Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this......., 15 Nov 2005
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
Compared to some (not all) of the stuff that's around today, this double set is a shining beacon of brilliance. Messrs Becker & Fagen were not only accomplished musicians but managed to put an eccentric, jazzy twist to the West Coast sound. Previous compilations have never quite hit the mark - I even had one without "Pretzel Logic" on it!
But this collection really hits the spot. Fond memories throughout for me personally - this band were one of my favourites as a teenager, right the way up to "Gaucho" in 1980, and these albums cover this golden age admirably. Everyone has got their favourites of course - for me there isn't a bad track to be found, but I was always a sucker for "Reelin' In The Years", "Dirty Work" and the knockout "Bodhisattva" - an (almost) instrumental rollercoaster on a tune - the guitar work here from Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter is out of this world.
Disc 2 brings us gems such as "Haitian Divorce", "The Fez" and "Hey Nineteen", which anyone of my age who has tried to talk to a teenager can relate to!
Great price for a double - get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last the definitive Dan retrospective!, 30 July 2005
By 
Mr. R. Plumb "plumb1909" (Melton Mowbray) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
After many years and many half-hearted stabs at it, we now have the choice cuts of Steely Dan's history.For any newcombers this is a superb introduction to the band's collection. There are many gems here on show that have been previously overlooked in past retrospectives. Check out "Change of the Guard" and "Only a fool would say that" from their debut album..Can't buy a thrill.Other lesser known highlights include "Night by night" "Kid Charlemagne" and "Peg" Remember don't waste your cash on all the other best of's, this is the one.Try it, you'll like it. I tried it, I liked it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dan - Remastered and sounding superb, 28 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
Andy Millward has almost taken the words right out of my mouth (although I do like Kid Charlemagne)!
I would just add that all the tracks have been remastered under the watchful eyes and ears of Messrs Becker and Fagan, so that they now sound much better than they did first time round (this was because there was reportedly an issue with studio sound quality when recording the "Katy Lied" and "Royal Scam" albums) and certainly better than previous CD compilations.
The accompanying booklet gives full details of recording dates and participating musicians, which is always good to have. Less good is the rambling essay by journalist Michael Phalen, who admits to having stolen the master tapes to the "Aja" LP.
Although the Dan never had the huge commercial success of contemporaries such as the Eagles or Fleetwood Mac (only four singles mannaged to make the UK chart) their high quality musicianship, their fusion of rock, pop, jazz and funk, and their ability to write some cracking tunes along the way, mean that their stuff is still favourite airplay material - you'll be amazed at how familiar many of these tracks are - and this album, originally released in 2000 and now reissued at a more "friendly" price, is most heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent but not smug, 7 Nov 2007
By 
K. Hannay "kh014u5746" (yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
I cannot really argue with the previous reviews of this album. These people are clearly more knowledgable about the band than I am. I just wanted to add that this music is just so fine; there's a lot of talk of "jazz" and "funk", both of which are there, but there is also a universal quality, that I would venture to call "pop", but like the best "pop" it moves beyond cliches and has a resonance which is anything but disposable. If you like "modern" music, these songs will live with you forever, they will crop up when you least expect, De La Soul, for example, recognised that when they sampled "Peg". You're not daft, you've got this far, check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Steel" Control of the Stereo, 9 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
What can I say? Many a journey has been made more enjoyable by this eclectic and consummate collection. Aficionados will debate the inclusions and omissions (isn't that what 'Greatest Hits' collections are all about) but for me it's an ideal blend - and people are always surprised at just how many they know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough And Worth Checking, 9 Mar 2009
By 
pjr (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
For some this is the kind of music which punk set out to destroy. Sleek and tightly arranged, somewhat clever lyrics and some top drawer session players, Steely Dan were one of the standard setting bands of the 70's. Never that huge in the UK they did manage a few hits and a reputation for consistent quality control in making records. Over the years there have been a number of compilations none of which stood out primarily because they weren't all that well mastered. This puts things to rights nicely.

In Donald Fagen and Walter Becker the sound itself was part of the process. Here the mastering is bright and clear as a bell (much like the original album remasters) and Gary Katz's production values give you the pleasure of hearing the music at its optimum best. This was music designed with a good sound system in mind.

Spreading itself chronologically across the 7 albums they produced between 1972 and 1980 you get a good idea of the development of the band. The early material has a rockier and blusey edge to it "Dirty Work" on the first album would not have sounded out of place on an Eagles or Chicago record. Here we are also treated to the familiar "Do It Again" and "Reelin' In The Years".

Each album is given either 4 or 5 tracks which gives you enough of an idea of the feel of each album in turn. By track 10 you've hit "Ricky Don't Loose That Number" and are on "Pretzel Logic". By now you have lost the bluesy guitar and the whole sound is set. The music is intricate and deftly arranged with some fine players contributing.

Disc Two finds the tracks getting longer and the pair at their creative peak. The first 10 tracks cover "The Royal Scam" and "Aja" which are about as good as the cool west coast sound of the 70's ever got. Good choices abound here from the obvious ("Peg", "Kid Charlemange") to the more interesting ("Don't Take Me Alive" - which might just be the best song on the whole set). The rest covers "FM" - a movie theme - and "Gaucho", recorded after a couple of years hiatus. It doesn't quite have the magic of its predecssors and the split that followed seems ingrained in its grooves.

Chosen by Becker and Fagen themselves it's an excellent introduction to Steely Dan, clearly benefiting from the chronological sequencing. Slick it may be but it is also undeniably good music. Cooler than guilty, this is a real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Steely Dan compilation ever, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
I have some of the vinyl originals mouldering in the attic, but I waited for years for a decent CD compilation. This is it. Inevitably one or two of my personal favourites are missing (e.g. Everything You Did - "Turn up the Eagles, the neighbours are listening"!) but this is the best intro to the Dan you could have without buying all of the first seven albums. An absolute bargain. If you have heard little more than the group's few "hits", treat yourself to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSY END OF ROCK, 21 Jan 2007
By 
P. Heed "DJ MUSIC LOVER" (CLACTON ON SEA ESSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
EVERY ONE OF THEIR ALBUMS ARE VERY VERY GOOD EVEN IF CHANGING STYLE A BIT.

THIS IS THE IDEAL PLACE TO START GETTING INTO STEELY DAN. BY THE END OF SIDE TWO THE MUSIC HAD GONE TO A MORE JAZZY STYLE BUT STILL FANTASTIC SONGS AND GREAT PLAYING.IT'S ONE OF THOSE CD'S THAT YOU PUT IN THE PLAYER AND PRESS THE RANDOM BUTTON AND SIT BACK AND JUST ENJOY IT GREAT STUFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh as a daisy, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
This is a pretty fair attempt to summarise the Steely Dan back catalogue by taking 4 or 5 tracks from each album. Maybe some are not your favourites (Kid Charlemagne springs to mind, and where is East St Louis Toodle-oo?), but the consistency of material produced over the years by Messrs Fagan (a West coast piano-playing Lou Reed?) and Becker (long-haired cool dude somewhere in the background - shades of Bill Wyman?) speaks volumes. I've not heard their recent material (this collection covers the period between 1972 and 1980), but judging by Fagan's occasional solo albums the chances are that quality would be maintained.
At one level, it sounds like west coast rock, pure and simple. But then you hear Fagan's angular chords, jazzy sax solos, sardonic tone and sometimes challenging lyrics (the Beach Boys never wrote words as streetwise as Do It Again, for sure!) and you know that this is a subtly sophisticated brand of music belying its roots.
More to the point, it sounds as fresh today as it did in those heady days of the late 70s, although better suited to shortish songs - the longeurs of Aja and Deacon Blues are a tad over the top.
For anyone new to the SD era, this collection will give you a thorough introduction. Some songs might sound a little dated, but most stand the test of time very well. They appealed to rock fans, a few jazzheads and people looking for slightly off-centre views. Me, I can thank Annie Nightingale's Sunday afternoon shows for introducting me to the world of Steely Dan, and in retrospect they were a wise choice. Even today I love playing my vinyl version of Pretzl Logic. Remembered fondly, a great era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time fades, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan (Audio CD)
Its suprising just how old some of these songs are and when you listen to them time just fades away leaving you with a feeling just like an old comfy blanket. Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan
Showbiz Kids - The Best of Steely Dan by Steely Dan (Audio CD - 2005)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews