Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, but watch it more than once to appreciate!
ive noticed that this film's reviews so far seem to waiver from one extreme to the other (from very good to very, very bad) but in an attempt to clear this up i would encourage people to watch this film more than once and try to watch it with friends if you can. Its a proper lads film and i think lads will appreciate it the most, and despite it being quite slapstick its...
Published on 20 Sept. 2005 by robbid17

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor blu-ray transfer.
I'm very disappointed with the quality of this transfer. It is very grainy - on a par with Ghostbusters. Quality comedy, but not on blu-ray. I'd stick with the DVD.
Published on 12 Oct. 2011 by Ry


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, but watch it more than once to appreciate!, 20 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
ive noticed that this film's reviews so far seem to waiver from one extreme to the other (from very good to very, very bad) but in an attempt to clear this up i would encourage people to watch this film more than once and try to watch it with friends if you can. Its a proper lads film and i think lads will appreciate it the most, and despite it being quite slapstick its comedy is far more adult and a lot more subtle than the american pie, road trip movies which U.S audiences have become so accustomed to.
After a few watches i loved this film so much, its a classic! your my boy blue, frank the tank ('honey do ya think kfc's still open?!'), the swearing band at the wedding and of course- the fat guy falling through the manhole! theres too many classic moments here and its definately ferrells best performance to date, it also launched vince vaughn in a big way as he's hardly been off the screen since! its a feel good movie too and every guy who's nearing 30 will appreciate this movie as livin the dream, again!!!
watch it (maybe twice) and u'll love it i promise!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedies of the last few years, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Forget what people say about comparing this to American Pie and other 'teen' dross comedies. It's not a teen comedy, it's an adult comedy with a big heart and a lot of 30-something angst...that just happens to be set in a college.
I can't sit and watch American Pie...it's just pointless teenage comedy...nothing I can relate to there. I expected the same sort of thing with Old School but being a Vaughn/Ferrell/Wilson fan I thought I'd give it a go...never expecting to enjoy it let alone love it as much as I do.
The plot is routine...but it's the characters - and the excellent cast who play them - that make the movie. If you're a guy in your thirties or a girl who knows guys in their thirties you will relate to the three main characters. Guys who have suddenly realised they're supposed to be grown up and that for the rest of their lives they are expected to behave as responsible adults. It's the kind of shock to the system you get at that age...playtime's over...nothing between you, crown green bowling and daily doses of Countdown.
So our three heros decide to rebel...they take a last grasp at being dumb, irresponsible lads. The poignant thing is that, bar perhaps Frank, they actually end the movie accepting that maybe growing up isn't that bad after all.
So intentionally or not this movie does have a point to make...and it's done with great affection.
Added to the fact that it is also totally hilarious...and I mean laugh out loud, still smile thinking about it days later, hilarious. Also check out the DVD commentary - Vaughn, Wilson, Ferrel and director Todd Phillips....very very funny. The other DVD extras are really funny too.
If you have a sense of humour and you're anywhere near being a 30-something you cannot help but love this movie.
'I can see Blue. He's glorious'
Comedy genius...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mitch-a-palooza!!, 24 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Oh yes, i like this film! Perfect to stick on after the pub!
Alright it may not be the most highbrow of films but it certainly delivers on the belly-laughs front. There a quote's a plenty contained within and are often recited between my housemates ("we're going streaking!!") The characters are instantly likeable especially Will Ferrell's "Frank 'the Tank'" who often bring memories of many of our own drunken nights back! Vince vaughn is great as the cynical married man ("i'm married, do i look happy to you?"), and Luke Wilson turning in a strong performance as the gutted Mitch.
There are plenty of gags here, including a brilliant breeze-block off the side of a building moment, and the KY jelly wrestling tournament is something i'm sure every bloke wants in his basement! Like most teen movies around, the ending is somewhat predictable, but then when you've laughed so hard from the start, who really cares?!
In summary, the characters work really well with each other, with Frank being nearly everyone's favourite and is superbly played by Ferrell (go check him out in Starsky and Hutch, another star-turn there too!) the plot, although somewhat formulaic, certainly trundles along nicely with plenty of eye-candy (the simply luuuuuurrrvely Elisha Cuthbert) and many others, with enough gags and witty scripting to keep you chuckling all the way through!
Even if the concept of fraternities doesn't really exist in the UK, i'm gonna make a damn good stab at starting one!
All together now- "we're going up through the quad, and into the gymnasium!!"
Brilliant!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Genius, 9 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is perhaps my all time favourite comedy, possibly being nudged into 2nd place by Dumb & Dumber.
If you like:
Dumb & Dumber
Dodgeball
Happy Gilmore
Caddyshack
Starsky & Hutch
Meet the Parents
etc
Then you will love Old School
From the brilliant version of Total Eclipse of the Heart by the wedding band at the beginning of the film you know your watching a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLUE!.......You're my boy Blue!!!, 3 April 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is such a great, funny film! There is soooooo much stuff in here to laugh at that I can't pick what to write about!
Everyone has picked up on the performance of Will Ferrel and I have to agree with them. He brings alive such a wonderfully funny character in 'Frank The Tank' that I wish he were one of my friends!
The whole story is really absurd but so hilarious that you just don't care. There are some real corkers in this movie that more than make up for anything you may find a little too far fetched.
Seann William Scott of Road Trip fame puts in a brilliant cameo too. It's one of my fave scenes. There are some scenes that are so funny that you may find yourself sitting in a little yellow puddle!!!
I was going to write down my fave 5 scenes but I can't pick! Do yourself a favour and buy this film now because you WILL want to watch it again and again!
(that is if you have ANY sense of humour and you're not some kind of boring, sad old fart!!!)
Nuff said me thinks!!!
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formula unchanged but who wants that?, 3 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ok so if you don't like teen comedy then this film isn't for you. That being said if you do like it then this film is definatley a must see. It sticks strictly to many teen comedy scripts i.e. the quintessential characters; one of lifes losers, the wacky one and a voice of reason looking to party. However the respective ages of these people may reach the over 80's but it still doesn't deminish the humour. This film will make you laugh, cry and hurl, just like every teen movie should. A standing ovation to Will Ferrell wouldnt go amiss either as he is the true star of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor blu-ray transfer., 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm very disappointed with the quality of this transfer. It is very grainy - on a par with Ghostbusters. Quality comedy, but not on blu-ray. I'd stick with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun adult comedy, 13 May 2013
This surprised me; the idea of a film where grown up immature guys create their own frat-house sounded like a pretty dire exercise in over-the-hill wish fulfilment to me, but it's executed so well that all of the characters remain likeable, or at least funny enough to watch. Luke Wilson is likeable and sweet as the jilted guy who has his new bachelor pad hijacked by his immature friends, Vince Vaughan is amusingly amoral as his sarcastic buddy and plot instigator, and Will Ferrell is inspired in a role that launched his career. As Frank 'The Tank' he gets many of the best laughs of the movie. Pranks abound, but the gags are generously shared between gross out stupidity, social embarrassment and sly adult humour, and at the end of the twisty but faintly predictable plot, we didn't mind the faint race of 'seen it before' because it had been done with such verve and energy tat it felt fresh. Watch it and have great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old School!, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Chung "Panda's King" (Britannia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
At first, I thought the film was going to be as expected. American Pie like, once-only film. But I was proven VERY wrong.

The story is simple complexity. There's a lot of twists along the way, and although there are times where you'll be unsure, you'll enjoy it fully.

But the real joy of this film lies in the characters. Each defining on their own, and defining as a whole. It really does take you back to the times where you're in College (universities).

However, one cannot overlook the most important aspect of this movie; the girls. There's nothing more to be said. If you have experienced the sheer madness of colleges, then you'll understand why this is a truly great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank the Tank, 21 May 2011
This review is from: Old School [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest films ever. I highly reccommend this film to everyone it will have you in hysterics. The films also a grower where everytime you watch it you laugh more even though you see the craziness coming. Its's a film that whenever you sit back and think about it you can't help but giggle. It's full of great moments and great lines. Plus Will Ferrell is fantastic, possibaly at his best in a very likeable role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old School [DVD] [2003]
Old School [DVD] [2003] by Todd Phillips (DVD - 2006)
£2.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews