Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Block Rockin' Treats (groan)
Not as great as it should be; for some bizarre reason they've left off "Life is sweet" & "Music:Response" and in there place the two new songs are the weakest here. So, 3 stars for CD1, but I've given the whole package 4 stars as CD2 includes the seminal "Loops of Fury".
Published on 3 Oct 2003 by jut2k

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Being a big fan of the chemical brothers, the announcement of a compilation album was meet with huge anticipation. One of the leading artists in dance music, with 4 amazing albums under their belt, this collection of tracks had something to live up to. But having purchased the album and listened to it several times I am some what underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong here,...
Published on 15 Oct 2003 by Si Bomwan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 15 Oct 2003
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of the chemical brothers, the announcement of a compilation album was meet with huge anticipation. One of the leading artists in dance music, with 4 amazing albums under their belt, this collection of tracks had something to live up to. But having purchased the album and listened to it several times I am some what underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong here, their are some classic tracks that will never grow tiresome, but there aren't some as well.
The Title of the album gives the game away, this is the chem's best singles from the past 10 years, not their greatest hits. As such it is missing some of the hidden gems found on their albums. So the omission of "Come with us", "Life is Sweet" and "Music:Response" is justified but still annoying. The two new singles added to the end of the CD are not up the usual high standard. Also, some tracks are the single edits rather than the extended LP versions, which in general, flow more smoothly. The inclusion of the bonus disc is could have been the remedy to these problems but they lack any classic tracks bar "Loops of Fury" and "Under The Influence" (though this is a poorer mix too the original). A good idea but executed badly. I know it seems i have been moaning alot about the singles collected, and there are some absolutely rockin' tunes in here, "Setting Sun", "Hey Boy Hey Girl", "Out of Control" and "Star Guitar" are all mammouth dance anthems, but the whole package could have been a whole lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Block Rockin' Treats (groan), 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
Not as great as it should be; for some bizarre reason they've left off "Life is sweet" & "Music:Response" and in there place the two new songs are the weakest here. So, 3 stars for CD1, but I've given the whole package 4 stars as CD2 includes the seminal "Loops of Fury".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early Chemicals, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
Never a fan of these, or the genre, at that time. Bought this with the "Hanna" soundtrack as they were cheapos. All tracks are chronological, so once you get past track 6 you realise that this pair have matured over 5 years, and have begun adding music to the squeeks and farts. They even add vocals near the end! Really 'a game of two halves', the second half is actually quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the chemical brothers 1993 -2003, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
The chemical brothers album is great i would recommend it to any one who wants to buy it and they should look at the other albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars singles, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
bought this as there are a few singles on it i like and it was cheap, so does the trick,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some truly amazing, must-have tracks, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Miss L. G. CAMPBELL (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
If you don't already own anything by the Chemical Brothers, but are looking to get some of their music, then buy this CD, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chemical Brothers - The Singles, 25 Sep 2003
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
After recently attending Creamfields and watching the Chemical Brothers live I just had to buy this album. Although I have liked them since their initial rise to fame I've never bought any of their stuff.
I was not disapointed.
From their early tracks like "Chemical Beats" right up to their latest single "Golden Path" this album has most if not all of the singles they have released in the last 10 years.
I just hope the speakers in my car can cope with the abuse I'm giving them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blcok Rockin' Music, 7 Oct 2003
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
Tom and Ed are the Chemical Brothers, and have been doing their thing since 1993. As it's now ten years of their career, their record label decided to do a sort of "greatest hits", which made me kinda cringe when I saw it.
How wrong was I? This album is excellent, it's like listening to every album with only the hits, which is fantastic. Song to the Siren is as fresh as the day it came out, with it's acidic squeltching and it's brassic beats, with that cool siren whailing in the background.
Chemical Beats, used on the first WipEout is still cool without the games controll in your hand. With it's squeltching acidic 303 sound, you can't help but reach for the volume knob, Tom and Ed sure knew how to keep gamers playing, and clubbers dancing.
Another favourite has to be leave home, with the classic sample "The Brother's Gonna Work It Out"; and Oasis frontman Noel Galagher's colaboration, Setting Sun, which is just pure cool and sounds like it should be in a movie.
This look at Singles would be nothing if I didn't mention the excellent guitar fueled Block Rockin' Beats, with it's bassy beats and sample landscape. The whole track reminds you of great Sunday afternoons back in '96 when this used to be blazing out of your stereo.
Other classics include the excellent Hey Boy Hey Girl, Out Of Control, Star Guitar and the wierd but cool colaboration with The Flaming Lips, The Golden Path, with it's off key singing and it's funky guitar.
CD2 is just as well done, Not Another Drug Store and If You Kling To Me I’ll Klong You, which stick out in my head.
Altogether this is an excellent retrospecive into The Chemical Brothers, and even if you own the albums, this is worth getting hold of. Excellently put in order, and funky acid music. I can't find any faults with this album, it's pure class, a definate for clubbers and people who generally love their sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chemical Brothers - Singles 1993 -2003 (Limited Edition), 29 Sep 2003
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
(...) 10 years and 4 albums later, the Brothers are still at it and this compilation is a timely reminder of their contribution to the modern dance scene. However, like most greatest hits packages, the track selection does little justice to the artist. There are roughly 3 tracks taken from each album and that is a bit like reading 10 pages from a 500 page book. The injustice is mitigated somewhat by the inclusion of a bonus disc which contains an additional 11 previously unreleased/b-sides/live tracks. For the diehard fans this might be one to complete the collection, plus it contains two new songs. But for those who want to know what the Brothers are really about, save your money and buy the original albums. This is just an appetizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to hear from the chemicals, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Singles 1993-2003 (Audio CD)
If you like the chemical brothers then this is the album for you. Its got all the essential tracks that you need including block rockin' beats and let forever be as you would expect from a greates hits album but also some good tracks on the bonus disc which are well worth investigating. All in all you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles 1993-2003
Singles 1993-2003 by The Chemical Brothers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews