Customer Reviews


417 Reviews
5 star:
 (369)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Mr. James West

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old....
thank goodness I rented this blueray, the transfer is no different to the dvd I already own. save your pennies and give this blueray a miss.
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by smcil1


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was absolutely amazing, in both his acting and his voiceover.

The Bluray comes packaged in a narrow bluray case, which doesn't bother me. In fact I could maybe be doing with more of them to save shelf space. For the record my one was sealed. Picture Quality was extremely good and certainly added to my enjoyment of the film. There was a little grain, but the picture was very clean, and if anything the grain added to the realism in many of the prison scenes. Colours were very good, with a lot of blues and dark scenes that worked very well. Watch out for a scene towards the end with Andy standing in the rain. HD definitely brought something new to what was already a great film,and definitely added to my enjoyment of it. Ratio is 1.78:1 so it fills the screen on a widescreen TV, without stretching the picture.

Sound is much more limited, in the UK version, with Dolby digital 5.1 being the top offering. I understand the US version has a True HD soundtrack, so if that is important to you then you might consider looking for an import on Amazon.

All-in-all it was a great viewing experience though, that held my family spellbound for its whole length of over two hours. Definitely 5 stars in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent film, 24 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The Shawshank Redemption is simply one of the best films ever made.It has everything-good plot,superb acting,perfect casting and a great ending.The film is never dull and keeps you riveted throughout-Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most upliftinf films you will ever see., 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Frank Darabonts suberb prison drama adapted from a Stephen King story gets everything right. The story will keep you hooked right from the start with great moments of tension and a great twist at the end. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both give their best preformances ever. I defy anyone not to feel good after this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!!!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is one of the best I have ever seen. It has absolutely everything that a prison movie has and so much more. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman act their roles brilliantly and no one else could have done any better. This is a must see, time and again movie. It will become one of your all time faves!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was., 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shawshank Redemption. (DVD)
You can deconstruct every movie whatever way you please, give it whatever meaning you want and somebody somewhere will agree.
Ultimately however, regardless of whoever see's in a movie whatever it is they see, it's about how you feel just after the movie, the moment's before emotion subsides and reality returns.
In The Shawshank Redemption all I saw was a nice little film about a man trying to remain human in an inhuman place, and about a man trying to remember what it was like to be human, anywhere.
And I felt good after watching it for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB, 13 May 2008
By 
T. Martin "Cheops" (Burton-on-trent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
One of the bestest films I have ever seen!!!

Superb movie, superb story, ultimate acting... I even liked the villain in this movie!... hats off to the lovely people who created it... its a shame it didn't win the deserved oscar....

Must see atleast ten times in life!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 May 2006
By 
RM Brown "rachmarie1611" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
The Shawshank Redemption is one of my all time favourite films. Based on a Stephen King short story, it follows the story of one man who is convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. The film follows him through the many years he spends in prison and the people he meets.

A heart-warming story with a fantastic ending. A film everyone should watch at least once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant adaptation of the Steven King book, 26 Aug 2003
Just one of those films that makes you think ah yes what a nice day.
Tim robbins gives a wonderfull performance as the intellegent banker wrongfully imprisoned for the murder of his wife and her lover. But where the film really shines is in the interaction between Andy (Tim Robbins) and red (Morgan Freeman) Morgan manages to keep the charisma of charater who was originally ment to be an red haired Irishman whilst giving the his character a human approach to. The plot is great as you come to expect from Steven King books and the film is not to long as some have complained.
At the end you are left with a sense of joy in the final scene that just makes the whole film worth it.

Definately worth watching several times just to pick up on the little subplots you didnt notice the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt the finest prison drama ever made!!!, 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is easily the best of the Steven King based films, even surpassing "The Green Mile", "The Shining" and "Carrie". That alone is merit enough to buy this brilliant film. The cast is topped by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, two of the best actors of their generations. This story revolves around Andy Dufresne (Robbins) and his wrongful conviction of murder and the following ordeal behind the walls of Shawshank Prison. This is a powerful emotionally charged piece of cinematic history and well deserves a place in any video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie should be owned, The greatest!!!!, 22 Dec 2003
Usually i would not like the look of these sort of movies. I looked at the back of the box and thought it would be a really dull film. So i decided to just watch the first 5 minutes. First let me just say it was so amazing i just lost track of time and had to keep watching it. There was not 1 minute in that film which was boring. It is absolutly the greatest film and i think every one should watch it because it is just the best movie you could see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b130e4)

This product

The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995]
The Shawshank Redemption [DVD] [1995] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2008)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews