Customer Reviews


554 Reviews
5 star:
 (496)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was...
Published on 6 Mar. 2010 by Mr. James West

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old....
thank goodness I rented this blueray, the transfer is no different to the dvd I already own. save your pennies and give this blueray a miss.
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by smcil1


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent moving drama...., 22 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
Based on a short story by Stphen King (but don't let that put you off-this is not a tacky horror film), which sees Tim Robbins and Morgan Freedman in top form. Robins stars as a man wrongly accused of the murder of his wife and her lover, and who is sent to Shawshank Prison to serve two life sentences. What follows is a moving story of life on the inside and the true meaning of liberty. O.K so this might not be everyone's idea of fun, but this film oozes from every frame and, although it may be a tad overlong it is one of the best films that I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shawshank Redemption - Not your usual prison movie, 16 Oct. 2006
By 
P. O'Neill (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is a film that I think most people can enjoy. It's uplifting, enjoyable and at times, very emotional, as with all the classics; it's the kind of film that you'll want to watch again and again.

Although the film features exactly what you might find in any run of the mill prison movie (that is a particularly brutal guard, a scrupulous warden and the falsely accused protagonist etc), 'The Shawshank Redemption' deviates far from any of your predetermined expectations.

The film revolves around two main characters, a wrongly imprisoned banker named Andy Dufresne and charismatic inmate Red, who can supply "pretty much anything" that his fellow inmates might desire. Shawshank' explores the relationship between these two characters and the way in which each of them, albeit very differently, come to terms with their incarceration.

Robbins' performance as banker Andy Dufresne is provocative and obviously well thought out. His character gradually develops and seemingly accepts his new life with a quiet determination to survive. Morgan Freeman gives a very memorable performance within his characteristically omniscient manner. The other characters intertwined in the plot each add their own elements to contribute the overall warm hearted ethos of the film.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film for all time, 8 Sept. 2004
Tim Robbins turns in the greatest performance of his career in this powerhouse masterpiece that has never been topped for portraying the shocking truth inside a prison. Morgan Freeman is on superior form as Red, who helps And Dufresne (Robbins) survive in the cruel world of Shawshank. The best Stephen King adaptation ever. The best Frank Darabont film ever. Performances from Freeman and Robbins that have never been excelled. Its a concoction that adds up to what has widely become not only a cult classic, but the greatest film for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece, 27 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Shawshank Redemption. (DVD)
The greatest thing about seeing this film is i knew nothing about it when i first saw it on sky several years ago. With no hype surrounding it in my mind i settled back and experianced one of the greatest movies ever made. In my humble opinion it is a perfect film and shows what can be produced by hollywood when they try. Execellent direction, excellent acting and a incredibly faithful to Steven King's excellent short story. As must see movies go this is a ..er.. no THE must see movie of the decade known as the 90's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of the nineties, 26 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
What a wonderful , compelling and moving experience this film is. You feel you are suffering alongside Andy as he is introduced to the brutal regime that exists at Shawshank prison. Not only is this a story about the triumph of the human spirit in the face of seemingly unsumountable odds , it is also about the corruption of others and that what goes around comes around . I could watch this joyous movie 100 times and be capitivated every time .
How Morgan Freeman failed to take the oscar for his performance as the ageing inmate Red is beyond me . If you fail to see this film , your life will be forever incomplete . Simply the most outstanding film of the nineties , and one of the best of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 24 Jan. 2007
By 
K. Quinn (Richhill, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I was one of those lucky people who had the privledge of seeing this masterpiece in the cinema. I had not the first idea about this film and was pursuaded to go and see it with my friends. I have to say the thought of going to see a prison movie did underwhelm me a bit. But I am eternally grateful to my friends. I was totally and utter taken by it...I remember saying to myself in the cinema " I can't believe what I'm watching" it was a watershed moment in my cinematic experiences. Nothing up until that point had resonated so much with me. Needless to say I have it on DVD and I really insist that you should give yourself the luxury of viewing this film. It has got me through some bad times and continues to do so. It's a tale of hope through adversity and you experience all the forms of human emotion within it. You'd be bonkers not to see this movie!!!! Got get it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!!!, 20 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is one of the best I have ever seen. It has absolutely everything that a prison movie has and so much more. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman act their roles brilliantly and no one else could have done any better. This is a must see, time and again movie. It will become one of your all time faves!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** A MUST OWN TIMELESS CLASSIC *****, 16 Oct. 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What can you say about The Shawshank Redemption that hasn't already been said? It must be one of the best loved and indeed greatest films ever made. I do not know anybody that has seen this film that doesn't LOVE it. It really is that superb.
Adapted from Stephen King's novella Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, it tells the story of Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins), an outwardly timid man convicted of murdering his wife and her lover and jailed for life. Arriving at Shawshank prison in 1947, Andy becomes the victim of prison brutality in the early part of his stay but he also befriends another lifer, the prison "fixer" named Red (beautifully played by Morgan Freeman) and his buddies. Through his knowledge of taxation and financial transactions he also becomes popular with the prison warden and the guard that runs his brutal regime but Andy also soon realises that in prison life means life and that's what they try to take from him.
This is the most beautiful and ultimately uplifting film you could ever hope to see, whilst recognising the traditional conventions of prison drama (such as brutality and rape), it is really a film that demonstrates that the human spirit can overcome brutality with faith, friendship (and a rock hammer). This is as close to the perfect film as you will ever get. It is perfectly cast from the leads Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, who give wonderfully understated performances to the supporting cast of Clancy Brown, William Sadler, Bob Gunton and Gil Bellows. It is subtly directed by Frank Darabont who carefully manages to avoid overstatement and oversugaring the cake with sentiment and pathos.
The most amazing thing about this film is that although it was nominated for seven academy awards in 1994 it didn't win any (they were dominated by another great movie, Forrest Gump) and it is described in Leonard Matlin's film guide as "terribly overlong", "hollow and predictable". How wrong could you be? The Shawshank Redemption is a timeless all-time classic that will cast its spell over many people for a long long time to come.
Five stars are often too easily awarded by movie reviewers but this deserves six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great set, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Wezzo (SW England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're reading this review, you probably know that The Shawshank Redemption is a great film. (It's probably my all-time favourite). You might be interested to hear exactly what you get in this set, though.

Despite the product image saying "2 discs", this is actually a 4-disc set. One barebones Blu-Ray disc, with just the movie; three DVDs. The three DVDs appear to be identical to the three released in the Special Edition DVD set back in 2004, so if you've got that set and are unsure whether to sell it off and upgrade, fear not: you can.

The transfer is superb. The steelbook is nice. There are no foreign language audio options or subtitles but there are English HOH subtitles on both the Blu-Ray and the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old...., 8 Oct. 2011
By 
thank goodness I rented this blueray, the transfer is no different to the dvd I already own. save your pennies and give this blueray a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995]
The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2008)
£3.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews