Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight
This is an interesting one. It features three whole 1 hour programmes and two audio documentaries as well as some great extras. It is made in NTSC Region 0 which can be played on most PAL but not the very old ones which will only play it in B&W. Overall an absolute bargain for 4 hours worth at only 14.99
Published on 4 Dec 2003

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware ! Not a proper DVD anymore (2012) but only a DVD-R.
After contacting both the author and distributor of this title, I was confirmed that, due to the high cost of reproducing another batch of DVD9, this title is now sold as a DVD-R+ only, however the price is still the same !
The DVD only comes with a color photocopy of the original cover and, as we all know, the life expectancy of these discs, unlike the regular...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Swiss Made


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight, 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
This is an interesting one. It features three whole 1 hour programmes and two audio documentaries as well as some great extras. It is made in NTSC Region 0 which can be played on most PAL but not the very old ones which will only play it in B&W. Overall an absolute bargain for 4 hours worth at only 14.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde - 27 years of supersonic flight (2003), 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film over 4 hours long and unlike most other releases, Fast Forward Productions have all new footage. A great watch highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD by Quine-Leap Productions!, 6 Dec 2004
By 
A. M. Thompson (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
When presenter Adrian Quine looks straight into camera at the start of this lavish production, and declares 'we're going to take you on a journey - a journey for the imagination', you know it's time to strap yourself in and prepare for lift-off!

Quine's superb documentary offers aviation buffs and casual observers alike, the opportunity to understand the operations of Concorde on a new level. With the expert insight of Chief Pilot, Captain Mike Bannister, viewers can get answers to questions that are ignored in similar films - for example, we all know that Concorde's a beautiful beast, but what's she like to fly? Mike Bannister provides the answer, taking viewers on spectacular tour of the aircraft in Heathrow's maintenance hanger G047, and pointing out some of the features that make this majestic bird so special (like the four Rolls-Royce/SNECMA 693 power-plants.) As the film goes on, Captain Bannister makes a number of further appearances, explaining to viewers the intricacies of Concorde's systems and the idiosyncrasies of her operation. In a particularly interesting section, Bannister explains the necessity to reduce thrust-levels on climb out from New York's Kennedy airport - in order to be 'good neighbours' to those on the ground. Bannister is excellent in explaining to us, the viewer, what Concorde crews have to do in their jobs, to ensure the smooth running of the aircraft, day in, day out.

Quine's input is similarly impressive. His informative, descriptive approach to his presenting makes me wonder why we don't see Mr. Quine on our screens more often. Quine wears two hats - for most part he is our enthusiastic host, guiding us through Concorde's round-the-world tour, but for the remainder he is a travel show presenter, pointing out the tourist hotspots of New York, Petra, and Barbados. These sections are equally fascinating and offer the view great value for money.
All in all a top notch production, that charismatically uncovers many of the secrets of Concorde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [2003]., 5 Nov 2003
By 
roge (bournemouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
A great product especially as you get three other recent concorde programmes free of charge on the DVD. Great flight deck views and very professionally done. A bargain for 4 hours worth of material and a great souvenir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware ! Not a proper DVD anymore (2012) but only a DVD-R., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
After contacting both the author and distributor of this title, I was confirmed that, due to the high cost of reproducing another batch of DVD9, this title is now sold as a DVD-R+ only, however the price is still the same !
The DVD only comes with a color photocopy of the original cover and, as we all know, the life expectancy of these discs, unlike the regular silver discs, are much shorter.
Copy of the email of the producer is available if necessary. Do not buy, try to find an old copy pre-2011 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde - 27 years of Supersonic flight, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
This full colour DVD is 4 hour long and actually features 4 programmes covering every aspect of Concorde. For 14.99 this is a real bargain and includes lots of footage from aboard the plane and in the cockpit. A real must for any Concorde fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of our greatest achievements., 13 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
Good to see how we Brits led in aviation history for many years. Frankly this amazing plane should still be flying. It wasn't the plane itself's fault that it crashed! Surrounding circumstances were the main culprit. Good buy. Fascinating viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great extras, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
The main program was rather boring - too much of sightseeing, too little of plane shots. I ended up fastforwarding over the lengthy blah-blah about the destinations. There could be long minutes without seeing one single Concorde. The extras, though, were really great, plenty of great footage - I liked those a lot. Hence my overall rating of 4/5. I think it was worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Concorde never fails to thrill., 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
How many like me must wish they had flown on her? How long shall we have to wait for her like to return?
I watched the development aircraft fly, saw the mockups and prototypes, watched the maiden flight.
All we have now are Movies like this.
I would have liked more technical detail and more in-flight pictures, but I'm hooked anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'In the old days we used to cross the Atlantic in 3 hours', 7 July 2011
This review is from: Concorde - 27 Years of Supersonic Flight [DVD] (DVD)
Well as I realised how much I tend to check out the ratings before purchasing anything on-line I wanted to leave some feedback myself.
It has only been in the last few months that I became interested in Concorde and as she has been discontinued since 2003, I knew I couldn't watch her take flight anywhere soon (although I hear that she may be making an appearance over the opening ceremony of the London Olympics next year) so wanted a DVD (actually wanted Blu Ray but couldn't find it).
I plumped for this one and must say I am very pleased with it.

There is plenty of footage and extras on the disc and I could watch it all in colour. Yes, there are parts where the filming seems to concentrate on the destinations and of the lucky people who could afford and wanted to travel around the world, but it never completely removes itself away from the running theme of the Speedbird.
There is even a couple of audio clips (around half an hour each) discussing the origins of supersonic flight and the chance to experience the sounds of a Flight of Fantasy, taking off from Heathrow, jetting down over Land's End, before banking, heading up the English Channel and back around, hitting 57,000 feet and reaching Mach 2 on the way.
If you're heavily into the technical side more so then it may not be the DVD for you, but if you're just in awe of the craft then it is a very good behind the scenes documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews