Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2006
this album is eveything you could want from the chemical brothers with some world class number ones and some others that you may not have heard of.The tracks also improve with listening and there isnt a disappointing track on the album
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A great CD with all the Chemical Brothers hit singles between 93 and 03,
A must have for seasoned CB fans & a good introduction for new fans
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2004
This faultless celebration of dance music's most important names since Kraftwerk demonstrates the diversity and imagination that it is possible to produce within the much maligned genre.
Kicking off with three singles off their fine debut album 'Exit planet dust',this CD continues to impress with the excellent Noel Gallagher collaboration 'Setting sun', the classic 'Block rockin beats' and the otherworldy 'Private psychadelic reel' off the superb 'dig your own hole' album.
The pattern here at this point begins to prove how Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons are peerless singles artists,dance music or not.
The award winning(courtesy of Q magazine) Surrender album from 1999 is also their best,as it contains the second Gallagher featured track 'Let forever be'(a blatant nod to the beatles' 'Tomorrow never knows'),the mind-altering 'Hey boy hey girl' and the infectious 'out of control'.Their criticised follow-up,'come with us' gives us the underrated 'Star guitar' and the well meaning but overlong 'the test',featuring Richard Ashcroft from the Verve on vocal duties.The two new tracks here are no match for the earlier stuff,Wayne Coyne from The Flaming Lips proves he really can't sing on 'The golden path',but 'Get yourself high' is better,a successful effort at replicating Paul Oakenfold's starry eyed surprise single.
Overall,absolutely classic stuff from the duo who even rock muisc fans truly admired.If you don't have any of the albums mentioned above,then this is an essential purchase.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
This was such a bargain. Arrived in excellent condition, really quickly and was cheaper to buy as a CD than just downloading the tracks I really like from any download site.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
never thought id be buying this but glad i did and i blast it
in the car quite often.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
There are very few bands I keep going back to Chicane is one and these guys are the others. This back catalogue of songs is brillant from the word go I have them all on other albums but it's nice just to play the best of best ever once in a while. If your not sure on the Chemical Brothers give this a go you might be surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I purchased this at the time because unfortunately I broke the original CD but I found this to be a great replacement and it played brilliantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
It seems rather odd for a "dance" band to have something as boringly conventional as a "greatest hits" album, but when the dance band in question is The Chemical Brothers, there's an embarrassment of riches to choose from.
As the title suggests, this album traces a chronological line from their arrival on the scene in 1993 with the still-stunning "Song To The Siren", through the commercial zenith of the "Dig Your Own Hole" and "Surrender" albums with the slightly formulaic rock/dance splicing of "Setting Sun" (arguably the best thing Noel Gallagher's ever done, including his work with Oasis) and the heavenly end-of-the-century track "The Private Psychedelic Reel" and the punkish Donna Summer tribute "Hey Boy Hey Girl".
It draws to a conclusion with only a dissappointing two tracks from last year's "Come With Us" (Star Guitar and The Test), arguably their most cohesive work since "Exit Planet Dust" and finishes off with two new tracks, the joyous religion-inspired Flaming Lips collaboration Golden Path and the rather less exciting Get Yourself High neither of which, while quality recordings in their own ways, add much to the Chemical sound which we haven't heard already.
All in all, this is a good story-so-far album, which may also serve as a fine introduction to the band for casual buyers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
The delivery of this cd was as good as the tracks SUPERB. This is certainly my buy of the year. even though my wife hates it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Nice collection of acid tracks, some better than others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.69
£3.99
£2.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)