Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2004
Imagine, if you will, that an listening to an album is like watching a boxing match: Most good albums show some nimble manoeuvring, jab steadily and throw 2 or 3 good hooks. There are many albums which flail helplessly before running out of steam. Even some of The Proclaimers efforts have shown moments of real class and had some great punches without consistently impressing.
On this album, however, they have obviously been training hard: The Reid brothers come somersaulting into the ring and deliver three knockout punches (Born Innocent, Should have been loved and Blood on your hands) before you can even catch your breath.
After that they settle into a solid rhythm, landing more glorious blows until you leave with your head spinning.
Edwyn Collins does a marvellous job in the corner. I disagree with a previous reviewer - I think the 'raw' production suits the songs perfectly. We want them lean and mean, not bloated.
What I cannot understand is why The Proclaimers seem to be forgotten about. They never seem to get any airplay and I cannot remember a review for either of their last two albums in the music press. When there are so many lightweight acts around it makes punch and style of The Proclaimers all the more essential.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2003
This their 5th studio album is see the Proclaimers giving their most rocky sound yet. The title track 'Born Innocent' kicks the whole thing off with a thrash of electric guitars in their trademark scottish country and western style. This thrashy rocky style continues with the tracks Should have been loved and their anti-war protest 'Blood on your hands'. After that things slow down a bit so fans of their melodic songs like 'Sunshine on Leith' should be kept happy with songs like 'Unguarded Moments', 'Redeemed', 'He's just like me' and 'There's no doubt'. There's also some catchy popier numbers that the Proclaimers do so well - 'You meant it then', the cover version 'Five O'Clock world', the Sun gossip column tribute 'Dear Deirdre' and the skiffletastic 'Role Model'. All in all another excellent Proclaimers album that has been worth the 2 year wait since their last 'Persevere'. My only criticism would be a lot of the songs are too short with many under 3 minutes long and the Edwyn Collins production is a bit raw. Certain songs could do with some beefing up with a bit of brass or string arrangements to make them longer and more polished. That said don't be put off buying this album it's a speccing good record!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2003
As soon as i heard 'Hate my Love' on the radio I knew it was finally time to part with some cash for a Proclaimers album. The songs here are so fantastic it's amazing how 'vital' the band sound. First three tracks are one of the most joyous hat tricks ever. Passionately delivered country rock with added energy and warmth from a great raw(ish) production job (beautiful slower and soulful numbers too). The Reid brothers are very unique and gifted songwriters- i get the feeling their craft is at peak form here.
(Checked out the 'classic'Persevere album after getting this expecting more delights but was disappointed. Better lyrics, tunes and delivery make 'Born Innocent' the real deal.)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2003
just received this today, thank you Amazon only two days since I ordered it, It's the best ever lads. I had to listen to it three times but after that I just thought it was brilliant!
Track 7 is something else.... It just got to me Track 5 is brilliant I laughed out loud in the car listening to it. Worth a listen track 4 is really thought provoking. I love the Proclaimers but this is something else... buy it now!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
A well balanced album that I keep playing with some great tracks such as 'unguarded moments'

Essential listening for all Proclaimers fans or for those looking for something new, sincere, original and lasting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
Very surprised by just how good this is.
Anyone who has seen the musical Sunshine on Leith will notice a few tracks here.
But track for track as good as anything the guys have done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Well, for me it's their best and most balanced album, with such amazing songs like "Role Model" or "Should Have Been Loved". It's a masterpiece by The Proclaimers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This is easily The Proclaimers best album by a country mile a totally rocking feel good album by Scotland's most underrated band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
A bit of a mixed bag. Not as good as I had hoped it was going to be, but some good numbers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2007
The Proclaimers followed up their "come back" album (Perservere) with arguably their most cohesive effort yet. The first 5 songs are worth the entry fee alone.

Although a pair of bespectacled Scottish twins is not to everyone's taste, with this album they seemed to go beyond their accents and perceived comedy image to produce songs of quality. Lyrically they are superb as ever with the highlights being Hate My Love and These Unguarded Moments.

Well worth a listen if you have an interest in The Proclaimers. If you are still to discover them, though - I would suggest starting with Sunshine On Leith.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)