Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars he's back
i absolutely love the original now the sequel isn't as good as the first one but is still definitely a good film
Published 11 months ago by fat boy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hitcher2 I've NOTbeenwaiting!!!
The first film starring Rutger Hauer was and is a classic and if you're expecting the same boy will you be disapointed! Why oh why c Thomas Howell agreed to be in this is a mystery! The plot shambles and the acting wooden... I know this was straight to video/dvd but i was expecting better! Stick with the original or if like me you just had to cure your curiosity i look...
Published on 8 Feb 2004 by glynn bond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hitcher2 I've NOTbeenwaiting!!!, 8 Feb 2004
By 
glynn bond (derby, derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
The first film starring Rutger Hauer was and is a classic and if you're expecting the same boy will you be disapointed! Why oh why c Thomas Howell agreed to be in this is a mystery! The plot shambles and the acting wooden... I know this was straight to video/dvd but i was expecting better! Stick with the original or if like me you just had to cure your curiosity i look foward to reading your disapointing reviews aswell! Forget the popcorn and more importantly forget this film i thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all like the first, 23 Jan 2004
By 
Claire (Basingstoke, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
If you are expecting the first film remade with the main character then this is not for you. Although Thomas C Howell was in the first film fending of the Hitcher He bearly lasts 20 mintues in this sequel. A very disappointing film nothing new instead just stick with the orginal Hitcher as it is a brillant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an awful movie, made worse by being associated with a great one, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
The Hitcher was a complete masterpiece, perfectly cast, very well acted, tense, terrifying and shocking as a psychopathic killer is picked up by a kid being paid to transport a car across country and commences a cat and mouse game him, telling the kid that he wants him to end it and killing anyone and everyone who the kid manages to make a connection with. It was a psychological thriller aswell as a horror movie, the action was good but it didnt eclipse the horror and it also was a kind of gritty, realistic action too.

I picked up this movie in the bargin bin of a supermarket and there it should have remained, stand alone it's an average actioner but associated with The Hitcher it only really sullies the good name of the franchise. The actor who performed as the original prey of The Hitcher in the first movie reappraises his role as the character from the first movie, gone on to become a cop and a pretty trigger happy one at that, when he summary execution style of delivering justice leads to his dismissal he and his partner hit the roads for a road trip. This part of the film is done alright and the performance as a frantic paranoic who has never truly recovered from the events of the first movie is convincing.

Enter our villain and the film repeats the formula of the first movie, the hitcher stalking and killing anyone his query has contact with, implicating them in the crimes as the killer but this never has either the gritty realism or tension of the earlier film. Its much too slick and much more like the gun fight at the OK corral than the first movie, there isnt the same since of claustraphobic panic and despair and the film only so much as hints at some of the most shocking content from the first movie. I suspect that the closing scenes of the movie are supposed to suggest a spooky or supernatural aspect to the plot but this simply doesnt work, from the point at which there are raging gun battles between planes (which people can fly with no apparent experience) and huge big oil trucks it all becomes entirely implausible, if not absurd.

I cant recommend this film, especially not to fans of the original, its one to perhaps watch on TV if there's nothing else better on the other channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the original, 20 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
This film is far Inferior to the original, that doesn’t mean that this isn’t an ok film though, its just that it doesn’t come with as much regard as I hold the first one with, which in my mind was a masterpiece. The original had suspense, mood music, decent dialogue and rutger hauer was excellently cast as the crazy bad guy. Now, this film, has few of those ingredients, of course it has Jim Hallsey from the original, now accompanied by his girlfriend when they have to drive interstate to visit captain Esterridge from the original film after Jim runs into a spot of trouble. Of course, on the way they run into a hitchhiker and Jim is forced by his girlfriend (because for some reason he hadn’t told her about the events of 15 yrs ago) to pick him up and that’s where the trouble starts all over again. My main problem with this film is that the Villain in this film is nowhere near as chilling as hauer, additionally; the music isn’t as chilling also. The film isn’t all bad, the acting is fairly good, the script is adequate and Jims girlfriend is a good addition to the cast, but overall, just generally not as good as the original in any way, but still worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he's back, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
i absolutely love the original now the sequel isn't as good as the first one but is still definitely a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is not what i thought it would be., 29 July 2013
By 
Ms. Angela Hayden ""pet lover"" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
I am disappointed with this film, it isn't as good as I thought it would be. The Characters are not that well known and it was in all honesty boring!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitcher 2, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased The Hitcher 2 to complete the collection good movie not as good as the original though. Acting not the greatest but entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear!, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
The original film is one of my all-time favourites - great cinematography, great soundtrack, great dialogue, and two great lead performances. Hauer all understated menace and Howell all terrified bewilderment. The sequel unfortunately has none of these. The heroine must be a former marine judging by the way she handles herself and is constantly required to remove her shirt, while the new hitcher is all wise cracks and bad acting. The few people involved in the original who were part of this sequel should hang their heads in shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay. Not as good as the first though., 20 Feb 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first sequel to the cult classic The hicther.
The hitcher is my favourite film, and a sequel would have been a dream to me. I was really looking forward to seeing this, and I was one of the first in line to get it. When I saw it I wasn't displeased, but it wasn't as great as the first. The bad things about this is the music also isn't as great, the plot confuses me at points, the hitcher on this one isn't nearly as good as Rutger hauer from the first movie, the way the hitcher dies on this one is a bit stupid and the main character from the first gets killed on this one and the woman has to kill the hitcher by hirself. The only good thing about her killing the hitcher alone is that the character from the first who dies would have had no hesitation about killing the hitcher, but the woman will do since it's her first time. The camera work looks a bit bad in this film also. But still, the action still has its place in this sequel. But, really, you have to see the first film, since that is an all time classic.
I would love a hitcher 3. So, if the creators are thinking of one do it right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazin, truely class, 28 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic film leaves you on the edges of your seats all the time. No negatives about the film a great improvement since the first even though the first was also great. I rate it overall 5/5 purely because it is filled with action and i loved it right from the start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD]
The Hitcher 2 - I've Been Waiting [DVD] by Louis Morneau (DVD - 2010)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews