Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Perfection!, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
An extraordinarily charming fantasy horror tale, made in the greatest period of the greatest film-making place in the world. Joey Wang is sensational as the tragic ghost, and Leslie Cheung is at his usual excellent level. A great performance also by Ching Siu Tung as the hermit swordsman with a heart of gold, and exemplary special effects all round.
Special mention to the music also, which is just lovely, especially the main tune, and the story itself, romantic, action packed and funny as hell (the whole bit where Leslie Cheung evades some monsters without even noticing them is teriffically funny). Although some don't like it, the sequel is also worthy of a mention, being an excellent continuation of the first film in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning aesthetic action packed love story., 28 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Humourous, visually stunning, charming music, amazing imaginative action sequences. A rollicking supernatural love story for both sexes. May scare young children. Cantonese cinema at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breathtaking Imagery rich treat, 9 Oct 2002
By 
Padderz (Wimbledon, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
About 7 years before Gary Oldman camped it up and creeped out as Bram Stokers Dracula, A Chinese Ghost Story brought a fresh and visually stunning light show to a waiting Chinese audience.
Brought up on a diet of the staple kung fu films and historical dramas, the average ghost story, though plentiful, tended to be light(ish) comedies. After the commercial success of films such as Rouge, which brought a dramatic weight the genre, A Chinese Ghost Story took the next unfaltering steps.
From the opening scene, the imagery is incredible. Many Hollywood horror films have subsequently aped the lighting and use of textures to create a vivid palate on the screen, but this piece of work remains the brightest and the best.
Intriguingly, the film does not deal with horror per se but of love through the barricade albeit sometimes tugging to heavily on the comedy strings. However, scene after scene urges the story on whilst never once letting go of the mood.
The story line itself is a bit silly, based mainly on Buddhist beliefs and the special effects can be crude at times, but the top notch cast, scenery, lighting and music all set this film well above the rest.
Francis Ford Coppola could only imitate. Now that's class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from a classic era., 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] (DVD)
Director Siu-Tung Ching has, under the watchful eye of legendary Producer Tsui Hark, created a masterpiece of Fantasy/Horror cinema with "A Chinese Ghost Story".
And with such an expert crew at his disposal (no less than 6 Martial Arts Coordinators) the chances of the film being anything but wonderful would be unthinkable.

It's a classic example of Hong Kong movie-making.
It's a film packed with wit, invention, action, monsters, martial arts, ghosts, fantastical ideas, lush visuals, beautiful music, and most important to it's enduring charm, one of cinemas most moving romances.

Just avoid the weak and pointless sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy + Horror + Kung Fu = fantastic Entertainment!, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen this film on TV 20 years ago by pure chance and I was amazed by the creativity of the plot as well as the originality of the make-up and special effects.
This film has got what it takes:
- a properly interesting plot
- a complicated romance
- plenty of action
- the exact amount of humour
A proper gem in China cinematic history!!
Watch and see for youself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Chinese Ghost Story, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] (DVD)
I was pleased to get this old favourite and this is a very clear copy . Sound is a bit low but not a problem .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic Ghost Story Perfect Match, 31 July 2013
By 
Stevie Thoroughgood (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not As Good As The Erotic Ghost Storys That Are Available To Buy But It Does Have A Good Story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 29 Jun 2012
By 
C. Menon (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] (DVD)
This Chinese film is thoroughly entertaining. Not only is it very amusing at times but I also found it very touching and exciting. Definitely a worthy addition to any film library.

I've tried to encompass similarly wide-ranging themes in my novel Diary of a Ghost -- now available on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the version to get, 17 Jan 2011
Having lived with a version of this film recorded from TV back in the 80s, I was disappointed when I eventually bought it on DVD a while ago. The main reason is that, as others have commented, its subtitle translation is dreadful, to the extent that it put me off a film which had become a corner-stone in my wife's and my film-viewing history. After a bit of research I came to the conclusion that I would have to go back to a pre-DVD videotape version to recapture what we regarded as the 'original'. When we received this and anxiously watched it, we were delighted to find it shared virtually the same translation as our much loved copy - still quirky and clumsy in one or two places but certainly not distracting from the visual action and characterisation. There seem to be other minor variances too such as the points where the very atmospheric background music plays. The only downside to this version is that the subtitles are rather large and set in a panel below the picture, which is rather small as a result. Obviously the bigger your TV the less you'll mind this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD except for the audio mix, 6 Oct 2005
By 
C. Studer (Bern, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] (DVD)
Great film and DVD, except for the 5.1 audio mix (both Cantonese and English), if you watch the DVD with headphones music comes from the right, and dialogue from the left, which is very irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD]
A Chinese Ghost Story [DVD] by Siu-Tung Ching (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: £12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews