Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can i say...
I dont think 1,000 words is enough to describe the awsomeness of this album,so rather than babble on i'll try to be brief. After Dave Grohl leaving Nirvana he has moved on to bigger and much much better things. The lyrics are incredible and even if you're not a huge Foo fan you will be impressed. The contrast of music is amazing,with a slow ballad (Doll) opening the album...
Published on 2 April 2001 by jack.savage@mail.cdarwin.com

versus
17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Colour And The Re-Shape
Time and again I have been disappointed by Foo Fighters albums, simply because every release after 1997 has failed to live up to The Colour And The Shape. Upon the release of every new album the band proclaim it'll be better than anything they have ever done but I don't think they will ever better this album. This is when the Foos blended blistering rock with great...
Published on 16 Oct 2007 by The Fault


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can i say..., 2 April 2001
I dont think 1,000 words is enough to describe the awsomeness of this album,so rather than babble on i'll try to be brief. After Dave Grohl leaving Nirvana he has moved on to bigger and much much better things. The lyrics are incredible and even if you're not a huge Foo fan you will be impressed. The contrast of music is amazing,with a slow ballad (Doll) opening the album and leading into the racy Monkey Wrench afterwards you will listen to the album with enthusiastic intent. My personal favourite on the album is Hey,Johny Park! and my only complaint is that there's not enough of that wonderfull guitar solo by Grohl. The vocals aby Dave are incredible, with the calm, tranquil chords on Doll and yet the hugely powerful screaming (not at all gratuitous) in Enough Space and Monkey Wrench.
YOU HAVE TO OWN THIS ALBUM
Every song gets five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Colour and the Shape, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This can easily be classed as one of the Foo's best albums and now with the extra tracks this album has just got better! It has some brilliant tracks, 'Monkey Wrench', 'My hero' and the anthem 'Everlong', which are all simply outstanding. The whole album is superb though, very uplifting and just great rock, perfect for those summer days out. This is a great place to start if you're new to the foo's and an excellent addition for any existing foo fans, a must have album!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 7 Oct 2003
Formed by former Nirvana drummer, Dave Grohl, Foo Fighters initially came under a lot of pressure from critics out to prove that Grohl was just cashing in on his former band's success. As if they hadn't been proven wrong enough by the excellent debut, they were sure to be eating their words when 'The Colour and the Shape' was released.
Often considered to be the Foos' best, the album is a collection of delicious pop-rock classics, full of bounce and melody. Unlike most bands within the genre, Foo Fighters have a real feeling of originality and depth behind their song writing.
The songs are generally built around soft and delicate sections which burst into the punked up choruses. There are also slight metal overtones which add an extra weight to the songs. Some of the best examples of this can be seen in 'Monkey Wrench', 'Hey, Johnny Park!' and 'My Hero'. Then there are quieter ballad moments, such as 'Doll' and 'Walking After You'. However, the standout track, many would agree, is the dream-like 'Everlong' - it simply has to be heard.
In short, 'The Colour and the Shape' is an essential album with some of the best tunes and melodies you will ever hear. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloute classic Foo's, 21 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Colour And The Shape (Audio CD)
If you have gone out and purchased the latest Foo fighters album 'One by one', or your just a fan of rock music wishing to broaden your horizons, and have not yet heard the Foo fighters earlier material then be sure to add 'The color and shape' to your collection. In fact, you could call it illegal to not own this album! It is by far the greatest Foo Fighters album, with the classic punk anthems 'monkey wrench' and 'wind up', and the anthemic 'My hero', the beautiful 'walking after you' will bring a tear to your eye! Who could forget the greatest ever Foo fighters song (and quite possibly the greatest, period) 'everlong', with a great video to match! Needless to say, if your a Foo fighters fan or a fan of rock, you MUST own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 23 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colour And The Shape (Audio CD)
This can easily be classed as one of the Foo's best albums. It has some brilliant tracks, 'Monkey Wrench', 'My hero' and the anthem 'Everlong', which are all simply outstanding. The whole album is superb though, very uplifting and just great rock, perfect for those summer days out. This is a great place to start if you're new to the foo's and an excellent addition for any existing foo fans, a must have album!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 30 May 2004
This review is from: The Colour And The Shape (Audio CD)
Formed by former Nirvana drummer, Dave Grohl, Foo Fighters initially came under a lot of pressure from critics out to prove that Grohl was just cashing in on his former band's success. As if they hadn't been proven wrong enough by the excellent debut, they were sure to be eating their words when 'The Colour and the Shape' was released.
Often considered to be the Foos' best, the album is a collection of delicious pop-rock classics, full of bounce and melody. Unlike most bands within the genre, Foo Fighters have a real feeling of originality and depth behind their song writing.
The songs are generally built around soft and delicate sections which burst into the punked up choruses. There are also slight metal overtones which add an extra weight to the songs. Some of the best examples of this can be seen in 'Monkey Wrench', 'Hey, Johnny Park!' and 'My Hero'. Then there are quieter ballad moments, such as 'Doll' and 'Walking After You'. However, the standout track, many would agree, is the dream-like 'Everlong' - it simply has to be heard.
In short, 'The Colour and the Shape' is an essential album with some of the best tunes and melodies you will ever hear. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 90s, 9 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Colour And The Shape (Audio CD)
If you only got into the Foo Fighters because of their very patchy last album One By One, then shame on you, cos this 1997 classic by Grohl and co was one of the best albums of that decade. There is nothing particularly ground breaking about it, it is just highly enjoyable to listen to and you never tire of it. It was also Grohl showing to the world that he was far more than just "the drummer from Nirvana". Believe the hype. You won't ever hear one bad word about this album. Monkey Wrench and Everlong are the most well known songs here, but the double whammy of Hey Johnny Park and My Poor Brain leaves you senseless. The mid point of the album is still very good, with only Wind Up sounding filler, whilst Up In Arms, My Hero and See You are simple but rocky and upbeat. February Stars finds the band in reflective mood. Grohl always seems to get the tone right between rocking and meaningful mellowness. Walking After You was used on the X Files movie soundtrack. I think this song is a bit plodding but a lot of people like it. My favourite Foos song ever, though, is New Way Home. This should finish every album, sounding very final and a bit sad, before building up to a furious climax. The song also reminds me of one of the best summers of my life so it has a bit of resonance for me.
If you're scouring Amazon looking for classic albums to add to your collection then look no further. Still one of the greatest rock albums of the last 25 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it safe, keep it secret!, 11 Sep 2003
The Foo Fighters are a band with no pretension. The have no hype. the only promotion that they carry would be the lead singer/songwriter was once the drummer of a band that made it very very big. This was the second album from the bands output and many of the fans believe it to be their most accomplished. All aspects of the cd have heart stopping qualities with rarely found moments of white hot tension and white hot emotion that are all put across with an sound that is in no way false. This album has one those forgotten feelings when its stopped spinning, at once you feel elated and melancholic. It shares this feeling with a great film that you might have cried and laughed with. You want to watch it again but you may feel like that you may tarnish its specialness. Everlong is a much quoted track from this album and it has good reason to be distinguished. The lyrics, the production, the accomplished instrumentalists, the empathy and the voice. They are are all in unison to produce a heart soaring song that can bring terars to your eyes with a confusion of love and sadness. The whole album and the bands output in fact is without comparison in our current pop climate of saccarin sweet hearts trollied into studios and trollied out onto stages. This album is one you recommend to friends. Its been a bit of a secret. Keep it safe. Keep it secret.
I would like Dave Grohl to know the gratitude I keep for having listened to his album on dark and bright days and nights. Buy it and turn it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best ever album, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This album is probably the Foo Fighter's best album, and really show cases the talent of the backing band and lyricist. The album's best tracks are "My Hero" and "Everlong", both of which are absolutely superb, and there are strong tracks like "Monkey Wrench" and "Up in Arms" to keep our blood flowing nicely. The main feature of this album is the fact so many different approaches are tried to tracks and sound, without ever losing the distinctively rocky feel to the whole album, and Grohl's lyrical flair is well exercised by the different types of track. This is strongly recommended to Foo Fighter's fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent effort, 6 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. S. Sweeney "seventiescopshow" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Colour And The Shape (Audio CD)
With this album Dave Grohl moved out of Kurt Cobain's shadow. Long remembered as The Drummer In Nirvana, Dave showed his talents to lie much deeper in his work with the Foo Fighters. Having played almost every note on the debut album, Grohl recruited a full band for this collection, but still ended up performing most of the drums and guitars as well as the vocals. Songs like Everlong, My Hero, Monkey Wrench and New Way Home adorned a Pixies-esque treat that turned out to be one of the best albums of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colour And The Shape
The Colour And The Shape by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews