Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and disturbing.
This powerful often shocking film charts in some considerable detail the rise to power of Adolf Hitler from his early years until his emergence as Germany's ruler. Sadly it does not include the Second World War itself.
The performance of Robert Carlyle in the role of Hitler is nothing short of remarkable with virtually every possible character trait of the Nazi...
Published on 11 Dec 2003 by M. D Roberts

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish
I may not make any friends by writing this but i can honestly say this is the worst film about Hitler i've ever seen. I have great respect for Robert Carlyle as an actor, but find his portrayal of Hitler totally unbelievable.

There are a number of innacuracies surrounding Hitlers character in this which i find totally unrealistic. An example of this would be...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Mr. I. J. Garner


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and disturbing., 11 Dec 2003
By 
M. D Roberts (Gwent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This powerful often shocking film charts in some considerable detail the rise to power of Adolf Hitler from his early years until his emergence as Germany's ruler. Sadly it does not include the Second World War itself.
The performance of Robert Carlyle in the role of Hitler is nothing short of remarkable with virtually every possible character trait of the Nazi dictator being captured and portrayed in an incredibly convincing manner.
This presentation stunningly captures what can only be described as the inherent, virulent, irrational hatred of the Jews present within the life of Hitler, even from his earliest years. A hatred which underlies a vast section of this performance. The film even portrays this personal hatred throughout Hitler's service in the trenches of the First World War and how he blames the Jews for not only the war itself but for all the nation's ills.
Many viewers will perhaps find the portrayal of this historical hatred quite disturbing, along with the ease in which his followers and so much of the German populace readily adhered to the policies of racial hatred so commendably depicted in this production which describes the German nation as "happily surrendering it's voice to one man". It is impossible to provide further details in a review without "revealing the plot".
At the outset the audience is appropriately directed to the quote by Edmund Burke which states "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing". The viewer then proceeds to see how this very precept was acted out within the Third Reich.
This film really is a "must view" irrespective of the individual's take on history. Some students of history might indeed disagree with the accuracy of some aspects of the presentation. Despite this I highly recommend this presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie / documentary, 16 July 2009
By 
R. F. H. Hundertmark "Mondeo-Power" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This movie/documentary gives a good idea of how a person can retrieve power in times when people have lost confidence in everything. It also shows the different characters of Hitler and the reaction of his close ones to these characters. If you have seen this movie, you will see how politicians make use of the same way of acting in these days of crisis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I may not make any friends by writing this but i can honestly say this is the worst film about Hitler i've ever seen. I have great respect for Robert Carlyle as an actor, but find his portrayal of Hitler totally unbelievable.

There are a number of innacuracies surrounding Hitlers character in this which i find totally unrealistic. An example of this would be Hitler marching through the trenches in blind anger, searching for jews to abuse whilst fighting for Germany in the trenches of World War One. It is a well known fact that although he may well of disliked the jews before the first world war, he had regular contact with a jewish doctor who took care of his mother whilst she had cancer, who he thanked when she eventually died of the disease.

His burning hatred of the jews grew after the Great War as he blamed the jews for Germanys defeat. There is also a scene which shows Hitler abusing his pet dog. Again everyone knows that although he did some dreadful things to human beings Hitler was a passionate animal lover who passed many laws regarding the protection of animals whilst he was in power. Cruelty of animals was punishable by death during the Third Reich.

Overall for a more accurate portrayal of Hitlers personality i would suggest you watch Downfall and read Albert Speers book Inside The Third Reich.
Speer paints the picture of an evil genius, a great organiser and visionary,kind and gentle to those who worked in his inner circle, yet on the other hand capable of smashing all those he deemed his enemies with cold calculated ruthlessness.

This offering just typecasts Hitler as the stereotypical Hollywood villain. I didnt enjoy it but i recommend those who havent seen it to give it a try and draw your own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best so far, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
For someone who wants a stimulating and entertaining portrayal of Adolf Hitler, then this is the one for you. Robert Carlyle does do Hitler some justice in that his oratory was inspiring, and seems to rant and rave as well as Hitler would have probably done. The film does not however get 5 stars as there are some inaccuracies which I feel needn't have occurred. His actions in the army were dismissed as lucky and depicts Hitler as being obsessive with his niece. However the Munich Putsch was particularly done well and I have not seen a better depiction of Hitler's ruthlessness in any other drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar-performance, 25 Jan 2004
By 
Christoph Gassenschmidt (Athen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Carlyle brings Hitler alive! His performance is a must see. As a German myself, I always bvelieved that one cannot possibly make a film on Hitler but Carlyle proves the opposite.
This film is not, however, only about the Germans following Hitler. It also shows Germans RESISTING, paying for it with their life. This makes the film extraordinary.
One only wanders why movies such as this or "Swing Kids", "Bonhoefer" or the "White Rose" do not get the attention in Hollywood. Movies that show or include German resistance do not seem to be politically correct. Buy not only this one, get all four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well made, but stereotypical, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Tammi Lauri (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is very well made. But it should be rather described as a fiction than close to a historically correct film as it's sadly stereotypical. It gives an image of a monster Hitler, easy to hate and difficult to understand. Like the title tells: Evil. So much better and more historical image of Hitler can be seen for instance in the film Der Untergang (The Downfall). The film is well made, but the image of the main character pleases only unaware masses, not a source-critical viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb docudrama of the Third Reich and Hitler., 5 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The success of this drama is based firmly in a superb screen play, it moves us quickly but naturally through the twists and turns of the first fifty years of Hitler's life.
The drama is excellently realised by a very good cast, lead by probably a career best performance from Robert Carlisle. He encompasses the full range of Hitler's personality from his ranting public oratory to the charming Viennese manner with ladies, his relationships with women, his ruthlessness with rivals, and his loyalty to long time trusted members evidenced in the reluctant final decision to execute Rohm.
It's great strength is apparent as we follow Hitler from his troubled childhood, frustrated ambition to be a great artist, and then finding his true (if evil) vocation as the leader of a traumatised and humiliated Germany. We are not asked to engage, sympathise or like him, but we are invited to understand him.
Within the constraints of a three hour time frame it is impossible to conceive a better docudrama, and for those that wish to further pursue the affair with his half niece Geli there is the brilliant "Uncle Adolph".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so drama with its flaws., 26 Aug 2013
By 
R. G. Hancox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A so-so Canadian made drama which killed a few hours, but it did have its flaws.Question - why did 90% of the actors speak in clipped upper class English? yet the other 10% didnt? The Scottish Carlyle strangely decided to be part of the 90%, yet sounds like he is doing his best Ross Kemp impression.Also, apart from the standard glued on theatrical tash, he looked absolutely nothing like Hitler.Then there is the unintential comedy part,provided by Peter o'Toole's President Hindenburg's padded suit,to make o'tool look like the chubby President,but failing.A few historical inaccuracies aside,it was ok, but i have seen better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fact's but is it the TRUTH, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this adaption on Hitler, I found that Robert's performance (via the script writing) was flawless from watching old documentries and speeches regarding Hitler he did a wonderful job of pulling him.
At first from the front cover I found it hard to believe he pull this role off but as the hours wore on I was pulled into his superb performance. It's a must see for those interested in the political side before the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but would have been better if..., 25 Jun 2012
By 
P. Geeroms "PJ" (Vlaanderen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
...it were in German for starters.

Robert Carlyle does an excellent job at playing the Fuhrer, but he goes over the top sometimes. In reality he was humaner on certain occasions then depicted.

...if it where longer and more detailed about his private life and such
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa429a8)

This product

Hitler: The Rise of Evil (TV Mini-Series) [DVD] [2003]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews