Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars789
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2010
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was absolutely amazing, in both his acting and his voiceover.

The Bluray comes packaged in a narrow bluray case, which doesn't bother me. In fact I could maybe be doing with more of them to save shelf space. For the record my one was sealed. Picture Quality was extremely good and certainly added to my enjoyment of the film. There was a little grain, but the picture was very clean, and if anything the grain added to the realism in many of the prison scenes. Colours were very good, with a lot of blues and dark scenes that worked very well. Watch out for a scene towards the end with Andy standing in the rain. HD definitely brought something new to what was already a great film,and definitely added to my enjoyment of it. Ratio is 1.78:1 so it fills the screen on a widescreen TV, without stretching the picture.

Sound is much more limited, in the UK version, with Dolby digital 5.1 being the top offering. I understand the US version has a True HD soundtrack, so if that is important to you then you might consider looking for an import on Amazon.

All-in-all it was a great viewing experience though, that held my family spellbound for its whole length of over two hours. Definitely 5 stars in my book.
33 comments|97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2000
This is easily the best of the Steven King based films, even surpassing "The Green Mile", "The Shining" and "Carrie". That alone is merit enough to buy this brilliant film. The cast is topped by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, two of the best actors of their generations. This story revolves around Andy Dufresne (Robbins) and his wrongful conviction of murder and the following ordeal behind the walls of Shawshank Prison. This is a powerful emotionally charged piece of cinematic history and well deserves a place in any video collection.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
This is a film that is heavy on character and dialogue and delivers on both.

The performances by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are outstanding, as are each of the supporting actors. This film was adapted from a short story, 'Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption,' written by Stephen King. Perhaps it is because it's adapted from a short story as to why this works so well as there are only minor changes and nothing essential is left out, leaving the film makers with the ability to strengthen and stretch out the main focus, which is the bond created by the two main characters.
In my personal opinion I would say this film is one of the most successful book to script adaptations in film history.

The direction is brilliant in the way it is almost not noticeable as it relies on the actors and their interactions with each other to keep the audience interested. Cinematography is worth a mention also as each shot is captured beautifully. In summary, Shawshank is a must see and a well deserved film classic.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 September 2013
One of those films that just keeps getting better
every time you see it.

Everyone should see this. Unusually for a film about two men, it's about friendship, and platonic love.

Set in Shawshank Prison, Andy and Red spend twenty years in each other's company. Based on a slight novella by Stephen King, this is one film that I think outclasses the source material.

Incarcerated for murdering his wife and her lover, Andy Dufresne struggles quietly to cope with life in prison, watched by Red, another long-term inmate. Over two decades, the men become friends.

Everything about the film is beautiful. The acting, music, Morgan Freeman's perfectly judged narration.

It's a film you watch every year and know you'll feel the full range of emotions while watching: sadness, pity, anger, hate, and life-affirming joy.

If you've not seen it yet: why not?!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2001
Frank Darabonts suberb prison drama adapted from a Stephen King story gets everything right. The story will keep you hooked right from the start with great moments of tension and a great twist at the end. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both give their best preformances ever. I defy anyone not to feel good after this film.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2003
The Acting is faultless, the storyline is so well directed, you become captivated by this truly brilliant masterpiece. A good Hollywood film, with a tangible narrative, impressive acting, and finds its origins in a Stephen king novel is challenging to come across, however The Shawshank redemption indisputably wins the challenge. Once the film has began, you become totally involved emotionally and mentally to this work of genius. At times the film is so extraordinary shocking it takes your breathe away. The film deals with disdainful, corrupt, cruel prison offices and closeness and love of friendship. Although its over 2 hours long, you just cant move away from the Television screen, as if you have been super glued to youe seat regardless of what is going on around you. Shawshank is so well written, that only towards the end of the film do you fully understand it...
I am not going to give a review of the film in fear of spoiling it for you... just buy it
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2006
The Shawshank Redemption is one of my all time favourite films. Based on a Stephen King short story, it follows the story of one man who is convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. The film follows him through the many years he spends in prison and the people he meets.

A heart-warming story with a fantastic ending. A film everyone should watch at least once
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
The Shawshank Redemption is simply one of the best films ever made.It has everything-good plot,superb acting,perfect casting and a great ending.The film is never dull and keeps you riveted throughout-Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are superb!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
This not on the IMDB number 1 spot for no reason! This is one of the best movies of our recent times and well worth buying to add to your collection. I have gone out of my way to purchase all the top 250 IMDB movies and this remains my number one film of all time.
The acting throughout by all the cast is solid and believable, and the film has you routing for Andy (Tim Robins) from the start.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2005
In 1999, Channel 4 compiled the Top 100 movies of the last century, as voted by the British movie-going public. I'm sure a few eyebrows were raised when The Shawshank Redemption was a surprise entry at number 4. A decade on from its' release, it has grown in justification of its place amongst the likes of The Godfather, Gone With The Wind, Casablanca to name but a few. Director Frank Darabont's screen adaptation of Stephen King's novel, however, did not set the box-office alight, like those films mentioned, upon its' release in 1994. But it's also interesting to note that on its' 10th anniversary, critics and the public voted it the best film never to win an Academy Award. It just goes to show that however many accolades are bestowed upon a film, that doesn't make it what it is. Shawshank is a powerfully moving story that touches every human emotion, from tragedy, despair, fear to humour, friendship and perhaps the most prominent message of the film - hope.
When Banker Andy Dufresne is sent to Shawshank penitentiary, on a double life-sentence, for the brutal murder of his estranged wife and her lover, his own life could be deemed to be over. The first few years of his sentence are the toughest, but forming a friendship with Red, 'the man who knows how to get things on the inside', plus financially advising the prison warden and the guards on accumulating illegal funds, his life becomes bearable at the most.
I won't praise the film anymore than other reviewers have already done, but if anyone were to reward Shawshank anything less than 5-stars, then they haven't watched the film carefully. The DVD comes with a range of special features, most notably the interviews with cast and crew, which is a bonus. Thomas Newman's musical score only adds to the emotion of the film, in parts it is deeply touching. The ending, as many would agree, is nothing less than uplifting.
Supported by a fine cast of character actors, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman exchange some excellent dialogue between themselves, both giving what maybe the performances of their careers. How Freeman was never awarded the Best Actor Oscar in 1995 is astounding, but since then both Robbins and himself, thankfully, have not gone overlooked by the Academy.
It is a film that deserves a classic status, and offers an important message to anyone who maybe in their darkest of hours, when there is nowhere to turn - that their is light at the end of the tunnel. Life without The Shawshank Redemption, would be meaningless.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)