Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful look at the JFK years.
Prior to watching this DVD, my knowledge of the Kennedy family and the JFK years were scanty, this movie helped to fill in a lot of gaps with its factual and historical accuracy. This forced me to read more on that vital part of history. The Amazon product review has already described the content and synopsis of this DVD, it suffices for me to say that this is a factual...
Published on 31 Jan. 2011 by Uenna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was Okay
Although I enjoyed this mini series I'm not sure I'd rush to watch it again. Not sure it told me anything I didn't already know, however it is worth a look.
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by R. Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful look at the JFK years., 31 Jan. 2011
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Prior to watching this DVD, my knowledge of the Kennedy family and the JFK years were scanty, this movie helped to fill in a lot of gaps with its factual and historical accuracy. This forced me to read more on that vital part of history. The Amazon product review has already described the content and synopsis of this DVD, it suffices for me to say that this is a factual and accurate account, and that real life footages were used to good effect. I think Mr. Sheen was a good choice for a young dynamic JFK and John Shea an excellent Robert Kennedy, while Blair Brown was undoubtedly Jackie Kennedy. The rest of the cast E.G. Marshall as Joseph Kennedy, Geraldine Fitzgerald as Rose and Vincent Gardenia as Kennedy's nemesis J. Edgar Hoover did not disappoint.

I was filled with so much sadness at the end of the movie with the events on the 22nd of November 1963. On reflection I wondered if the lessons of history had been learnt; - is the world a safer place, are we more tolerant of one another, where did all the hatred come from, who killed such a young and well meaning president, whose volition to set America and the World on a course that will raise the profile of all humanity was not only clear to see but a beacon of hope for all?. I am glad this DVD exists and would recommend it to all interested in American history or history of the Kennedy family.
The is a two pack DVD set, with special features which include real life footages of prominent events in the JFK era namely:
The inaugural address by JFK - Washington DC Jan 20TH.
One week in October - a 30 minute documentary chronicling the Cuban Missile Crisis
One Day In Berlin- 30 minute documentary featuring JFK'S historic speech at the Berlin wall
The last two days - a 20 minute documentary covering JFK'S last fatal trip to Texas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy & Sheen - unbeatable combination, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I saw part of the mini series and this has lived up to my expectations. Great. Had intended keeping it until later but could not resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy, 12 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD box set offers excellent value for money and Martin Sheen and John Shea are very powerful as the Kennedy Brothers. History is repeated with accuracy although my only critisism is that their golden era is portrayed as just that "golden" although it clearly wasnt. I would still recommend this set to anyone for a rainy Sunday afternoon in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars martin sheen, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
what an excellant film no one plays kennedy like martin sheen i love this film it's my favourite political film martin sheen should be the real president he'd make a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mythical world of Kennedy era, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
John Kennedy was best remembered as the president who stood up to communism on three fronts:the Berlin wall, south east Asia and Cuba.
The sons and daughter, the in-laws and the kids playing football in the front lawn, that must be the Kennedys, a mythical picture which drew me to read about them. Jackie or Jackie Onasise, to me, was the real survivor. The loving mother who shielded their children from the publicity, protected them to make sure they had a normal childhood and at the same time never to forget their father was a good politician. At least his colleagues in the presidential office would testify to that.
Jackie Kennedy was the simple first lady and then,the young widow,turned out to be the strongest.Her son John-John died before her in an air crash.
The movie took the audience on a gentle journey of nostalgia without too much criticism. The jokes were stale because it belonged to the sixties. Even the rocking chair was kept to the details.
The dark shadow of Edgar Hoover,the FBI chief, was a distant past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big hit, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Huge fans of the West wing and despite the age of this series just shows how good Martin Sheen is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KENNEDY, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A Brill film and well worth watching would recomend this to all my friends watched this when it first came on the t v and made me cry as I did when J F K was shot on that day 1963.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good portrayal of a very interesting period in history., 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD covers this period and the Kennedy family quite well. I am not sure how much was totally true, maybe we will never know! It was however enjoyable viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life, 9 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I was 22 when JFK was assassinated so remember a lot of what is contained in this excellent series. It is well worth watching if only for the portrayal of J Edgar Hoover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy box set - a very good drama, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very good - just a few occasions when I felt that a bit more background information would have helped those who haven't studied the whole Kennedy history and related events. Casting and acting extremely good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD]
Kennedy (Box Set) [DVD] by Jim Goddard (DVD - 2003)
£5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews