Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket fuelled fun
I picked up a cheap video of XL5 some weeks ago in a charity shop and it brought the memories flooding back so I just had to buy this DVD. This series is in my opinion the best thing Gerry Anderson did (hmm murmers of disapproval at the back there!). It is just so awesome. The fact that it is in black and white does not detract from the quality of adventure, excitement...
Published on 20 Oct 2003 by Nick C

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fireball
Get something to drink, a few friends around and settle down to laugh, laugh and laugh. This is a reminder of how awful TV used to be as a kid. But fun.
Published 20 months ago by OO54DWL


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boss, real boss., 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of Supermarionation since Mike Mercury lifted Supercar through the roof at Black Rock, and have seen all the shows since, but Fireball XL5 has always been my undisputed favourite. This boxed set only renews that fandom in me.
A pity that only one episode, and that not the best, was colourised but it was wonderfully done and I hope one day the other 38 will be so treated too. Seen from an adult perspective one or two stories are a bit, shall we say, "basic" but Fireball XL5 had something later, and far more technically advanced series like Joe 90, lacked - charm.
It is a dvd set that I will put on again and again.
Now, "I wish I were a spaceman" but only if I could travel in one of the XL fleet. Meanwhile this superb offering will have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Period Piece / TV Classic !, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Fireball Xl5: The Complete Series [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This was the second true "Supermarionation" Anderson ITC / ATV TV series, and all the elements that Gerry Anderson used to create later glories first appear here. I suspect that being a "black and white" series, there will never be a big BBC2 commercial rebirth a la "Thunderbirds" or "Captain Scarlet", however "Fireball XL5" should not be overlooked or forgotten. The stories were a lot of fun in a 1950's childrens space-serial sort of way, and the dated early 60's production values charm rather than detract(!) I first saw the series during the early 1980's ITV re-run, and I have a soft spot for it. Great fun, and the DVD set features newly re-mastered prints, so the series has never looked this good before. The only criticism would be that Carlton have been stingy and there are no extras - a great shame, since there are TV ads, etc known to still exist. No commentaries from any of the crew either. Still, I am grateful to have the opportunity to purchase this boxed set, since the region 1 A & E release is a bit pricey for my pocket(!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fireball XL5: A Gerry Anderson futuristic space adventure, 3 April 2011
This series means an improvement regarding to its predecessor Supercar but compared with the next productions maybe a little primitive and ingenuous. The show programme is comprised of thirty-nine black and white episodes while all future Anderson series were produced in colour, but in its favour it has the charm of the simplicity. In this set you can find some extra features very interesting: an entertaining, exhaustive 73-minute documentary covering every facet of the show's production and a sample colorized episode, among others. The colorized "A Day In The Life Of a Space General" gives a taste of what the show might have looked like had it been filmed in colour. Videcolor is wonderful but there's something about the original black and white images: spaceships marooned o simply floating in deep space and planet surfaces transmit a certain kind of mystery and a peaceful sensation. It's remarkable a sense of humour always present as a Gerry Anderson's trademark as we see in his subsequent output: Stingray and Thunderbirds. And finally, the music: the groovy closing theme song, written by Barry Gray and performed by Don Spencer. In other words: A very recommendable set, wonderfully restored and beautifully presented, for children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 60's nostalgia, 19 Jan 2010
By 
S. Charlton "Steve" (Richmond, Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Chances are that if you are reading this, you are male and in your 50's. Fireball XL5 was required viewing for schoolboys in the 60's and this brilliant new collection shows the series in the best possible light. The quality of the 35mm images in outstanding. The bonus CD if full of interesing extras and the colourised episode is a real treat. The booklet which accompanies the DVDs is great - full of intersting stuff.
The only regret I have is that the model work has not stood the test of time and the effects are all very clunky, but I suppose that this was all part of its charm. It is incredible how far advanced the model work became just 2 years later with Thunderbirds.

Buy with confidence and relive a part of your childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childhood memories revisited., 5 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fireball Xl5: The Complete Series [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
this was the first gerry anderson series that i ever saw when i was a small boy, and it's just as a much a classic now as it was then. it looks rather primitive compared with the updated techniques later achieved with "captain scarlet," but "fireball XL5" is so enjoyable that i don't care. i love it when robert the robot keeps saying "on our way home" and letting off steam when he's upset or unsure as to how to answer an awkward question.

generally speaking, i rate this as being my second favourite gerry anderson series after "captain scarlet."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intergalatic Adventures with Colonel Zodiac and Crew!, 13 Mar 2010
This DVD box set is in the words of Steve Zodiac `real boss'. Consisting of six discs all 39 episodes of Fireball XL5 are included, with the sixth disc devoted to the extra features including a colourised version of the episode `A Day in The Life of A Space General'. The set also includes a 74 minute documentary 'A Wonderland of Stardust' and home movie footage of the Supercar puppet set. The quality of the actual prints themselves is excellent due to a digital restoration.

The purchase of this DVD was my first experience of Fireball XL5 (having grown up on Thunderbirds, Stingray and Captain Scarlet) and I must say that I loved it. The adventures of Colonel Zodiac and his crew will keep you hooked for hours. The escapades of Zero and his assistant Ninety can be very funny at times. An extra feature at the beginning of each disc is redubbed footage from the series provided by David Graham in the voices of the characters he portrayed.

My only quibble with the set would be the lack of subtitles, but as this seems to be a issue on many of Network DVD's release I am willing to overlook this.The B/W picture might be off putting to some people looking at this DVD but don't let it put you off-I found it quite easy to watch even being used to colour TV. In conclusion, I cannot recommend this DVD set enough, with restored picture and sound, a positive treasure trove of extras and a colourised episode, this is not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best spaceship of its time, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant marionation series from the best marionation team there was - from the mastermind Gerry Anderson down to all the behind the scenes people.
It's brilliant just to sit back and take a trip back to my childhood with all its memories.
I loved the colourised episode - pity the rest haven't been done, but hey maybe in time who knows!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoyable even by my children, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brings back many memories. Even better my two children enjoy it. Daughter's comment, You can see the strings followed a few moments later my I don't like him - refering to the Subterrain (ie a nasty one) Nice to know children can be drawn in despite the competition from today's sophisticated programming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still entertaining after all these years, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Dan Penwarn (calgary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fireball XL5 is my favourite of the Gerry Anderson puppet series.It may lack the technical sophistication of Thunderbirds or Captain Scarlet, but more than makes up for this with imagination, humour and appealing characters. The stories are steeped in the sci-fi pulp tradition, with aliens, ray guns, monsters and time travel. Nostalgia will only take you so far when revisiting a childhood staple, but I was riveted to the t.v. screen all over again. There are a couple of interesting documentaries about the making of the series included in the set, plus a colourized version of the episode "A day in the life of a space general" that looks absolutely fabulous. Recommended most heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I was a spaceman, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireball Xl5: The Complete Series [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Back in the 1960's, Gerry and Sylvia Anderson produced puppet shows for children's tv. After three shows, frustration at how hard it was to make a puppet walk convincingly gave them the idea to centre shows around super vehicles. That way the puppets wouldnt need to walk so much.

And thus the concept of 'supermarionation' was born.

After Supercar - The Entire Series [DVD], first supermarionation show, came Fireball XL5. Set in the 21st century, when the world space patrol has a base at space city and from there sends off ships to patrol the space lanes.

Amongst these is Fireball XL5. Crewed by heroic commander Steve Zodiac, glamorous doctor of space medicine Venus Mercury, and eccentric scientist Matthew 'Matt' Mattic. Plus Matt's invention Robert the Robot.

Back at base irascible Commander Zero and his long suffering youthful assistant Lieutenant Ninety keep things running. And Venus's pet alien Lazoom Zoonie is always getting into mischief.

The crew will regularly get into dangerous situations, not least with humanoid alien races whom you will ever usually only see two members of.

The same template was reused for subsequent series Stingray - Complete Series [DVD] [1964] which is basically Fireball XL5 with slightly different characters in an undersea setting. And whilst Steve Zodiac is a bit too perfect compared to the more fallible Troy Tempest from the latter show, this holds up well when compared to the later offering.

Despite being almost fifty years old now each episode is perfectly paced at a little under twenty five minutes. And it comes from a more innocent tv time. Puppets will occasionally be seen smoking. Anyone who makes a mistake is a 'tooty', and even the occsaional sexist joke at the expense of Venus is rather charmingly dated.

The depth of imagination on display in the stories and settings is enough to entertain old and young alike. You may be able to see the wires. They may reuse certain model shots over and over again. And it may be in black and white. But you just may not care about any of that, such is this show's power to entertain.

The Dvd have the following language and subtitles:

Language: English.

Subtitles: English.

There are thirty nine episodes in total, spread over five discs.

Each disc has some eye catching animated menus, plus direct scene access for each episode.

There are no extras [for those see a more recent dvd release of the show Fireball XL5 - The Complete Series - Special Edition [DVD] [1962] but what you do get are thirty nine bits of tv that are fun for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fireball Xl5: The Complete Series [DVD] [1962]
Used & New from: £34.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews