Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very frustrated fan! This stands as a great achievement.
I have always had time for Travis. The modest individuals that make up the supremely talented band exhibit an honesty and earnestness that is quite refreshing in an increasingly image centric industry.

Whilst The Man Who and The Invisible Band satisfied on so many levels the follow up, 12 Memories, threw people off with a completely different direction in...
Published on 10 May 2007 by Mr. Cj Jothi

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm...
Now I used to really like Travis; they were a dirty little secret, the guys who sold out, but still kept a piece of your heart. From the sing-a-long woe of "Why does it always rain on me" to the quiet beauty of "As you are" or "Slideshow". Whatever they did they retained the ability to tug at the heart strings and make you forgive the oh so commercial melodies and lack of...
Published on 15 Mar 2004 by sendmeuselesscrap


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very frustrated fan! This stands as a great achievement., 10 May 2007
By 
Mr. Cj Jothi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
I have always had time for Travis. The modest individuals that make up the supremely talented band exhibit an honesty and earnestness that is quite refreshing in an increasingly image centric industry.

Whilst The Man Who and The Invisible Band satisfied on so many levels the follow up, 12 Memories, threw people off with a completely different direction in songwriting. Yet the signs were always there. From the domestic abuse riddled 'Blue Flashing Light' that reared its ugly head at the end of The Man Who to the murderous intentions of 'The Last Train' on Invisible Band, Travis have never been ones to make sweeping generalisations about.

12 Memories explores darker themes for longer and the moments of hope, and love found and conquered, still remain somewhat subdued, no matter how beautiful in their execution.

Where this album excels however is in the intricate instrumentation. Few people seem to have mentioned just how complex yet potent the passages of music are in the 50 or so minutes that ensue. It equals any Beatles record I have heard, in both originality and sheer technical quality.

Minus the absolutely dire Paperclips every song on 12 Memories deserves repeated listens. It is a masterclass in musicianship and despite the lukewarm commercial success it is quite clearly a monumental achievement for a band who are consistently underrated and misperceived as a simplistic, dull pop hit making band. 12 Memories underlines this, and stands near the top of my list of treasured records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album I have been waiting for, 2 Dec 2003
By 
Chris Jothi (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
Travis are a band who have often divided the opinions amongst my friends. They are either seen as the wonderful indie band who pen solid, radio friendly music, or the band who just bore people to death with their monochrome, monotonous MOANY music.
Now clearly both camps are completely wrong. Travis are a British band, who with their first three albums were finding a voice. Their debut was an immature, highly energised attempt at glam rock that flashed signs of excellent musical ability. The Man Who took the band in a completely different direction. It's reflective nature, which initially alienated a great deal of the major critics, stood well with the fans. Glorious songs such as The Fear, Driftwood and The Last Laugh Of The Laughter underlined a true songwriting gift in Fran Healy, and the band began to fit more comfortably with each other. The unexpected multi-platinum success weighed a great deal of expectation on their follow-up, The Invisible Band.
The last album did little for the band's image. Musically I find it an absolute joy to listen to yet lyrically Healy seemed to be writing from the outside looking in, as opposed to the inside out. Sing and Side commanded the radio waves for long enough and the band slowly retreated. They simply wanted to be out of the limelight.
The Invisible Band however did not leave a great after taste. It was almost too sweet, too pleasurable a listen. Once The Strokes and Coldplay's more aggressive Rush of Blood... arrived Travis had swiftly been put into the background, but myself and a small number of people knew, just knew that their fourth album would be something to reckon with, and with five stars glaring and truly glowing pride, I am here to say that 12 Memories is an astonishing record.
The three main subjects of this album are domestic abuse, relationships and national leaders (more specifically, you Mr Blair). Healy reaches further into his private emotions than ever before and has written a number of effective, poignant songs that I would argue are as efficient as anything Neil Young has written. Peace The F**k Out stands as one of the very, VERY few protest songs in recent years (and how timely). It isn't really a protest song either, but more a pledge for Tony Blair to change. Again, there are no superfluous words. The lyrics are terse and the message is aggressive. And the wonderful thing is it feels so natural. I would hate if Healy wrote a political song just because fans and critics want him to, but it clearly is not the case here. The songs regarding domestic abuse are indeed harrowing but never offputting. Their awkward subject matter is communicated through such lyrical and musical poetry that I would argue it is a more pleasurable listen than any pop song about love in the charts today. Then of course the love songs arrive and you wonder why anyone has a problem with Travis at all. After all, all you need is love, and Healy has got some beeeuuutifull songs under his belt on this record, which leads me to Somewhere Else.
Track seven should be a single, and if not it should be the number one requested song at every gig of their's until Fran writes a better one! The piano motif, Fran's stunning, soft voice, the drums that are more prominent in this album than ever before, and Andy's exceptional guitar playing, punctuating key moments in this song create a heavenly ballad about simply wanting to be somewhere else. Coldplay are a wonderful band but I would say this song connects with me more on a personal level than Coldplay's epic, ethereal music ever will.
The musicianship is above and beyond the band's best. I would argue Quicksilver and The Beautiful Occupation have as many spine-tinglingly good moments as any on Abbey Road or Revolver. And this continues right through to the very last track, where simple piano chords accompany a beautifully produced synthesiser beat on Some Sad Song. It's all sumptuous stuff.
So here it is guys, put aside your personal grifts with Healy's goody two shoes image, your assumptions of everything the band are about and buy/borrow/steal this album (ideally from a friend : ). Listen to it, but like all great albums give it time. It ages better than the most vintage of wines and no doubt will leave a far better, longer lasting taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travis..with a twist, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
On a first listening, it's not the Travis die hard fans know and love, but give it chance and it won't be out of your cd player for a long time...I started off almost disliking this cd, thought it was bland and average, but it really does get inside your head, now i cant stop listening to it..
Opening with Quicksand and Beautiful Occupation both upbeat and quite commercial, the current single follows, then a brilliant track, Peace the F..k out, Fran at his endearing best! How Many Hearts and Somewhere Else (my favourite track) could be strong contenders for the next single, both really catchy, and most people will have already heard the wonderful Love Will Come Through, soundtrack to Moonlight Mile and available previously as a charity record after the drummer's spinal injury.I think the album has a couple of fillers, Paperclips and Walking down the Hill in particular. The cd finishes with the 'hidden' track, In the Church, a lovely laid back piano complimenting Fran's voice, really wonderful end to a brilliant 4th album for a band in Coldplay's league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, refreshing, and different., 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
I was a little hesitant upon purchasing this album. Now, i'm a big travis fan, and in my opinion, 'the man who' was one of the greatest albums produced in the 1990's and was a superb follow up to their up-beat, and underestimated debut. It was rarely out of my c.d. player for at leas 3 moths after buying it, and it still gets listened to now (the sign of a great album). It did get a little over-played but was a genuine groundbreaker for the band. However, the invisible man was a little too mellow and cheery for me. The soulful rhythms of 'the man who' were somewhat swallowed by the need to produce effective "pop" tunes, that appealed to all, and maintained travis' reputation as the leaders in accessible music. I felt the invisible man tailed off, and hoped that '12 memories' would once again return to the level they had set themselves. All of this, coupled with my bank statements stopped me rushing out and buying it.
I did in the end risk it, and I am so, so glad. This album is already one of my favourites of the year so far. It is easy to listen to, and yet not in the least tedious. The melodies on the album perhaps don't have the same hook that 'the man who' did, (which is endearing - trust me) but after one, two, or fourteen plays, the tunes keep coming back to you. The opening tracks are both emphatic, and harmonious and carry a strong message.
Fran's vocals are once again a wonder, and bring back positive memories of some of their best work on their previous albums. Quicksand is such a good track that you will have difficulty resisting the repeat button! I promise that the purchase of this album is both worthwhile and essential. Travis have moved in a new direction, and the transition has been smooth and brilliant. Similar to radiohead, blur and others, travis have adapted to the change in the current music scene, and it is to their eternal credit. It gives their work a sense of meaning, and gives them a chance to throw off the unjust labels that have dogged them since their emergence (cup of tea and a copy of readers digest anyone?).
The album is, as many people wasted no time in pointing out, much darker and more thoughtful, but this in no way detracts from what gave them their appeal in the first place. If you enjoyed the 'man who', or 'the invisible band' then you will enjoy this album. Throughout the album runs an undercurrent of paranoia and existentialism, which gives the album an edge, that will force itself repeatedly into your c.d. player.
I urge you - buy this album. If you like travis, and especially if you like both travis and the haunting anthems that radiohead have recently produced, then this album will do your c.d. collection justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travis traverse a much different path..., 23 Oct 2003
By 
mmecham76 (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
I couldn't wait for this album. I've been a fan of Travis from the get-go. Good Feeling (their first album - hunt it down, it's pretty good) was a bit poppy but had some real gems (Falling Down is very powerful) but with "The Man Who" they really hit the top spot and I still play it almost daily. I wasn't overly impressed with "The Invisible Band" as it seemed too commercial and a very poor cousin to Coldplay's "Parachutes".
12 Memories changes all that though. On the first listen I was shocked. I was expecting (and hoping) for something as easily accessible as "The Man Who" - instant and powerfully emotive; not so with this CD. What you get here is a very dark collection of tracks which reward you with each listen. Favourites include "Mid-Life Krysis" with a melody that refuses to leave you and you'll find yourself humming it for days to come. "Paperclips" is quite experimental and you'll be hard pushed to find a darker track.
Get the CD but if you're expecting "The Man Who Two" you'll be initially disappointed - but stick with it and you'll grow to love Travis' new sound and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars give it time!!!, 17 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
At first I was really disappointed with this album because none of the songs instantly grabbed my attention. I'm a huge travis fan and although the last album, The Invisible Band sounded like The Byrds and well didn't really feature any particularly dark songs, I still liked it. This one however, seemed a bit strong at times, preaching to listeners and never appeared to get going.
But after five listens, (and hard work it was too) I was hooked! I deliberatly sat down and forced myself to listen to it, determined to like it and I was proven completely wrong! It's a great album, yeh totally different from it's three predecesors but still brilliant in its own right. The best songs here are Quicksand, which reminds me of being in an Irish bar, Re-offender, love will come through
People criticise Travis and have done ever since the man who because they haven't produced an album like it again. But if the band were stuck in their old ways, making the same music they'd still be criticised for not trying anything new.
And this is new and it shines. It's nothing like anything you've heard from Travis and is like no other band at the minute.
So give this one time, persevere and you'll be rewarded!!!
I put my hands up in shame, I judged this one on first impressions alone and I was wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 5 Dec 2003
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
This album is truly wonderful: to be honest, I bought it because I just wanted something to drown out next door's TV. It was incredible luck that I picked up such a fantastic album! I would go through every single track but I'd say the same for each one: they are all true words of emotion, made obvious not only by Fran Healy's incredible voice but the whole band's fantastic sense of rhythm and timing. Quicksand, How many hearts and Paperclips do truly shine, along with the excellent Love Will Come Through. This album will be on my CD player for a long time to come, and it should be on yours too. It's fantastic on its own, never mind as a fourth album which can be a time when a lot of bands start to lose their attraction. Although slightly different from Travis' "staple sound", the lilts of Why Does It Always...? can be heard in many of the songs on 12 Memories, along with a load of new and refreshing sounds. Buy this album, whether a traditional Travis fan or not (I wasn't): it really is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Am I getting old!!, 24 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
I got this CD for my brother for Christmas, and decided to give it a try. Usually into stuff nothing like "Travis" I was surprised by how quickly it has grown on me. Now at risk of being totally disowned by my friends, I have to stand up and confess "I like 12 Memories". I can't compare it to anything else of theirs cos I don't know their work. But as this album stands, I think if you ever disliked Travis before, you might, actually like this. Then again, maybe its my age!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a mature return, 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
'The man who' has sold 8 platinum and 'the invisible band' has sold 4 platium. It's always hard to do a good follow-up especially after you have had massive success. However, because of Neil's accident, Travis had two years of rest during which Fran has come up with 12 brilliant memories. He has proved that he can do better.
The old formula has been wiped out. A more upbeat approach is used in certain songs. One can see the come back of the feeling of their debut 'good feeling'. Having said that, the lyrics has become gloomy. Yup, no more flowers. As everyone has seen, their first single 're-offender' has critised the problem of domestic violence. Although it might not be everyone's cup of tea, their political point view might not be agreed by everyone, but the memorable melody is definitely appealling to everyone.
If you are looking for 'why does it always rain on me' second, I am sorry, '12 memories' is not for you. If you are looking for an album seeing Travis exploring a more mature side, '12 memories' is definitely the choice to complete your CD collection. You will find 12 songs in different styles expressing different opinions which are worthwide to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mature return, 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: 12 Memories (Audio CD)
'The man who' has sold 8 platinum and 'the invisible band' has sold 4 platium. It's always hard to do a good follow-up especially after you have had massive success. However, because of Neil's accident, Travis had two years of rest during which Fran has come up with 12 brilliant memories. He has proved that he can do better.
The old formula has been wiped out. A more upbeat approach is used in certain songs. One can see the come back of the feeling of their debut 'good feeling'. Having said that, the lyrics has become gloomy. Yup, no more flowers. As everyone has seen, their first single 're-offender' has critised the problem of domestic violence. Although it might not be everyone's cup of tea, they have much more to offer. The highlight should go to 'peace the f**k out' in which the f-word first appears from their album. Their political point view might not be agreed by everyone, but the memorable melody is definitely appealling to everyone.
If you are looking for 'why does it always rain on me' second, I am sorry, '12 memories' is not for you. If you are looking for an album seeing Travis exploring a more mature side, '12 memories' is definitely the choice to complete your CD collection. You will find 12 songs in different styles expressing different opinions which are worthwide to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12 Memories
12 Memories by Travis (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews