Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DBZ films
Right hi all DB/DBZ/GT fans just to tell you all the films that come out now to do with dbz are well worth getting its going to be a long time before they bring them all out (if they do) there are 13 films in total all very good,let me start off by saying yes these films are dbz with all the things you would come to expect from it but the films follow there own story line...
Published on 14 Dec 2003 by truevinny

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh my god it's horrible!
I love Dragonball Z as much as one person can love anything but this just aint dragonball z. It's bad enough that the movies haven't come out here yet and that the series its around 10 years behing japan and america but now we get this monstrousity. What are toonami thinking? Just get the rights for the american ones you fools! Goku sounds like captain America, krillen...
Published on 21 Nov 2003 by Rick Deckard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh my god it's horrible!, 21 Nov 2003
I love Dragonball Z as much as one person can love anything but this just aint dragonball z. It's bad enough that the movies haven't come out here yet and that the series its around 10 years behing japan and america but now we get this monstrousity. What are toonami thinking? Just get the rights for the american ones you fools! Goku sounds like captain America, krillen sounds like a four year old and bulma like louis lane. It really is awful! I got most of my movies from anime shops which import them and if i were you i would do the same as me. I thank toonami for introducing me to dbz but i am not backing them on this.
Oh yeah! you would have thought that toonami know the difference between a kamehameha and a spirit bomb but no! At the end they get the spirit bomb mixed with the kamehameha. What a joke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DBZ films, 14 Dec 2003
Right hi all DB/DBZ/GT fans just to tell you all the films that come out now to do with dbz are well worth getting its going to be a long time before they bring them all out (if they do) there are 13 films in total all very good,let me start off by saying yes these films are dbz with all the things you would come to expect from it but the films follow there own story line you will see this when they all get brought out,its like the series has it own story line and they way things happen but the films do not follow it like the series does,the films use the dbz story line and add to it witch is cool :) if you do not understand what i mean you will when you whatch all the films and compare to the way things happen on the films to what time thing happen on the series. thx for your time and have fun with these great films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the american Lord Slug(uncut) dvd instead, 28 Sep 2003
The dub is attrocious. The film is cut. Its 12 minutes shorter than the uncut version. Buy the funimation dvd Lord Slug Feature(uncut) off www.amazon.com as it has the funimation dub, is uncut, has the japanese dub and is region 1,2 and 4 so it will work on european dvd players. Be warned though make sure your tv or dvd player supports ntsc colour or it will be in black and white. n.b ps2 isnt ntsc colour compatible but will be shown in colour if your tv supports the 60hz mode on some games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragonball z lord slug movie, 5 Dec 2003
First off to anyone who hasn't seen dragonball z before this, don't judge it by this movie. The voices for this movie were the worst i've seen for a dragonball z movie and it had some mistakes in it. After watching the japanase version i'd have to say the movie made a lot more sense. The dubbed version had been cut and left me confused in places as to were the plot was going as it seemed to just suddenly jump from scene to scene.
The movie itself has a very good plot here it is with out giving to much away.
A huge asteriod is on a collision course with the earth.
Aliens arrive in a space ship block out the sun and learn of the dragonballs.
Leader makes a wish
Goku and the gang set off to investigate
Fighting bad guys, saving lives etc.
Pretty much a typical day for the DBZ gang i'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Weakest DVD in the World?, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: Dragonball Z: The Strongest Guy In The World [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking at this item theres a good chance you are a Dragonball (DB/Z/GT) fan so you won't need me to tell you there is many DB DVD's, Movies, Documentaries out there now, a lot for you to choose from, this particular one is not the best of them I am afraid. While the main feature isn't bad it is pretty short, and the extra's are very limited. Many familiar faces do make an appearance but it does miss out many which is a shame as other DB DVD Offerings have had far more character depth.
Its probably worth getting, watching once and then reselling for the more avid Dragonball Fans, but due to its lack of features and the short story it isn't worth keeping in my opinion.
Happy Viewing for those who do purchase the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a religious following really..., 1 May 2004
The world of dragonball. This world posesses a huge fan base and a massive amount of episodes compared to most other animes, and to boot it has over 10 movies to its name, plus a soon to come live action movie.
The animation is not the most supberb, but this anime is all about action and feeling. It is designed to give battle a unique feel of hardship and intensity, with some peices of it brilliantly coreographed for a cartoon.
All in all, this anime has some minor jokes that can be funny, but this is mainly one for the mindless fanboys and girls who just want all out action mixed with shouting and uber coolness (and btw, there is no chibi in this anime)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Super Saiyan Son Goku Review, 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
The movie is about an old alien called Lord Slug from space landing on Earth and wanting to take it over and make it his. Since he is so old he does not have as much power as he did in his youth and when he notices Son Goku's son, Gohan, fighting his men with his friends he discovers that the dragon balls grant wishes and he collects them and wishes for eternal youth to get his strenght back. He then blocks out the sun and starts freezing the planet. Gohan and Piccolo go back to fight the monsters but are beaten to near death until Goku arrives. He defeats the henchmen and starts fighting Lord Slug but gets beaten up, then when almost defaeted he powers up and turns the fight around. In a group effort Goku and his friends defeats Lord Slug and saves the Earth.
For the first Dragon Ball Z movie relised in this country(there is thirteen of them) I thought the fights in it were not very good, as there are better fights in the series. The voices are horrible as they do not suit the characters, example, Goku is too deep in the movie. Piccolo is called "Big Green" and Krillin's name is said wrong. It is an old movie but the music is great and the intro is better that the series, so it does not matter that it is in Japanese.
If you are a fan then you should buy this movie and if you want a laugh, you should buy it as well. For first time viewers it does not fit in with the series and there is nothing difficult in it to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Video!, 23 Dec 2003
By 
Mrs. M. J. Rogers "mary j" (somerset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I havent watched this yet, but my 10 year old son Simon adores it and he has written as follows:- It is Brilliant if you are a fan although the voices are different than toonami ones and picollo is named big green. I like it how picollo turnes evil and the enemy is just a huge brain in a glass jar but near the end he turns to a giant robot. This is the best video i've ever seen. It is full of action and especially around half way through when the battles are non-stop.Whether you are a dragonball z fan or not you must buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Who is Big Green?, 14 Sep 2003
By 
Vegita (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After deflecting a meteorite on a collision course with Earth Goku and friends must defeat Lord Slug who has come to take over the planet.
Being a big fan of Dragonball Z for almost three years I was really excited to see the release of the Dragonball Z movies onto DVD.
Sadly, I must say I was disapointed with this first release. The movie itself is great containing good animation, storyline (nice twist near the end of the film) and some brilliant battles. The problems come with the presentation of the movie. The main problem being the terrible dubbing. The worst culprits being Goku, Krillen (sounds like a child) and King Kai who sound nothing like they do in the TV series. The voices just seen out of place in this movie. Also alot of the names of characters and attacks have been changed. Have the makers of this DVD even seen the TV series or comics or have they just tried to dumb it down for western audiences. For instance Piccolo is called Big Green, Super Saiyans are Super Warriors etc...
The extras with the DVD are a bit poor too. You get 4 stickers, some trading cards on the disk and some weblinks.
Overall it is worth having as long as you aren't too disapointed with the quality of the dubbing but for those new to Dragonball Z I suggest you watch the TV series first. Lets hope these problems are resolved for the next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragonball Z - Super Battle In The World, 3 July 2004
By 
A band of space pirates use earth as a source of energy for the Tree of Might. Once the seed is planted the tree will drain the earth's life source leaving everthing that once lived dead. A huge Battle between the Space pirates and the Z team will decide the earths fate.
A fantastic movie, all except the voices of the actors (which have been changed from the ones we know to English nobodies) but still definatly worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragonball Z: The Strongest Guy In The World [DVD]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews