Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best copy of this version so far.
As Amazon is still mixing up reviews between different DVD version, I must point out that this review concerns the EI Entertainment-Legend DVD version. This film figured in our family history, so has some sentimental value for me. I saw this on the original release, and had a B/W 8mm copy that the kids enjoyed. It is certainly old fashioned with some awful singing and...
Published 23 months ago by Allan Broadfield

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack and the Beanstalk.
Abott and Costello - a musical pantomime! The old jokes are the best? It is an amusing fairy tale. The special effect look very dated now but that's only to be expected. As you might expect Bud Abbott and Lou Costello play it for laughs and don't take it too seriously. The kids enjoyed it and so did I.
Published on 11 Jun. 2010 by Robert Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best copy of this version so far., 27 April 2013
By 
Allan Broadfield (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Amazon is still mixing up reviews between different DVD version, I must point out that this review concerns the EI Entertainment-Legend DVD version. This film figured in our family history, so has some sentimental value for me. I saw this on the original release, and had a B/W 8mm copy that the kids enjoyed. It is certainly old fashioned with some awful singing and dancing routines, which somehow give it the appeal of an old pantomime. As with most of it's DVD's the Legend version of this title surpasses all others I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 26 July 2010
By 
Mr. John Mcknight (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Abbott and Costello. I bought this film for my 4 year old nephew and he loved it. He didn't understand the start and end, which were real life going into a dream, but loved the Jack and the beanstalk bits. For me, I felt there was too much singing and bad singing at that. Still it didn't spoil the film and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack and the Beanstalk., 11 Jun. 2010
By 
Robert Wilson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Abott and Costello - a musical pantomime! The old jokes are the best? It is an amusing fairy tale. The special effect look very dated now but that's only to be expected. As you might expect Bud Abbott and Lou Costello play it for laughs and don't take it too seriously. The kids enjoyed it and so did I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad copy, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
The recording was terrible. The speaking didn't match the opening of their mouths. Very disappointed in my childhoods favourite film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abbott & Costello - Jack & the Beanstalk., 27 Jan. 2012
By 
R. Goddard (Morden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
5 star copy. Good color, including the sepia sections at either end of the film, Sound quality is of it's time, mono. The film features a lean toward solo characters for Bud Abbott & Lou Costello and less of the usual knock-a-bout between them. Good songs, regular story, a nice item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for this DVD, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
R. E. Hoare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Good value
Sound and picture quality above my expectations.

This is a old film but still great viewing will watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best colour ever, 11 Feb. 2009
Jack and the Beanstalk 1952.
Abbott and Costello were filmed in very early colour , some scenes even looked blurred however this is the new up to date remastered colour reprinted version.New computer colour dubbed over old colour and looks better than ever.
It looks so good that its almost as if it was made today instead of yester year.
This is the best it has ever looked and even the black & white has been improved.
The film begins in black & white then it goes into colour and then it ends
in black & white.
The black & white in this new reprint has been made brighter and clearer thanks to computer remastering. This disc is playable world wide.
However I also like watching it in its original print as well ,the reason being that on the master tape used in this remastered version one scene of the giant's house keeper is missing. That scene still remains on the Stonevision master tape of the film. In its original print on the Stonevision dvd release. Thats why sometimes its helps to own more than one copy so that you can still see that scene. On the Stonevision master tape one scene of Jack is missing, that scene still remains on this remastered reprint on this dvd. Same film two different master tapes. With rare films like these different dvd copies can be taken from different master tapes with different damage in different places. With most old rare films you never know how many different master tapes still remain to this day . That is why it helps to own it again on a dvd with 3 films on one disc. Or on a 3 disc set with 10 films on one box set on different companies releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie for all ages, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Thompson (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
A children's story that all ages get great fun and entertainment from it - a must have for families that like to watch movies together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Classic old school abbot n costello genius! Dvd is as you would expect qualitywise for such n old film... Brought back memories tho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
not seen them in colour before it is great a must for Abbott and Costello fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abbott And Costello - Jack And The Beanstalk [1952] [DVD]
Used & New from: £2.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews