Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars believe the hype, 17 Sep 2003
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
Having followed this band since their first, 4-track-recorded album "Mirror", I have to say I've thoroughly enjoyed their slow and steady evolution and rise through the underground. While their live shows have always been fantastic, their small amount of recorded output (one full length, one EP, and a handful of singles) up until now has only hinted at the breadth, variety, and brilliance of their music. "echoes" is the masterpiece they've had in them all along. Yeah, they're hyped, yeah, they're courted by the press and the fashion mags and whatnot, but these guys are no trendy neophytes. They pretty much started the disco-punk trend anyway, and while their sound owes a lot to the past, (whose doesn't?) they, along with the DFA, have fashioned a slick but stripped-down sound that sounds both utterly current and instantly classic. They aren't afraid to try new things and venture into new territory, and to test the limits of their audience. (chicago house for the indie crowd?) oh, yeah, and they're actually good songwriters! a truly great album by a truly great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rapture echoes, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
arrived quickly in perfect condition

bought it on the back of hearing "Echoes" as theme for the brilliant "Misfits"

love dance and punk music - this album combines both & all for just a few quid!

buy it now, you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Out of the races and into the lead!", 24 Oct 2003
By 
Stuart Campbell (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
What really marks "Echoes" out from the all of the other new bands on the scene is the diversity it demonstrates. Although, I still think "Out of the races and onto the tracks" is their best song (found on previous mini album and also on Rough Trade's Post Punk compilation, also excellent!) and a fantastic upbeat punk/dance crossover. Imagine elements of the Cure, Joy Division and the Happy Mondays filtered through New York and your not far away. It is essential that you see them live as they are one of the best acts to see in the flesh. I've already seen them 3 times this year and would go again tomorrow. If you genuinely like good music that's a little different from latest batch of copycat bands you'll find a space for this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ECHOES, 12 Jan 2004
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
All I can say is, buy this album. If your looking for a band that's so different from the current guitar,indierock bands on the scene, The Rapture is the one.What attracted me to buy this album is that the band are absolutely brilliant live. I didnt know any of their stuff when i watched them but it encouraged me to add Echoes to my collection. Highly original and well worth owning, for me, it is a mighty fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Amazing - A Must Have., 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
I've had this album since last spring and I still love it. It is a departure from their earlier stuff, which was noisier experimental rock and great as well. Echoes is a mix between dance music, hardcore punk, and Sonic Youth type guitars. I'm not even going to bother telling you what tracks are the best, because every single minute of this album is absolutely perfect. Get it as soon as you can, this one's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phantasmagoria, 23 Oct 2003
By 
M. Fantino (San Francisco, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
You can't go wrong with The Rapture. Of the disco-punk movement, they and Radio 4 are at the top of the heap.
This has been a highly anticipated album. Little leaks of songs have been released here and there for the last several months. DFA had put out a number of fantastic 12" singles that I have been able to snatch up while I was waiting and the Yes New York compilation contains the glorious new vamped-up version of Olio.
Is it any real coincidence that both Blondie and Siouxsie had songs called (The) Rapture? You can hear elements of both that New York disco that Blondie was doing and that spaced out goth that Siouxsie was sculpting back in the day. But, if you can stomach a few more references, what really stands out to me with this album in particular and their two earlier ones is the following scenario: What if Robert Smith stepped up and volunteered his vocals to Joy Division after Ian Curtis ceased to be? Imagine that cusp, where New Order split off and continued with the anxiety Joy Division had but cloaked in a soothing atmosphear of early electronica. I know it's a lot to consider, but I can hear all of that and Robert Smith circa Faith or Pornography.
All that said, it is unfair for me, just a fan, to heap all of this mystique onto a band like The Rapture. If nothing else, Echoes proves that this band is responsible for it's own dynamics.
Now onto the tracks (or, a few of the ones I like best):
Olio has grown tremendously since The Rapture's first album. Listen to both and after a while you will gravitate to this one.
The Coming Of Spring has the familiar "get yourself together" that they used on Out Of The Races And Onto The Tracks. The rest of the song is completely different though.
House Of Jealous Lovers seems to be their hit, though I can't quite say it is better than, say Olio, or Killing. Great cow-bell though.
Killing is the best song on the album and probably one of the best songs ever made. Of the disco-punk movement, I'd say it is the best. If you don't know anything about The Rapture, buy this album just for this song alone. It's that good.
Infatuation is haunting, melancholy and will stay with you in your head for the rest of the day.
Echoes as an album is built up of contrasts, the band seem to be able to do lots of different musical styles but the most interesting thing about it is it blends together so nicely. You hardly notice when one style changes to another.
I buy albums all the time but this one is the best I have picked up in several months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars rapturous!, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
on first listen i thought oh no a sub-quality cure soundalike a la block party ('praps a bit harsh on both?). the casual listen in the car or around the house does this album no favours at all. however, headphones on and its a completely different beast. wacked out dance or psychedelic mayhem? check. 2 fillers you can live with(its yin and yang, maan)? check. i honestly thought my playlist had skipped onto West about 2/3's of the way through!! brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of energy..., 26 Jan 2004
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
At last a band to fill the shoes of the likes of "Suicide" and "The Cure" with the same kinda of energy and strange take of their subject matter with lyrics that are both thought provoking and angry, played against "Big " beats and chainsaw guitars. On the strength of this release I think I might invest in their whole recorded output, a band to watch out for not just for today but for the long haul. I hadn't heard any of the hype that all the other reviews are talking about , no I saw a report about the band on "CNN's" music show "The Music Room". A breath of fresh air in a corporate controlled music industry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down with it., 12 Jun 2004
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
Man, I havent had this much fun since moby, this is really funky, and disco pop, its absolutely genius and crazy, the cowbell in House Of Jealous Lovers, man, good times, not an album youll forget for a while since itll be occupying your stereo for quite some time, it will grip you, believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 9 Nov 2003
This review is from: Echoes (Audio CD)
I feel sorry for the reviewer who can't appreciate this CD. It is a fabulously fresh, original sound--the best of punk (its emotional edge and rawness)combined with the best of dance (makes you want to dance!). Musically complex, a lot going on. You can't miss. This will be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Echoes
Echoes by The Rapture (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews