Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Declare this a triumph
Muse remain the ultimate acquired taste. Bombastic, over-dramatic and often progressive in style, listeners usually decide to hate them with a passion, or pronounce them the greatest thing in the history of the world. Absolution is their third studio album, and while it's clear it will appear to more people (It seems to shed Origin Of Symmetry's raw edge), there is no...
Published on 7 Jan. 2005 by matt_foster_1988

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like Radiohead's OK Computer, but not as good
Maybe Muse are a little more polished than Radiohead, maybe they are a little more accessible, maybe they a bit less weird, but there are bits of OK Computer that can reduce me to tears, and others that are some of the most uplifting music I own, and I can't say that about Absolution. Maybe it'll grow on me, but typically, first impressions are correct.
Published 15 months ago by Ian Ransome


‹ Previous | 128 29 3033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolution (MP3 Download)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 22 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
This is a great album but if you are going to buy this cd get the special dvd edition from [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELENT!, 27 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
This an excelent album. This is the most original collection of music i have ever heard. Wether you like muse or not you must buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album in years!, 30 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
Great CD! just buy it!!!!!.
Thanks to Muse for giving us such a master piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audacious To Say The Least, 18 Jan. 2004
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
It has to be said that there's not a lot of bands out there like Muse. I've never been a really huge fan of theres, and I must say, still aren't, but they've had potential and have certainly grown with it. I'm sure everyone reading this has heard the 'Radiohead-also-rans', comments about their first album, which was later brushed off, but Muse have turned into something quite differently, and there isn't anything else like them right now. They're audacious. And here's something else audacious: if Queen had been around today, then they would have, more than likely, been Muse. There's a huge falsetto, totally satisfying guitars and just a special sense of grandeur...
Admittedly, Brian May would have to have been off his head on speed and Freddie Mercury would have had to be have been very mental (yes, more so), and be completely paranoid. I am in no way saying that this band are better than Queen, because they aren't. Queen are the greatest band of all time, whereas Muse at this moment in time are one of the greatest bands in the world. The contrasts on 'Absolution' are immense and huge, the light and the dark can often merge into one and the soft and the hard are as paranoid as their writers.
'Apocalypse Please', is a huge piano focussed armaggedon style song, that stretches Matt Bellamy's vocals further than ever, and its sonically surging chorus makes the most secure person that little bit insecure. Single, 'Time Is Running Out', is a quiet-loud bomb, that's like Nirvana only less painful, and more like an army marching through your speakers...'Absolution' does have its sweeter sides, such as the gentle introduction to 'Falling Away With You', and the surging highlight, 'Butterflies & Hurricanes' (it is a quite literal title), which contains soft and hard vocals, a stomping piano and sweeping musical movements.
There's more than just a hint of a roller coaster about 'Absolution', as straight after the sweet 'Sing For Absolution', follows the ear-splitting riff-a-thon of 'Stockholm Syndrome', and the powerful 'Endlessly' shortly before the jumpy, 'Thoughts Of A Dying Atheist', leaving most of those Radiohead comparisons far behind, and leaving you wondering who should be up there on the pedestal, Radiohead or Muse themselves. I know what my choice is...
There's 14 tracks of ups and downs and inside outs on Muse's 'Absolution', and where it's not for the faint hearted, it's also certainly not for those who like their music simple and straight as an arrow. This is probably the only music that's entered the British charts all year that has a sense of being somewhat classic about it, because in these modern, one has to say, 'paranoid' days, this is as close to British modern day classic rock as you're going to get.
So they may be paranoid and if you like, 'modern', but Muse has the aspects, the grandeur, the memorability and perhaps even the 'camp' to live up to past masters, but never quite be them. I don't think that's possible anymore, but just doing what Muse do and have done is a hard feat within itself, and they've never lost that sense of individuality, which not only makes them one of the best bands in the world, it makes them the best band in Britain, and is also a personal triumph within themselves.
4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some brilliant but some awful, 25 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
The first thing that struck me when listening to this for the first time was that for every brilliant moment on the album there was a bland filler.
The album starts on a good note with apocalypse please, a pounding wonderfully bleak track.
Time is running out is a mildly interesting song at its best but it quickly wore out for me.
Sing for absoultion and stockholm syndrome are both very good songs in their own way. Sing for absolution is beautiful and calming, stockholm syndrom is a forceful, emotional song.
Falling away with you, endlessly and blackout are awful, these are the worst songs matt has ever written.They are weak, winey tracks.
Hysteria and the small print are both loud heavy tracks, very catchy and good to sing to, I love these!
Thoughts of a dying atheist starts off well but the chorus can get a bit tiresome after a lot of listening.
The album ends with ruled by secrecy, a quiet yet moving song with lyrics that get you thinking.
I would say that this album is worth getting simpley because, there are some outstanding tunes, just be prepared to use the skip button on the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent style of interpretive rock music., 28 Sept. 2003
By 
MR R G BAKER (Croydon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
I have just recently bought Absolution by muse and i found it a brilliant album with styles of music for all people. with two of it's best tracks, time is running out and stockholm syndrome, on the album it is sure to sell out in most music store's quickly. muse have only just become a massive sucess because of there latest hit time is running out and i think that in this point of time there going to get more publicity then they have ever had in the past. i only heard of muse a year ago when someone i knew told me about them, since then i had listen to there songs and watched there video's over and over again that i decided to by there latest album, i found it to be an amazing album and i shall soon be buying there past three albums, showbiz, hullulabo and origen of symmetry extremely soon. i recommend it to anybody who likes music and i give it a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The worst Muse album., 14 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
This is a good album, which for any other band would be a compliment, but not for Muse. Origin Of Symmetry and Hulabaloo are both amazing albums, and anticipating the release of Absolution I was hoping I could say the same thing about it, but alas - nope.
There are some excellent tracks here (Butterflies & Hurricanes, TSP), but I think Muse are past their best now. I hope I'm wrong and that the next album will be a packed with grandeur and as big as Origin Of Symmetry was, and not as mainstream as Absolution. I think that's the main problem with this album - Not weird enough. I say Muse get back on the Magic Mushrooms and impress me again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muse at their best, 8 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
Muse are really one of those bands that u like or u hate. If u like them then if u havent already got this album then u must order it now. Its basically nearly all fast upbeat songs (time is running out, hysteria) and even then some of the slower stuff is still brilliant (butterflies and hurricanes).
Simply its BRILLIANT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Album of Contrasts, 1 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Absolution (Audio CD)
Having read a few of the reviews for this album, I am left wondering why typically only people who love or hate a genre / band / album feel inclined to put there keyboard where their mouth is an dstump up an insightful review!
Well, to break with precedent, here is a review from someone who has attempted to bring some objectivity to the party!
This is truly an album of contrasts.
On the one hand, you have tracks that are astonishing in all aspects - lyrical content, musical ability, production, the works. Hysteria, Time Is Running Out and Thoughts of a Dying Athiest spring to mind, and the album is worth buying for these tracks alone.
On the other hand, you have a number of tracks that feel more like "filler" than "killer" (apologies to all those Sum 41 fans out there!), including Apocolypse Please, Sing for Absolution and Endlessy". I find it amazing that the tracks are allowed to share the same space inside the CD cover.
I am not quite sure what happened here, as it seems to me that Muse are a band on the up with tremendous ability, and that they are more than capable of penning great tracks by the shedload.
This album is worth buying, and I play it regularly hoping that the tracks I don't like will grow on me, but it ain't happened yet. My advice is buy the album, work out which songs you like (there will be a few - I would say at least half of them), then put those onto a separate CD and just play those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolution
Absolution by Muse (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews