wanna buy Foo fighters, get this first, that's what I did. If you liked Nirvana's "In utero" then you'll probably like this, but this isn't as heavy and more poppy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Grohl at his finest!, 7 April 2004
By 
Matt (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Firstly in my opinion this was, and still is the greatest Foo's album to date. Back in 95' when i first heard it i was blown away by Dave G's brilliant Drumming, guitar and Bass, from the opening 'This is a call' to 'Exhausted' is amazing highly addictive to listen to, a great punk rock type album from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Foo Fighters, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Being a fan of Foo Fighters recent work, I thought I'd check out their earlier recordings.

I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grohl goes to greater things, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
This is a superb debut album. I love all the Foo's albums but this is one that has a special place in my heart. It reminds me of when rock music was good in the 90's & can still sound as fresh now as it did in 1995! 'Big me' is my favourite standout track but there isnt a poor track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Element Of Surprise...., 29 Aug 2013
By 
J. Willis (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Firstly i'm going to say that this is my favourite Foo Fighters album, bar none. Maybe it was down to the fact that after the suicide of Kurt Cobain nobody could seriously say that they were looking towards Dave Grohl to fill the void, which is of course exactly what he did. Yes, there was an element of surprise when it first came out, but who knew that Dave Grohl could actually write songs this good? Who knew that he had this voice? Without the pressure of expectation, and left alone to make the music he wanted to make, he created a stunning debut album . Amazing opener 'This Is A Call', 'I'll Stick Around', 'Big Me' and 'Alone+Easy Target' are all great songs, and make for a record of some charm. Of course, emotions ran high on its release, he was after all Nirvana's drummer, but it wasn't out of some misplaced sympathy that Foo Fighters was a success. This album is Dave Grohl at his most honest, where i can't help but feel that every album since has become predictable and somewhat formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FF, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foo Fighters (Audio CD)
Great music, a real pleasure. Foo Fighters Rocks! I recommend to everyone with a good taste of music. One of the best band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foo Fighters
Foo Fighters by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews