Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the best Disney soundtrack ever!
This is certainly the most amazing soundtrack that Disney has produced, proven by the fact that it has won awards for its brilliance. The music is absolutely mind-blowing, and there is something there to touch every emotion, from the dramatic "Circle of Life," to the beautiful heart-wrenching "Can You Feel The Love Tonight," the fun, bouncy "I Just Can't Wait to be King"...
Published on 6 May 2006 by Kyle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars case was damaged on arrival
Good product was a present for my mum cant send back as bought in time for her birthday and weren't any copies in the local shops but on arrival the cd case was badly damaged
Published 3 months ago by Real feedback


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the best Disney soundtrack ever!, 6 May 2006
By 
Kyle "KazSmurph" (Llangoed, Anglesey) - See all my reviews
This is certainly the most amazing soundtrack that Disney has produced, proven by the fact that it has won awards for its brilliance. The music is absolutely mind-blowing, and there is something there to touch every emotion, from the dramatic "Circle of Life," to the beautiful heart-wrenching "Can You Feel The Love Tonight," the fun, bouncy "I Just Can't Wait to be King" and "Hakuna Matata," and of course there's no forgetting the dark "Be Prepared." There is, of course, the wacky "Morning Report" which, despite being very good in its own right, does not match up to the others, it being an additional song for the Special Addition. Of course, it is not only the Elton John/Tim Rice songs which make up the brilliance of this soundtrack. Hans Zimmer's scores, mixed with the amazing essences of African music, really bring the CD together! The hit songs at the end are also brilliant, especially the newly added "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" re-mix! Altogether, this is one heck of a soundtrack, and it is no wonder that it won the awards that it did! This may not have as many tracks as some other Disney soundtracks, but the quality of the music on this will make you listen to it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music that makes the film a masterpiece, 2 Aug 2009
By 
This album collection of score and songs from The Lion King is frankly unprecedented in its all-round strength. Rarely is every tune so perfectly suited for the film it is associated with, and moreover, even less frequently is the music brilliant as a stand alone melody. For me, the songs are the triumph of the film's soundtrack, with each actor reaching beyond the requirements to deliver stunning sing-alongs; "Be Prepared" , the song of Scar, performed by Jeremy Irons was top class, and Pumba, Timone and Simba in "Hakuna Matata" were also resonant.
I will admit that my love for the film, its storyline, the characters and how it made me so emotionally involved when i first watched it and ever since, may have swayed my response to the music. However, the fact remains that the film's success owes much to this soundtrack and deservedly so. Subequently, it receives the highest acclaim from me and this is supported by a generation of avid fans ever since.

5* is the only legitimate rating for this epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album that's still Disney's best work!, 8 Jan 2003
By 
This album is still one of Disney's best musical albums. Standing high up in the top 5 of the best selling soundtracks of all time, this multi-platinum album has sold 10 million copies in the US alone. The sweet melodies and flute inspired music is peaceful and relaxing. It's just like listening to new age music. Kids as well as adults will love this work of art. Some of Elton John's greatest works can be found on this album. The music from "El Dorado" is nothing compared to this masterpiece. Hans Zimmer's music and Elton John's vocals make a great collaboration. This multi-Grammy award and Oscar winning album is a sure winner. It's for lovers of all traditional Disney music (like the music from Beauty&the beast, Mary Poppins, and the Jungle Book). If you're also interested in great instrumental music and originality, you'll love this creative album! It was the first album I ever bought ( when I was 7).
The album starts out with the powerful popular "Circle of Life" with a great beat and a powerful vocal performance! It's a powerful passionate masterpiece! Next on the album is the ever-so-popular single that kids will still love today, "Oh I just can't wait to be king" another track with a good beat collaborated with great African drum sound sin the background!
Then the music suddenly changes into an evil creative track, "be prepared". But then you go on to the movie's most popular single at the time the fun-loving Timon and Pumba dance to "Hakuna Matata".
The album is filled with peaceful, fun-loving, romantic, and evil tracks as well as great instrumental works by Hans Zimmer. But still alongside the addictive "Hakuna Matata" is the romantic melody with great vocal performances. Yes it's "can you feel the love tonight" a passionate track with good lyrics and an influencing theme. Even though Elton John would probably be given the credit for making this album such a hit, it's hard not to think of Hans Zimmer. It's the main reason every track is fantastic in it's own way. If you're looking for an album for your kids, looking for peace, looking for enjoyable music, looking for instrumental new age type works, and looking for inspiring &influencing music-this is something you should buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure musical genius., 17 May 2003
By 
Bluey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the soundtrack to this amazing film was first heard, critics said it didn't live up to previous titles such as The Little Mermaid. Please don't believe them!
Being one of those people who loves soundtracks, out of my collection (which includes various Star Wars CDs and The Matrix) this is the most played and most adored.
It's too hard to describe in words how magical this soundtrack is, especially the emotional and beautiful instrumental tracks (the tracks near the end of the CD). The African drums and vocals are really powerful and woven well into the orchestrated tracks.
People who dare to rank this CD as something sub-standard need to take a deep breath and listen to it again. If it doesn't blow you away the first time, try try again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Animated Film Soundtrack of Choice!, 21 Jan 2004
Hold on now children. Sure, the Elton John songs are great. In particular, ‘Circle of Life’ (as heard in the film) sticks in the mind, as an irresistible blend of contemporary Western song writing with glorious African vocals. That spectacular opening zoom up to the head of Pride Rock as it hits the chorus (you know the bit) is a movie image that will probably never leave me, and its awesome impact owes BIG TIME to Elton’s songwriting talent. The quirky ‘Hakuna Matata’ and his likeable pop ballad version of ‘Can You Feel The Love Tonight?’ are also definite high points of the album.
But hang on. We cannot speak of this soundtrack without mentioning the efforts of a certain Mr Hans Zimmer! (The previous user comment seemed to imply that Elton John also composed the orchestral cues – boy, did he get HIS lions crossed!)
The orchestral score aspect of ‘The Lion King’ is epic and beautiful, and simply WORKS, because it never allows itself to admit that all we’re really dealing with here is a few thousand cute animal drawings. Zimmer unashamedly approaches the drama and emotional nuances of the story with respect and straight-faced sensitivity; happily, no gawky cartoonish fluttery is anywhere to be heard.
His themes are great, and there are many. (Watched ‘The Lion King 2’ recently, and without Zimmer’s memorable leitmotifs, it seemed to have no soul.) Two or three of the motifs, in particular, capture just the right combination of majesty and tragedy (“a king’s time as ruler rises and falls like the sun…”), while the uplifting African chanting creates a nice contrast from the heavier stuff (heard, for instance, when Simba decides to leave the jungle and return to the Pridelands). The track ‘To Die For,’ however, is a cut above the rest, which underscores my favourite sequence in animation history: the Wildebeest Stampede. Did you ever hear anything darker or more intense written for any cartoon before this? Unlikely, my friend, unlikely!
There are a few holes in the album, and I’m disappointed that this Special Edition hasn’t been used as a chance to release more of Zimmer’s score. If you don’t own the first album, it’s well worth purchasing all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all we ever listen to!, 23 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Lion King (Audio CD)
this soundtrack is what anybody who truely enjoyed the lion king needs. it includes the five main singing tracks (circle of life, cant wait to be king, be prepared, hakuna matata, can you feel the love tonight). the backing music is all wonderfully done, even if you dont like classical music, this will stun you. then there are elton john's versions of three of the songs, each a great comparison to the film's versions. i am 16, and my friend is 17, it is our favourite cd, because it is a laugh to listen to, and the songs leave us feeling really good. a feel good cd for all the fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diddled?, 29 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lion King (Audio CD)
This CD tries to fool you that it is an album by including two versions of several of the songs from the film, the version sung by the actors and included in the movie, and the one sung by (you guessed it!), their creator, Elton John. Surprisingly, although at first I was a little disappointed, I found it interesting to compare the different versions, as they are just that: very different. If anything, the versions from the film are better, or at least more entertaining, particularly "I Just Can't Wait to be King", with Rowan Atkinson providing snide asides to Jason Weaver's highly accomplished main vocal. "Circle of Life" also is more appealing in the movie version, with rich African backround vocals from the gorgeous-sounding Committed Artists Choir, and London Community Gospel Choir, who are really the stars of this recording. The backing chorus of "hyenas" literally makes Alan Rickman's "Be Prepared", to my mind the most musically interesting number on the CD, as they sing countermelodies to the main vocal. But then, everyone always loves a bad guy best! A word about the four instumental tracks on this album: they are superbly evocative, and, in a way the most interesting pieces on the recording. Wonderfully played, it is just a shame that the orchestra doesn't seem to get a credit on the sleeve. At any rate, this CD is well worth buying; as long as you feel that you can put up with the Elton John numbers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This is not the london-broadway musical but the film soundtrack. the musical was based on this movie's tunes and songs. the musical added a more african sound to the songs in the movie. this version is beautiful in it's simplicity. disney were very inovative to take elton john as theire compositor for the film- but he did an amazing job and his songs have both- the disney sweetness and the eltonjohn pop. and that's a combination beond compare! have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay here goes..., 9 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Lion King (Audio CD)
I'll freely admit I wasn't a huge fan of the movie, but I was a huge fan of the music. There really is nothing like putting on your favourite CD and listening to tracks you like. This is mostly all of the music from the film. Admittedly I've mellowed with age anf now I'm quite happy to watch the film , even though it seems to me that after this one Disney standards started to slip. It is one great CD just beware of Circle Of Life the beginning still makes me jump!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Choctastically Mega!, 13 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King (Audio CD)
The Lion King is a hip-tronic mix of quasi Africn rhythms fused with explosive vocals. The album contains great turbo-funk tunes such as "hakuna matata" and slower lovey tunes such as "can you feel the love tonight?". I would strongly reccomend this album to all people especially 'big kids'. The overlying fun sounds hide an underlying subtlety that many an experienced music fiend will dig. Truely Africantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SOUNDTRACK-LION KING 2003
SOUNDTRACK-LION KING 2003 by Joseph Williams (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews