Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Eighties' Kid in You
For those of you who don't know, DJ Yoda (aka Duncan Beiny) was exposed to the world after winning Diesel's music awards a couple of years back. After a couple of hip hop sorties (How to Cut and Paste 1&2, Unthugged with Dan Greenpeace), this album is a monument to the eighties.
For those unaccustomed to his previous mixes, well, they will leave you speechless. Some...
Published on 17 Dec. 2003 by Mr. S Long

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed?
I'm a big Yoda fan and bought this as soon as I knew it was out. As usual it contains what I'd expect of Yoda - eclectic mixes of tunes you'd not expect to hear together, weird samples from 80s programs etc.- but I can help but feel it was just a bit rushed in the making. By no means am I an expert on scratching or mixing, though I do listen to a lot (so this advice is in...
Published on 23 Dec. 2003 by Danjeeling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Eighties' Kid in You, 17 Dec. 2003
By 
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
For those of you who don't know, DJ Yoda (aka Duncan Beiny) was exposed to the world after winning Diesel's music awards a couple of years back. After a couple of hip hop sorties (How to Cut and Paste 1&2, Unthugged with Dan Greenpeace), this album is a monument to the eighties.
For those unaccustomed to his previous mixes, well, they will leave you speechless. Some freak mutation of the eighties' kid's TV and music with rap. You can see the young Yoda trying to break out in his mixes and this album is just that.
Just a quick look at the tracklisting may make some of you wretch with the sweetest flavoured poptastic favourites reminiscent of days gone by when roller discos were cool (from Europe's Final Countdown to Culture Club and their Karma Chameleon). A couple of hip hop classics do find their way in the mix with Grandmaster Flash (The Message, White Lines) and Herbie Hancock's Rockit but the LP is not about that.
To listen to this mix you'll have to leave your ego at home if you think the eighties is a decade best left forgotten. It's not so much the choice of tracks that make this compilation what it is but the turntablism and samples that accompany it - DJ Yoda's trademark if you like.
In summary then this CD is like one of those old school block parties where someone brought the wrong crate of vinyl. Tracks that you would never imagine played to a crowd or mixed together somehow just seem to work. Like Marmite - love it or hate, but I can only recomment the former...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ Yoda How To Cut and Paste 80s edition, 31 July 2005
If you're unfamilar with DJ Yoda, this will be unlike anything you will have heard before. If you were a kid in the 80s like me you'll love it, it defines the era. It manages to combine 80s classic music and tv and film, scratching and mixing in Hill Street Blues, with exerpts from the Dallas, Aztec Camera, Salt 'n Pepa and even Rick Astley to name but a few. you're probably thinking this sounds like pure cheese but its pure genius...a classic! and will become compulsive listening. You know its a sign of a good album when its over before you know it ...and not because its not long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed?, 23 Dec. 2003
By 
Danjeeling (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
I'm a big Yoda fan and bought this as soon as I knew it was out. As usual it contains what I'd expect of Yoda - eclectic mixes of tunes you'd not expect to hear together, weird samples from 80s programs etc.- but I can help but feel it was just a bit rushed in the making. By no means am I an expert on scratching or mixing, though I do listen to a lot (so this advice is in a back seat driver kind of way...) and all thought when listening to the album is that it seemed a bit hurried. If he'd just taken a bit more time to get the levels right, think more about some of the mixes and not use some of the same samples from his other albums I'd be a much happier customer.
Still, it's a great album. Definitely one to buy and it'll keep you amused for a while and remind you just how dodgy a lotof the 80s music really was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Chaotic Mess........., 15 Nov. 2007
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
So. You are a DJ and you decide to put together a cut and paste of music from the 1980's. You have to work within the parameters set by the record licensing department. And you want your mix to stand out, because you know that it was during the 1980's that the DJ culture of cutting, scratching and beatmatching that had been devloping from the late 1970's came to fruition, which means that many records from that period may well have already been subjected to a cut and paste assault (by the Disco Mix Club (DMC) for example). So you might choose to use records that are different, quirky, or just plain odd. Records which don't usually stand out when you think of a DJ. Then throw in a few choice over dubs and edits from assorted iconic films from the same period.

The question is, with such intent, does it work?

Well, to these ears, not quite. There are some moments of quite inspired mixing, and some nice transitions and blends (listen to the very simple use of 'Sign Your Name' ad the mix in to 'Take On Me' by A-Ha). But there are also a number of transitions which sound as if a DJ is struggling to come to work out how the equipment works (and it sounds as if this was mixed using CDJ's and a computer). The transition in to 'The Final Countdown' by Europe is a great example of this. It is an absolute train wreck of a mix. If this was a party you would grab the DJ by the neck and throw him off! If this was a gig you would demand your money back!

Somehow one suspects that Yoda hoped the sheer cheekiness of putting such a mix together would see him being forgiven for such mistakes, or maybe they were included as part of a clever commentary on the role of the DJ?
Perhaps he wanted to create a 'live' feel?

Whatever.

It doesn't hold together as a mix, it bounces and crashes and stutters and then Yoda insists on scratching incessantly all over the damn thing -hey Yoda - "LESS IS MORE!" And that is a shame, if only Yoda had taken more time and care, refined the mixes and blends, this really could have been something special. So, do you buy?

If you really don't mind feeling as if your ears are being punched repeatedly, and you can forgive mixes which crash and screech to a halt, with chord, beat and vocal clashes, and you really are desperate for a dose of 80's nostalgia, this might be for you.

If not, ignore, and spend some time hunting down the 'Mastermixes' by Ben Liebrand (many of which are commercially available)or try and get some of the DJ only mix compilations issued by the UK Disco Mix Club (DMC)(this might be harder to do but it IS worth the effort).

This release is a triumph of imagination being killed by poor execution and technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know you love cheese!!, 6 Dec. 2006
By 
M. Godenho "mg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
It's a fun album!

These days too many hip-hop artists and producers take themselves far too seriously so thank heavens for DJ Yoda!

And this is all about the 80s. There's classic 80s songs and samples of memorable 80s movies.

Don't expect musical revelations or outstanding "production values". Some of the scratching gets a bit intense for me otherwise I'd give it 5/5

This is a fun CD. The kind that makes you smile.

=)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DJ Yoda returns - '80s style!, 10 Nov. 2003
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
DJ Yoda is back again, but this time with his tribute to ‘80s pop-culture in true glitched-up style. ‘How to Cut and Paste: ‘80s Edition’ is perhaps even more tongue in cheek and light hearted than his previous efforts in volumes one and two. Tracks from Betty Boo and Toni Basil best exemplify the tone and retro quality of the compilation.
Some will have problems with the cheesy, “…Remember the ‘80s” style of the collection, with sound bytes from popular cult movies such as ‘Police Academy’ and ‘The Goonies’; even student favourite Timmy Mallet makes a vocal cameo.
However, if your love for eighties culture spans BMXing, Day-Glo wrist straps and Atari 2600s you’ll be in musical heaven. Perhaps more of a party album than a genre bending endeavour, although there will be several moments that you’ll still be enjoying for weeks or months to come. Certainly a nice addition to the ‘Cut & Paste’ collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fresh? Sounds like its been left out since the 80s, 19 Jan. 2004
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
This CD just seems to lack the finish and originality of his previous releases.
The novelty of soundbites will only carry a track so far, and after 39 tracks of this, your patience wears a bit thin. The tracks themselves rarely seem to be radically altered by the occasional bit of crude scratching, which doesnt work over these overproduced lumps of 80s cheese pop.
My main problem with this CD is that it has been done before, and better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely bonkers, 13 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
Absolutely bonkers, as I say. But if you grew up in the 80s, then this will mean so much to you!
Certainly worth a buy - and it won't break the bank. Pat Sharp, Timmy Mallett and Dallas make appearances!
I think it could have been produced better as the mixing and overlaid samples are too loud in the mix, but then again I am a perfectionist. Good Christmas present recommendation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to make the most out of nostalgia, 29 July 2005
By 
Michael Jacobs - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
Let's face it; you wouldn't go out and buy an album like this because of the songs themselves on it. Because it's a mix album, we want to hear what's actually done to these songs, sounds and clips.
Once again, DJ Yoda gets it right with humourous samples and skilled scratching played oddly, but effectively, over various songs from a couple of decades ago.
The technique of "cutting and pasting" enhances the feeling of nostalgia. Whilst you can appreciate the skill of the DJ, there's a real strength in this album in the way that he slightly detaches himself from the music itself. In other words you get a fantastic blend of 80s music, but presented in such a unique way to make it more pleasing to the ear than each song would be on it's own.
Anyway, that's the more artistic critique of it, but on the whole the album's greatness is its entertainment factor as well. As said, it's funny, contains the unexpected and has tunes which, although old, make you want to sing and dance. The Yoda technique only adds to that kind of vibe. Another good thing about this kind of album is that you can skip through random individual tracks you want to hear, and still enjoy them on their own merit. On the other hand, it's a great experience to listen to the mix as a whole, from start to finish, to get a real appreciation of the nostalgic journey.
Even if you're not that into 1980's music, or scratching even, then this CD could still be for you. It doesn't have any of the pretenses of most modern music, and presents the music in a light-hearted way which can be enjoyed regardless of any individual music taste. There are other volumes in the series, but they're somewhat more hip-hop orientated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Give Me More!, 10 Jan. 2004
By 
S. Teasdale "teasdale03" (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition (Audio CD)
This is a hellish album. Muisc for everyone really. I personally am not from the 80s, i was born in 1990. but still ive heard these songs and recent mixs. A must buy for everyone, but has a little swearing in and it does not say on the case but who cares really. Just thought id warn ya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition
DJ Yoda's How To Cut & Paste: 80's Edition by DJ Yoda (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews