Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, well worth your tenner.
"Falling Down" released in 2003 as Jehst's second major release (and technically his first album) was just a minor blip on the Hip-Hop radar as much of UKHH seems to be. An album of 12 songs, 3 instrumentals and an intro is certainly a grower, although it might not be to the tastes of the Little Jon or G-Unit fans anyone familiar with UKHH that deviates away from...
Published on 23 Feb 2006

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Debatable album...
This album had alot to live up to, given the prior Jehst releases and guest appearances. As his first complete studio album, I was eager to listen given my high-opinion of his artistic creativity, yet could not help but feel it would be a disappointment. Indeed, the lead single 'Run Hard' teased listeners but was more underground club-orientated than his previous efforts:...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by Scribe Infinite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, well worth your tenner., 23 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
"Falling Down" released in 2003 as Jehst's second major release (and technically his first album) was just a minor blip on the Hip-Hop radar as much of UKHH seems to be. An album of 12 songs, 3 instrumentals and an intro is certainly a grower, although it might not be to the tastes of the Little Jon or G-Unit fans anyone familiar with UKHH that deviates away from Grime should enjoy this. Jehst is, as ever - witty and lyrical creating landscapes and twisted metaphors with his words that sometimes require an immediate second listen just to make sure you heard it right. Highlightes include; "Monotony", "ESP (Extra Sensory Perfection)", "China Shop Taurus" and the absolutely cracking title-track "Falling Down". Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DOGS of an album: !!!!!!!!!! BUY THIS !!!!!!!!!!!, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
Possibly Jehst's best material i have heard in ages. It was definately worth the wait. Run Hard, China shop Taurus, Falling Down, Die when u die, Manimals are my favourite tunes. Anyone who likes music should buy this. The beats and flows are varied on this album (not just the usual despressing beats he delivers) Jehst switches his flow constantly, not to mention heavy guest appearances from Lewis Parker, Apollo, Asaviour, Diablo, Klashenkoff and more. There is only one thing i am dissapointed with - he didn't hook up with Braintax on a track, but this album is so lyrical and unbelievable it just makes up 4 that mistake! Purchase it now with no hesitation!!!!!!!! you wont regret this purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been, but still a kickass LP, 26 Oct 2005
By 
R. Fraser "rhys_6911" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
On first listening, you would be excused for saying that this is not as good as his previous tracks. And you would be right, when its compared to Return of the drifter, which is a heavy collection of earlier work, it seems slightly lightweight, with the beats not being as raw compared to tracks like 1979 and City of industry. Some people believe Harry Love should have been on the album, and I totally agree as he would have brought another dimension that Falling Down can lack at times. Jehst still delivers lyrics with an unprecedented eloquence and style though, and there are some brilliant tracks here. Notably, ESP, which is as good as Alcoholic Author from a lyrical perspective. Die when u die and the title track show off Jehsts ability as a diverse hip hop artist when compared with the heavier tracks like Move back and Run hard. There are some decent collaborations from Lewis Parker, Klashnekoff, Usmaan, Asaviour and Supa T (No Braintax, though, which is a shame, he just mixes the majority of the tracks). Production is mainly from Jehst himself, though Lewis Parker, LG, Apollo and Cee Why all contribute (notably LG for ESP, the best track on the album). Overall, this is a very good LP for anyone interested in the UK scene, and still keeps Jehst at the top end of UK hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jehst is far more intelligent than Einstein!, 28 April 2004
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
This album is sooo VERY VERY good that I really can't express it in words.Every track is a lyrical work of art. The track that really stands out forme is 'Monotony' where jehst reaches the peak of his lyrical genius e.g"...It's all the same, like tears in the falling, see her face, her voiceas she calls my name. I wake up to the maze, concrete, locked in acage..". Brilliant, just marvalous. If you don't buy this album, you my aswell not be alive. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jehst can do no wrong, 6 Oct 2003
By 
G Back (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
Jehst's first EP, the 'High Plains Drifter' contains cuts bound to become classics and sees Jehst cover a variety of styles and topics, from dark underground tales of woe to head nodding club bangers. This is all encapsulated in his latest album, which in my mind sees jehst saw above the rest of the uk hip hop scene. 'Run hard' and 'History' were released as the first tasters of this fantastic compilation of musical genius, with his psychedelic, off beat production of 'Run Hard' blended with his usual witty and hard hitting lyrics. If you liked the single you won't be disappointed by this long awaited album- the production and verses are more than sound. I recomend this album to any uk hip hop head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sick, 20 Nov 2006
By 
J. Stocks "hip-hop-head" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
I have owned this CD for about 2 and 1/2 years now and it is still one that gets played regularly. In fact I'm still trying to understand how one reviewer calls the lyrics 'average', they cannot possibly have listened properly. Jehst is a modern day Shakespeare.

'Run Hard' is still one of my favourite tracks for its hard-edged beat and sick lyrics. 'China Shop Taurus' displays conscious lyrics (seldom heard by other artists) which are delivered excellently. It is true that most of the guest appearances are disappointing but for me this only serves to emphasise the brilliant lyrical ability of Jehst himself.

I would say this album is no better or worse than 'Return of the Drifter', but is certainly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Drifter returns, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
Dope, the man is a genius. The first time I heard the album properly was live at the Jazz Cafe album launch! Jehst is the best UK emcee ever, bar none! (especially Life!!) Well what do you expect from a Sussex boy. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Debatable album..., 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
This album had alot to live up to, given the prior Jehst releases and guest appearances. As his first complete studio album, I was eager to listen given my high-opinion of his artistic creativity, yet could not help but feel it would be a disappointment. Indeed, the lead single 'Run Hard' teased listeners but was more underground club-orientated than his previous efforts: a move not necessarily welcomed. 'Monotonous' sounded almost Eminem-esque in its musical structure/chorus, and Asaviour spoils everything he's on with his run-of-the-mill (non) presence. The major flaw of this album, for me, is the lack of Harry Love beats. Although Lewis Parker, and Jehst himself are accomplished producers, Harry Love seems to bring the best out of every MC he works with (note: Terra Firma esp.) While the lyrical content never fails on this album (Asaviour aside) the beats fail to match the imaginitive wordplay and mental images painted. Jehst remains ahead of his field, but with acts such as Yungun and Foreign Beggars emerging with immense talent and originality, Jehst may have to re-think his strategy if he wishes to maintain the much deserved respect and kudos he possesses at this moment in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet....., 15 Nov 2003
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
A masterstroke - simple as that. I honestly didn't believe Jehst could ever top the sheer quality lyricism of City Of Industry, 1979 and all the rest. In fact, the rapping is easily as good as anything he's done before, at the same time the beats and production are taken to a new level.
Jehst is one of the finest hip hop talents, UK and worldwide. Do not miss out on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UKs illamatic, 2 Nov 2003
By 
R. Raichura (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Falling Down (Audio CD)
wow this album is amazing. jehst has got some sick lyrics and a grimy flow. plus the production is tight as well. jehst is definetly up at the top of the UK hip hop scene with Blak Twang, Fallacy, Roots Manuva, Taskforce and Rodney P. id really advise anyone who likes UK hip hop or any ihp hop with amzing thought provoking lyrics to buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falling Down
Falling Down by Jehst (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews